Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 20 hours, 6 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    MONO - timtipgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    MONO is an art inspired game. You control an eye through a series of levels which feature puzzle and skill based elements.

    There is no need to finish every level. If you can't beat one, press escape and return to the main menu to select a different one.
    ---
    Thanks all for rating me first, makes me really really happy. Dropbox disabled my public links so I switched to my webspace for hosting.

    I updated the libgdx stuff to the newest nightlies which include the new lwjgl 2.9 - that means a lot of fixes for MacOS so if it hasn't worked for you, try again please :)
    ---
    I lowered three sounds volumes because people report they could potentially harm their ears when wearing headphones. That would be kind of inacceptable.

    made with libgdx, artemis entity framework,box2dlights,universal tweenengine,sfxr, reaper, cosmigo pro motion,tiled and a bunch of energy drinks.

    twitter: @timtipgames, e-mail: timtipgames@gmail.com, www.timtips.com :)

    View timtipgames's journal. | View all entries by timtipgames

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Overall4.37
    #13Graphics4.38
    #19Mood4.10
    #20Fun3.95
    #28Audio3.97
    #126Theme4.05
    #152Innovation3.69
    #261Humor2.73

    Comments

    argo15 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

    Great style, good level of difficulty too.

    gilmore606 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

    WOW. Beautiful polished audiovisual style, great-feeling controls and clever gameplay, you've got it all. The best entry I've seen so far.

    intrudergames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

    Awesome! I like everything

    Neten says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

    Amazing game. I can't believe how polished it is.

    Logun says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

    Impressive result ! I love the little changes between levels (gravity, portals) Want more surprises !

    Mythalore says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

    Amazing! Great art, music and really interesting gameplay! Well done!

    JimmyLord says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

    Loved the lighting, nice overall style.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

    Outstanding game! It's the level of polish that amazes me. This is the kind of game I start the weekend thinking I want to make before I cull all the features; but you've managed it so well and got everything in! The music is just right, the mechanics are polished, but best of all, the levels are brilliantly designed. In the light level for example, I was a bit frustrated about having been sent back to the start, but then I realised that you'd unlocked a teleport for me so I could get back to where I was. Really exceptional work. Best I've seen yet.

    myachin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

    cant run(

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

    I'm really digging the art style on this one. Lovely visuals ! The gameplay is simple but well done. Very polished game overall, great work !

    martijn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

    I love the lightning in thisgame

    Nacho says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    This game is amazing. 48 hours? In raw Java + lwjgl? Colour me impressed.

    Capro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

    This game should win the LD.

    anjack says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

    Excellent game! The grapics, audio and gameplay are all top-notch!

    Diventurer says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    I love this. It's very difficult, but man. It's a really good game!

    MTO says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    One of the more polished entries I've come across. I like the variety in the levels, great job!

    Hiku says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

    Very cool.

    Overv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Fantastic game, this is going to be very hard to beat.

    Ernyz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

    Very nice game, will come back to play it again :) only drawback was menu sounds, which were a bit painful to the ear, but music and other sounds were good.

    timtipgames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

    @all thank you very much for your kind words. I am happy that you like it!
    @myachin is it on a mac? Try java 1.6
    @Nacho It's libgdx :)

    jlm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

    I explored the entire red border on the last level before finding the opening! :)

    Fun game. Very well polished.

    Coruon says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    Okay, this game was amazing. The graphics were simple but very effective, the music was a great touch, the sound effects were extremely well done and very fitting to the theme and the game. Overall, a really good job.

    Coruon says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

    One last thing, I saw someone else mention it as well, the menu sounds and the end level sounds were a little harsh compared to the rest of the sound/music. Wearing headphones, they were a bit shrill. But only those two sounds, the rest fit perfectly.

    NightDreamer says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    Very nice!
    Love the graphics and the "flow" in the gameplay. ;)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

    Very nice game!
    The visual style was pretty cool, though I wasn't sure what it was trying to tell me. I liked the variety of the game mechanics, but found myself wishing you had explored each individual mechanic more thoroughly instead of having one-off kind of levels. Really solid game! I enjoyed it!

    Kvisle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58am

    I gave up at 'sprint'.

    Neat mechanics, I like it :)

    zinfandel says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

    Beautiful, challenging, fresh and just well made. Good job!

    timtipgames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

    @Kvisle you can always return to the menu and select a different level by pressing ESC

    kbm0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

    Amazing! Super fun mechanics and gameplay. I really loved the background music as well. Very calming experience! THANKS

    Alphonsus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

    Well designed levels and beautifully polished graphics! I love this, awesome work!

    xDreamCoding says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04pm

    Pretty nice polished game :) first one I actuall played till the end. Impressive work for 48 hours keep it up!

    glisk says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

    GREAT. I think this is definetly in my top five for this compo. Really really really good job.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

    Love the aesthetic. Personally not the biggest fan of "do it again, stupid" game design, maybe the ability to preview the level before launching would ease that pain a bit. Otherwise one of the most solid entries of the 100+ I've played so far.

    dertom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

    Wow, perfect game! Everything fits, especially the theme! Well done!

    Sylvain.p says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

    The java appler break my browser... :-(

    siondream says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

    Absolutely brilliant, loved it. Amazingly polished and very well designed. It's my favourite so far.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Well done! One of my favourite game for the moment, minimalist but clean and very pleasant to play =)

    dick_claus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

    And the winner is ... :)

    whiteravens says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

    One of the best entries I have played so far. Wonderful, and I hope you can continue to improve it! ^^

    Misfit says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    This is one of my favorites. Music is great, art is great, gameplay is great.. Good Job!

    recursor says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    "There is no need to finish every level." I did anyway because it was so much fun. Love the style, and you nailed the music. I love the piano playing in the background. Well done!

    Flai says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Wow, this is my favourite one so far :) Great job, everything was awesome in it!

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Beautiful game, very well executed! The music goes with the game perfectly. Nice challenging puzzles, not too frustrating!

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:18am

    Looks great!

    Mesene says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:57am

    My first 5/5.
    Awesome entry. Nice graphics, audio and well balanced made it very fun to play.
    Even it has some flickers on bounds my head just skipped them :D

    Robotic says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:35am

    Awesome game, cool design, very polished.

    Blizzil says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

    Incredible entry! Love the art style and especially the music.

    The gameplay mechanics are working very well, i find it quite challenging but not in a bad way. I never got the feeling that i failed because of unfair level design, but because i just did not get it right.

    It is difficult but not unfair and it is also a good idea that you immediately start at the beginning when you fail.

    Overall i liked everything about this game, one of my favorite entries so far!

    kill0u says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:55pm

    Seems nice, but I can't play it (java applet just won't start, and the standalone crashes at any collision) =/

    RobKat says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:17pm

    Love this game, definitely a good game to port to mobile platforms

    timtipgames says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    @killOu I just updated everything to a new libgdx version that should bring compatibility for some more machines (especially MacOS) so please try again.
    @Mesene I actually forgot to fix the flickering :) Fortunately it doesn't happen that often and isn't that annoying.

    Qaterknan says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

    Amazing work. It's very polished, very juicy, fun to play and visually stunning... Plus it's a bit like my game. Perfect! :D

    lorancou says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

    Really nice atmosphere, it feels comfy!
    And I love your font, what's its name?

    bompo says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Perfect! Well polished and challenging!

    Xaychru04 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

    Quite a good game! I liked how relaxing it was, and it's not too difficult or too easy, just a bit short I think :)

    Aaants says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    That was beautiful. It matched the theme brilliantly, looked amazing and was great on pretty much all levels. Best one yet for me!

    goerp says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    It looks simple, but playing it is not!
    I love the music, very good for this type of game. It's very soothing when you are trying a level for the n-th time.
    Slick graphics, smooth movement looks like a good game for mobile.
    A really good looking Java game! I'm gonna check out those libraries (like libgdx, box2dlighting). Maybe my next game will be in Java (not that I think that with those ibraries my games wont be ugly, but I like Java bu don't know the right frameworks).

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:12pm

    Good game, so funny, cool graphics, and good ideas

    badlogic says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:01am

    Amazing game. Simplistic yet intriguing art style, beautiful audio score, engaging game play mechanics. Loved every bit of it.

    bitbof says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:41am

    A pinball machine that contemplates life. Solid! I'll have to check out some of your tools.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:12am

    This is a simple but fun take on the theme. It's really well-polished and a great example of what can be done in two days. Awesome work! And it's cool to see other libGDX people!

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:42am

    Beautiful. It was the music that sold it. Very relaxing atmosphere, and the gameplay wasn't bad either.

    Nanolotl says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:08am

    Amazing game. Smooth, fun gameplay. The graphics were simple but visually appealing, especially the lighting. The overall mood created was very relaxing. In the sideways stage at one point everything went a lot darker than usual, not sure if that's meant to happen.

    Drabiter says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:04am

    Really great concept.

    Travis Irby says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:39am

    hell of a job on this! so stylish :D

    atraxgames says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    This is perfect in everything. It's amazing that you done it in less than 48H.

    timtipgames says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

    Thank you all for your feedback, it really means a lot to me.

    @Nanolotl "In the sideways stage at one point everything went a lot darker than usual, not sure if that's meant to happen." Indeed it is. I didn't mention that because I thought it would be easy to see but you are not the only one wondering.
    The more often you bump into red walls, the darker the ambient light gets.

    Are says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    Amazing music. One of the best LD.

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Really nice game. Really atmospheric and I really enjoyed playing it. Really relaxing as well. Good job!

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    REALLY awesome game. Very smooth aesthetic and gameplay. It's such a relaxing yet challenging experience. NAILED the theme. Your games just keep getting better! Very impressed with your technical achievements here. Kudos!

    mrx says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Brilliant! Well done!!

    niun says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:13pm

    That was fanbloodytastic!
    Wow! just Wow!

    nocturnal3d says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Beautiful game, well done! I love the fact you using Artemis - simple, effective.

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:00am

    Excellent. Looks amazing. Great work. Pulled here by the 10s video.

    hughsk says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Simple, but the game has a great style. Nice! :)

    pythong says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    didn't run for me :/

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:08pm

    Love this entry... so well defined and polished. This one is ready to sell...

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:37pm

    Very well polished, and some very good level design. You did great with the 48 hours.

    May 5, 2013 @ 11:08am

    This is great! Love the simplicity of the concept (reminds me a bit of my own game), and the way the elements are combined. Bouncing is really fun :)

    michail says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:03pm

    The art style, level design and mood - everything is perfect in this game. Congratulations!

    CNIAngel says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:04pm

    This was a great game. I loved all of it.

    Sebastian says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:14pm

    Elegant design and wonderfully engaging gameplay. Top marks from me.
    The one thing that bothered me was a bit of flickering around the edges of shapes.

    Kashi says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 4:28am

    5/5 first game in my opinion, that did hit it in every category

    pansapiens says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 8:10am

    Really polished and fun. I love the lighting effect, looks great.

    Zim the Fox says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 4:13am

    What can I say, no wonder you got first place. CONGRATULATIONS! ^_^

    Paul Sinnett says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 9:12am

    A worthy winner, well done!

    Aaants says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Congrats! Worthy winner

    Adipson says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 2:04pm

    congratulations !

    dvdking says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    dropbox is down :(

    timtipgames says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    Dropbox disabled public links for me due to high traffic.
    I uploaded a copy of all files to my webhoster and changed the links on top of this page. So please refresh the page and try again or visit http://ld26.timtips.com directly :)

    Thanks for the gratulations and kind words :)

    springhere says ...
    May 24, 2013 @ 7:01am

    The src jar seems broken, not sure if could share the whole project which includes the dependencies? Tried to setup the src in eclipse but failed with below message:
    =========================================
    Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: no position attribute was specified
    at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.VertexAttributes.checkValidity(VertexAttributes.java:114)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.VertexAttributes.<init>(VertexAttributes.java:55)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.glutils.VertexBufferObject.<init>(VertexBufferObject.java:73)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.graphics.Mesh.<init>(Mesh.java:96)
    at box2dLight.LightMap.createLightMapMesh(LightMap.java:164)
    at box2dLight.LightMap.<init>(LightMap.java:117)
    at box2dLight.RayHandler.<init>(RayHandler.java:112)
    at box2dLight.RayHandler.<init>(RayHandler.java:88)
    at com.timtips.ld26.screens.LevelScreen.init(LevelScreen.java:75)
    at com.timtips.ld26.LD26.startLevel(LD26.java:38)
    at com.timtips.interfaces.TimtipsBaseGame.switchState(TimtipsBaseGame.java:312)
    at com.timtips.interfaces.TimtipsBaseGame.render(TimtipsBaseGame.java:284)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:204)
    at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:112)
    =========================================

    Thanks!

    timtipgames says ...
    May 24, 2013 @ 7:11am

    Sure, I'll look into it and put the dependencies into the src jar. I am at work right now and can't do it, but I'll do it later today. If you send me an email to timtipgames@gmail.com I could even let you know when I did :)

    timtipgames says ...
    May 24, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    Here's a link to a zip file with an eclipse project and all dependencies:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/ld26/src/ld26-src-with-deps.zip

    Unpack->import->run should work :)

    springhere says ...
    May 25, 2013 @ 1:19am

    @timtipgames:Thanks! This works well. And just found out that I used the latest libgdx-nightly-20130523.zip and produced the above problem...

    springhere says ...
    May 25, 2013 @ 6:11am

    @timtipgames: looks only desktop version, how about android version? I think many people will like it as well...

    timtipgames says ...
    May 25, 2013 @ 6:51am

    Hey springhere, I played around with an android build for a while, but I couldn't find a way to do the controls that I was happy with. Maybe I'll do some modifications to the levels to ease some of the most difficult parts to adapt for the higher lack of control. I am also not sure about screensize adaptation. But you are right, an Android version would be nice.

    springhere says ...
    May 26, 2013 @ 8:38am

    Looking forward to play it! And also hope your android project could be shared here. :D

    Westbow says ...
    May 27, 2013 @ 7:37am

    Beautiful lighting, lovely shades and overall aesthetic. I felt like I was playing improvised ping pong with abstract painters at an art exhibit. Well done - going to be digging through the source code soon.

    Can you share your process re: lighting & music composition?

    Westbow says ...
    May 27, 2013 @ 8:19am

    Ah, I see you did a postmortem. Will be checking that out :)

    fabman59 says ...
    May 31, 2013 @ 2:16am

    I loved this game so much. It was just great and I had so much fun playing it! I wish there was a longer version with more levels.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]