Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 13 hours, 6 minutes, 46 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Less is More? - atraxgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Be very minimal: get rid of the color nonsense. Make the coloured blocks disappear from the screen.

    Click on the black boxes to cancel them. But be aware: you have a limited number of clicks.

    Each block has a different behavior: it's the beauty of diversity. We are sure that less is more?

    --EDIT--
    Added a post-compo version, with a level editor/sandbox mode

    View atraxgames's journal. | View all entries by atraxgames

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #14Innovation4.19
    #39Overall3.97
    #42Theme4.26
    #80Fun3.69
    #105Mood3.61
    #121Graphics3.86
    #227Audio3.25
    #663Humor2.08

    Comments

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:08pm

    Really good stuff.

    stevejohnson says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Very atmospheric, easy to play. On level 2, the blue blocks seemed to take forever to migrate to the holes I dug. Like 3-4 minutes of just waiting.

    stevejohnson says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    (But I could proceed before then, so I guess NBD. Took me a minute to notice I could keep going.)

    MisterMagnus says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:19pm

    Awesome.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:34pm

    Really good take on the Mondrian!

    jpverkamp says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

    I loved this. Now I have to get around to finishing / submitting my own game so I can rate yours. :)

    One minor nit to pick, grammatically it should probably be "Now there is no water."

    FloatingGhost says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

    Pretty damn good.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

    Great style! Awesome concept, well done :)

    Lizzip says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

    Really great. Best of the games I have played so far

    HELLO23 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

    Fantastic ! Minimalism at it's best. I really like the game and the idea. I could not pass level 3 or 4 but a GREAT game !!

    rujo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

    very nice one, one of my favourites at the moment

    theGiallo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

    Well done pal!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

    Best entry ever!

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

    I liked the behaviors of the elements, and the rock, paper, scissors dynamic between them. I got stuck on 'Buuuurn!' for a while, but the solution came to me this morning! I hope that you release more levels for it later.

    Ithildin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

    Great idea! :)

    gre says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    This is terrific!
    Very good work.

    gameXcore says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

    Really smart!

    dsoft20 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

    Nice puzzle game, it's fits the theme very well :D

    martijn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Reminds me of powder game.

    DarioOliGPI says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    I vote this because I believe you must win, A friend make me notice this game :)

    Jools64 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    Very cool idea and well executed. I really like the gameplay and the graphics are simple but still stylish.

    I found experimenting and seeing how all the different materials interact with each other really interesting. That combined with good level design kept me going through the game. The music is also nice and calming.

    Great job!

    shawn42 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

    Great take on the theme. Where's the music from? It sound very familiar.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Great visual style and mechanics. Very fun.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

    Yup, finished every level. Fantastic game.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

    Good job on the theme department. A bit confusing though before you realize the colors represented different elements. But thats just my dumb brain. :) Loved the relaxing atmosphere.

    lotusgame says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Good idea.

    saggiosoft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

    Very elegant...

    TrahDivad says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    Very nice. Really enjoyed it!

    Alphonsus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

    Fun gameplay and beautiful aesthetics! One of the most polished games I've played.

    Flai says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

    Really great game :)

    tonbery says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    nice fluid simulation =D

    very good at sticking to the theme, you can really do something big this game! =D

    aquilicoco says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Good puzzle game!

    Chman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

    Brilliant. The idea is very simple but works so well ! Nice work on the aesthetics too, you made big blocky pixels look nice. (the Next Level button could be more obvious, took me some time to understand why the game wasn't switching to next level after finishing the first one)

    Aron says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    Really good and tough game. Couldn't figure out how to solve the level "Burnin"

    Qaterknan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

    Great game! I really like the idea and the feel of the game. It could be a little faster though.

    bobiniki says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Great job! Smart game mechanics idea.

    bvanschooten says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

    Great game! Innovative puzzle element. Clever idea to use the Mondrian style levels.

    omaromeir says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

    Awesome, smart, and well designed puzzler. Great job!

    SuperDisk says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Weird. Level 3 seems impossible..?

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

    Great graphic style and physics! I like how materials reacts.
    Levels are challenging! :)

    dannycalleri says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52pm

    Awesome graphics and well designed puzzles :)

    AaronYip says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

    Wowzers, this game is gorgeous, and really charming. Definitely has my pick of favorite game so far. :D

    Dohan says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

    Loved the physics and loved the puzzle design. Great game!

    Tifu says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:22am

    Really clever puzzles! Had to use my brain :D

    Nambew says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:27am

    The idea is great and the concept is original. The gameplay is easy to understand. I think that can make a good litte puzzle game for mobile.

    May 2, 2013 @ 2:47am

    Nice use of the Mondrian style! The first handful of levels are more trial-and-error rather than puzzly, but I eventually figured out how the colors reacted with each other. Great job for 48 hours!

    -Rosypenguin
    (This is a team account)

    gregdevice says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:01am

    One of my favorites so far! Wow, addictive and well polished. Would be a nice tablet game.

    Zhrack says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:47am

    Challenging but never frustrating! Very funny!

    Husky says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:01am

    Wooho! It's so fun!
    Pixl water amd puzzle lol.
    It's really impressive.
    Good job!

    enzo says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:37am

    Really interesting take on Mondrian! and this is maybe the first "puzzle" take on the sand physics games I've ever seen. Good job!

    May 2, 2013 @ 1:24pm

    Great job, I really really enjoyed playing it. Very original and clever!

    henrykun says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:26pm

    It's a clever game! I really like it. Nice graphics, nice sounds, well done.

    Tipyx says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:18pm

    Just excellent, the music rocks me *o*

    infernet89 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:02pm

    Awesome entry, in particular i loved the different physics of each particles.

    spriters2000 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:52pm

    Very good game.

    May 2, 2013 @ 11:10pm

    Really good use of the theme (minimalistic art and eliminating all non-essential forms, color in this case). Nice entry. Congrats.

    KEFIR says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:50am

    Really nice concept and great realisation. But a little too much waiting :)

    klianc09 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

    The level which says "BUUUURRRRN" is too hard...

    deepnight says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:34pm

    There are many compos based on the minimalist artistic movement... But yours is definitely the most original I played so far. Excellent compo!

    May 3, 2013 @ 2:55pm

    Very cool concept!!! Simple but complex at the same time. You've completely center the theme. Well done!!!

    Madball says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    Nice level design, great mechanics. And nice mood for such a minimalistic puzzle.

    qdowngames says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:20pm

    I found it intruiging how there are multiple games on here with the "black line colour blocks" theme. It's cool! Nice work, original and fun.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:48am

    Simple, but pretty good concept.

    belickim says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:33am

    Oh, I love cellular automata, kudos for very fun, and quite demanding game :)

    Colapsydo says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:49am

    I love the sand physics, and the various mechanics for each colors. Music is so zeldaish, I thought I was in a dungeon for the whole time I played.

    Great minimalist puzzle game.

    Orni says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:56pm

    I played this for a long time - nice game you made there :)

    the concept is great and I really like the pixel-looking fluid dynamics. great

    well done :)

    frogmaster says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    Brilliant! Fun and challenging!

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Bravo! Experimenting with the cellular automata fascinated me. The Mondrian graphics were tasteful and enriched the experience. If you continue to develop this, the background music annoyed me a little after several minutes. At first I was not sure how to interact.

    Covenant says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:08am

    Very nice idea, visuals were excelente, puzzles were nicely done... Gratz!

    Super Hamster says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    Very good game and a very cool idea. Good job.

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:23am

    Very cool. Good difficulty curve, and very creative.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Incredible game! It's a really intelligent concept, fitting perfectly to the theme. Congratulations a lot !!!

    pythong says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 9:27am

    the music reminds me of zelda-link to the past

    EggDestroyer says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Some levels are a bit tedious (the 2nd one for example) and that "Buuuurn" level is somehow too hard (I'm not sure how I've done it). Apart from that, this is excellent and very well made, very satisfying, nicely fitting the theme and everything.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Nice graphics and excellent audio. Working out the mechanics between the three colours was actually pretty fun and interesting.

    Dissing says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Very nice art style!

    kill0u says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 11:42am

    Really good puzzle game :) Congratz!

    May 13, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Simple concept but executed to a really good effect.

    galman says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:32pm

    Nice game, but I think that it's more based on luck =\

    Pixelulsar says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 12:24am

    Interesting Game.

    swizzcheez says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 7:25pm

    One of the best.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

    Saw this and thought "not another Mondrian game!" But the puzzle mechanic is great! Would like to see some bonuses for clearing more than the minimum required, not using all your clicks, etc, but overall nice balanced, interesting puzzle.

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

    Great concept! Great physics programming!

    Floko says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

    very interesting. The Bauhaus influence is very clear.

    This game has one of the nicest graphics so far. Congrats!!

    Puccini says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    A fantastic game! Very funny and innovative! Great job.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]