Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 16 hours, 13 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    5 Days On 2 Days Off - BradleySmith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game about a man who goes to work but one day decides to explore the office.

    Experimenting with storytelling.

    I was inspired by this video... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIJrsAIhoEo

    View BradleySmith's journal. | View all entries by BradleySmith

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #22Mood4.05
    #75Graphics4.04
    #107Theme4.09
    #251Overall3.49
    #315Humor2.63
    #432Audio2.91
    #640Innovation3.02
    #759Fun2.76

    Comments

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

    Lovely piece of work.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    Thank you kindly.

    joekinglake says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Awesome piece of work. Very enjoyable experience.

    Chman says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:06pm

    Really interesting game. Simple but concise storytelling.

    There was a few typos though, and I got this error at launch :

    TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
    at RECOVER_Game1_fla::MainTimeline/Main()[RECOVER_Game1_fla.MainTimeline::frame2:24]

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

    (Rating comment, see the post above. Btw, still get the error at launch)

    BradleySmith says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

    Thank you so much for playing... what were the typos? I'm quite bad at English which was the reason I wanted to try something like this just to work on my storytelling... lack of sleep probably didn't help too. xD
    I'll work on fixing those errors too.

    Thanks again!

    geepit says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    Graphics and the story were really nice! Very enjoyable

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Fantastic game, I love the feel of it.

    igrowbeards says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Nicely done.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    This made me smile.

    atrodo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    Very simple and well done story.

    cmayhem says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Very very cool, great art direction.

    Overv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

    Very well done.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

    Thank you so much.

    rab236 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27pm

    Though short, it was a good experience. The graphics style fits the theme quite well.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

    nice, short and sweet.

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

    I really enjoyed this. Great story telling and beautiful artwork :) well done!

    BortStudios says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    I actually really liked the story in this game. Short, but presented well, and with a good message

    stqn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    Nice even though itâs not really a game.
    I notice someone else did the audio, then it should be in the jam.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    What do you mean should be in the jam? o.o

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    The cube with the tie was an amazing Idea. A great take on the deep oppression of going to a really boring office job, and just wanting to quit.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Great work. The universe that you created is very immersive. Congratz!

    onzephyr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    short and sweet. Nice story.

    LionelJitro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    I loved the art style.

    Music made a great atmosphere.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

    5 stars for me, great work, i have goosebumps :)

    saggiosoft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

    Short, minimal, straightforward. Great art.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Not sure this is a game your supposed to enjoy!? Tells an interesting story and perfectly captures the drudgery of work. Graphic and sound track are neat but personally think it would benefit from an upbeat tempo at the end. I like the exploration and the unobvious direction. Plays smooth, no bugs

    vilya says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    This is amazingly atmospheric & the music is incredible. I really liked the introduction of colour too. The one criticism is that it's more of a story than a game... but one I really wanted to see through to the end!

    messiano says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:43pm

    Pretty sweet!

    N427 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

    Very nice story! It felt short but that's understandable because you only had 48 hours, but I love how you put so much detail in all the levels. I did a similar storytelling thing (with a very different interpretation though) and didn't get to put in nearly as much detail as I wish I had.

    May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

    Cool game, good design flow and visual style! I liked where it was going but it ended too soon.

    May 2, 2013 @ 7:25am

    Thank you for introducing me to Steve Hughes. Game's great too.

    miotatsu says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    very nice storytelling and artwork :)

    atraxgames says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 11:49am

    I love story-telling experiments. Add some kind of choices, that would be interesting

    recursor says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:55am

    Love the cubes with ties and the little janitor sweeping the floor.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:49pm

    Simple and fun. I like the art style.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 7:02pm

    Good game (It look like every day the same dream) with very nice atmosphere (anxious), maybe a bit too short.

    farmergnome says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

    Full points for Mood and Graphics and Theme, this definitely brightened my day, very simple but expertly crafted. Good job.

    ananasblau says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 8:28am

    Excellent game, and love the the minimalistic character who is so much like Pixel in my game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]