Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 27 days, 23 hours, 54 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    climbing 208 feet up the ruin wall - Porpentine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    View Porpentine's journal. | View all entries by Porpentine

    Ratings

    Coolness51%
    #16Mood4.14
    #25Humor3.86
    #105Overall3.76
    #181Theme3.97
    #336Innovation3.41
    #342Fun3.22
    #569Graphics3.00
    #1031Audio1.53

    Comments

    lilzy says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

    loved this!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

    Ha ha ha- that was great! Really loved it - so many great little moments.

    mcc says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

    This game is of unusual difficulty for me because the trackpad on my laptop is broken, such that I must exert great physical force for any one click to register. (Most people who try to use my computer can't even pull off a single click.) When clicking on like one thing or two this is negligible, but when clicking something repeatedly it becomes noticeable and then very seriously hampering

    My broken hardware caused the physical process of playing this game to become basically the same as what its narrative described

    Every hand up further exhausting my tired arms

    Not certain I can physically make it

    deathray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

    I just speed-clicked through the Climb link and I won.

    Nonameghost says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

    That was fantastic! I'll admit I skipped some vines in the beginning, but the "picture in time" story and the humor was excellent. Definitely fits the theme. Admittedly not something I'd play more than once, but still memorable. Cheers!

    StuStutheBloo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

    Very nice. Felt a bit drawn out in places but I guess that's the point. I liked a lot of the ramblings.

    thristhart says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

    I wasn't expecting long-distance relationship feels from this game D:

    amazingly atmospheric as always

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

    lol, that was pretty minimal

    leafo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

    This game is awesome

    Felix20 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

    This was great. Love the narrative. A very nice take on the theme.

    MattHartley says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

    Amazing! Your my favorite

    hypothete says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

    Really enjoyed playing through this, it did a good job of drawing out emotion while being self reflexive.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

    I loved this, the writing style really took advantage of using Twine to tell stories.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

    I pissed myself so I could buy a church.

    bummzack says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

    Great game. I like it a lot.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Really enjoyed the pace this forced me into.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    Wow that was great. Something I found particularly fantastic was that, as in the writing, I eventually forgot that I was climbing and was only reminded of it when I was reminded of it in game. It really immersed me in the role. I was laughing out loud as well, wonderful writing. I also liked that, while the narrative was really nuanced, I viewed the images as a straight binary distinction (climbing and green, or at the top and blue); this was a very neat contrast. Great work!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    that was awesome

    @SamPotasz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    love love love. so fucking Porpentine it's amazing. which is to say, "voice"

    kratorspore says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

    Wonderful turns of phrase in this game. Lovely work. I liked how the game pulled me into its pacing.

    protensity says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

    It kept going and going - way longer than I expected.

    It's so simple, but there's a lot of dialog. Talented writing.

    Ryusui says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

    Loved it. Nice Twine trickery, too - how do you disable backtracking and get those neat little "rotating menu option"-type choices?

    Lamia Queenz says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

    i've collected all twine resources i know of here: http://aliendovecote.com/?page_id=4047

    i used "eliminate the back functionality in Sugarcane" and <<cyclinglink>> for the two you mentioned

    leon arnott in particular has contributed to twine's vocabulary immensely with his macros

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

    Nice idea to simulate!

    NiallM says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07am

    This is fantastic :)

    Jeremias says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    I like how you go into details of the climber's thinking and how his thoughts appear authentic. Liked it! (but a bit too long :D)

    alvivar says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    in my mind i was naked all the ride.

    paulmcgg says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

    Wow, fantastic storytelling, loved how the details slipped in. Great use of theme and really evocative.

    Also I admit I googled and listen to Janet Jackson to accompany the end. Also yay for making playlist, always love this.

    jackspinoza says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:50am

    lots to like here, it really drew me in in a dream or fever kind of way. At one point I started genuinely fretting for my loot and wondering if I could hold on. I wonder if the writing could be tightened up though. The gorillas were a particular highlight for me, inspired. good stuff.

    Jonny D says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:34am

    Pretty sweet. You should recommend the music first, then we can listen while we climb. :)

    Husky says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:37am

    You truly are a good story teller lol.
    All the text and button text is awesome.
    Good job! :D

    MegaBrutal says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:18am

    Great text, quite psychedelic; that's why you get 5 for Mood. ;)

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:19pm

    This is good. It can only hang together on the strength of its writing, which it does. There were some minor graphical glitches (redrawing when climbing higher) that were a little distracting. I liked and identified with the story, especially the part about peeing my pants.

    Maple says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:41am

    This brought back lots of little memories, which was... negative in some ways, and positive in other ways.

    With squashing the mosquito, once my arm was gushing blood, and the only thing nearby me to clean it up and stuff was my white shirt, so I took it off and used it to stop the blood, and when it was tame I unscrunched it and almost didn't wash it straight away so that it would stain, cause I thought it looked cool. Then the phone call brought back relationship things and etc. etc. So yeah. I dunno what to say. It was an interesting journey up the wall.

    I almost expected that I would fall off the wall to my death near the top, or that I would verbally realise that I was near the top before I got there.

    GreyShock says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:33am

    Woah, I really felt like climbing every ft. Loved the mood and the feeling of choice at some points. Hyper minimalistic, cograts :P

    Diamonde says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:47pm

    I enjoyed this more than I expected! :)

    Cracked up when reading "wiggle your tongue to attract a small bird" :D

    May 6, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Great work. I was enthralled.

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 7:27am

    Loved this. Very interesting, despite being mostly linear. Very nice way to read that story. Awesome stuff.

    kirby_freak says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 3:24pm

    At first I was like, "Aw man, not another word game thing". But I played it, and really enjoyed it! You had me laughing out loud at some points, and some other points were great reflective moments. From one RPSer to another, great job. (Nice pixel art btw!)

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 4:52pm

    Funny, surreal and intense! I like that it has an encouraging message despite obvious opportunities to kill or maim the player.

    Christian S. says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 7:36am

    Beautiful pixel art!

    VDZ says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    Very immersive, though around the 100 feet mark it starts to lose its dramatic atmosphere somewhat. Around 50 feet I was thinking, 'oh man, I'll never make it', but after 100 there wasn't really much tension anymore; some 'oh shit I'm not going to make it' lines between the distractions would've really helped there. It isn't until you get near the top that it gets dramatic again.

    There is one thing that bothers me, though. WHAT THE HELL IS AT THE TOP OF THE WALL?! I climbed 208 feet up the wall, completely destroyed my hands in the process, lost all of my loot, caught malaria and pissed myself, and I don't even get to see the reason I put in all of that effort! What is it that's up there that made it worth the effort to climb 208 freaking feet riskily using vines that are barely strong enough to hold me with a heavy backpack?! I'm fine with anticlimactic endings (such as not making it, not finding what you expected, etc), but cutting it off at that point was just mean.

    Porpentine says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 7:18pm

    at 95 feet it clearly states that your helicopter is at the top of the wall

    VDZ says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Ah, looks like I completely misread that sentence; I thought he was saying his helicopter is somewhat far away on the other side of the wall because he couldn't land close to the tomb.

    Porpentine says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    she*

    why do people assume it's a he, there's multiple instances of textual evidence hinting at her gender

    VDZ says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 9:47pm

    Hm, I guess I'll explain how I initially interpreted various things and why I experienced things the way I did. This is going to be embarrassing and stupid, but I hope it helps.

    Let's start off with the choices. I originally felt the clickable text were actions you could do, and that they may affect how the story progresses; a link not clicked meaning an action not taken. For this reason, I usually ignored the sidetracking actions to focus on climbing unless they were relevant for climbing or very interesting, lest I do something stupid and fall and/or wear myself out before I reach the top. It took a very long time for me to realize that these actions would be done regardless of whether I clicked them or not - clicking was only for expanding the text. Because I was avoiding 'unnecessary actions', I also missed how you could change the action you were about to take by clicking the word at times (these moments were indistinguishable from text expansion moments until you click the text); only near the end of the game did I understand how that worked.

    The story: I didn't know the opening lines were meant to be taken literally, as they have a lot of implied context I didn't know about beforehand (the game has no description, so I had no idea what the game was about until I tried it). As such, I interpreted it as a cryptic intro text (which is quite common in many stories; my interpretation could be blamed on the fact that I'm currently reading Shikkoku no Sharnoth, which is absolutely full of this kind of stuff) which would make sense later.
    As the climb began, I had the impression (partially based on the title) that the protagonist was climbing the wall of a ruin he [as I interpreted the protagonist at the time] was about to loot stuff from (and therefore I was wondering why I hadn't left my backpack behind before starting the climb). As the story progressed, at first I was thinking 'it sucks that there's no choice to go back, this isn't going to end well', which gradually shifted towards 'the treasure at the top better be worth it'.

    Regarding the protagonist, considering the context (treasure hunter climbing the wall of a [probably ancient] ruin), I was reminded of characters like Indiana Jones and various old video game characters from such contexts (most inspired by Indiana Jones). All of these characters are male, and as it was from a first-person perspective, I am male myself, and there was no clear indication otherwise, I thought the protagonist was a male treasure hunter in his late 20s-early 30s, as that fit the clichés/conventions. Re-playing the game, I found that the only non-optional hints towards her gender were:
    "You envision piles of Sephora cosmetics. White tiles. Glass case. 20 percent off fine jewelry.
    Career Woman Khaki package with Ocean Mist Underarm Dab for midday refresh.
    You can smell the fabric. See the tags strewn across the dressing room floor."
    As I am not American, I had no idea what 'JC Penny' was; I thought the protagonist was distracting 'himself' from the pain by thinking random thoughts as some psychological trick.

    As you can see, I misinterpreted various things in the story. It always happens with stories; anything not told clearly is filled in by whatever preconceptions the reader has. If it was your intention to make certain parts clearer to readers, I hope this helps to understand where it can go wrong in readers' minds.

    May 20, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    Pretty interesting story, I liked it.

    May 20, 2013 @ 9:52pm

    Low on interactivity for a Twine game, but awe-inspiring in terms of writing and mood. (Of course, that's hardly unexpected for Porpentine.) Now that I think about it, I see how the incessant clicking mimics the protagonist's effort of climbing.

    Nice use of graphics, too.

    davidpeter says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:38pm

    dat feel. I enjoyed that you could select from different choices, but there's no way I'm going back through that!

    This sort of reminded me of those websites with the 10,000 alert windows. I actually never minded those.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]