Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 2 hours, 27 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    IMBARINTH - brookman32k - Jam Entry

    UPDATE: An Android version now available in Google play! Also added a post compo version. The original entries are still online though (http://32k.eu/ld26).

    This is our (not so) minimalistic jam entry: IMBARINTH!

    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBujv4enmoQ

    You are a dot in a shifting and changing labyrinth which pulsates colorfully to the music.
    Your aim is to reach the goal tile marked with a different color and a sparkling orb.
    Try not go get pushed out of the labyrinth (or you lose).

    Controls: W,A,S,D or arrow keys or mouse (hold left button) to move, R to retry, P to pause, the music can be muted by pressing the icon in the upper right-hand corner.

    You need a rather fast browser/system for the web version. It seems to work best in Chrome. The Windows (exe) and Java versions have better performance however.

    Issues:
    - If the audio is out of sync in the beginning, reload the page.
    - On Mac OS the .jar doesn't run with Java 7. It should work with Java 6 though.

    Atombrots Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvvclvJWHrs

    View brookman32k's journal. | View all entries by brookman32k

    Ratings

    Coolness79%
    #55Innovation(Jam)3.74
    #63Audio(Jam)3.73
    #81Graphics(Jam)3.98
    #86Fun(Jam)3.50
    #106Overall(Jam)3.60
    #184Mood(Jam)3.23
    #197Theme(Jam)3.48
    #300Humor(Jam)2.00

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

    'Page not found' on web link. :(

    Hyaku says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    The link doesn't work. :(

    sittaman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

    dead link for web version

    kingsman142 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

    For both sources, I get an error.

    "The requested page "/ld26/" could not be found."

    Looks like a cool game, wish I could rate it.

    visibleatom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

    I think that emotion! No link!

    brookman32k says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

    Please wait 30 more minutes... we will deploy and upload it shorty!

    brookman32k says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

    Finally, the game is online!

    ilovepixel says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

    really nice idea. It was a bit hard for me to find the correct way. Overall the idea is very good.

    ananasblau says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

    awesome looks! you should get it on android, they love such puzzle games and the controls can easy be done with touch.

    sick says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

    Very cool, nice music.

    brookman32k says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:29am

    ananasblau: thank you! yes, we have planned that. it runs on android right now, but it's really slow... I think we should first simplify the rendering and optimize the code a bit for the android version.

    jtzp4 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54am

    Really cool! Nice sounds and graphics!

    Drabiter says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

    Very cool, nice neon graphics, great BGM.

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

    Really liked this. Cool concept and great audio. Well done! :)

    quill18 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

    Great concept, music, graphics, and application of the theme. I feel like the inputs could use a bit more tuning, but overall quite impressive.

    Kali Purr says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    This game is sweet. Really like the visual style! How did you pull that off?

    Kali Purr says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:10am

    The only confusing part is finding your dot when a new level begins. Maybe make it emit a couple radial ripples to show where it is from the start?

    mortus says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:18am

    Fun game, but walls color is too similar to floor color, it makes you think that sometimes you just can't walk.

    RobKat says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:00am

    Great style and audio but 'shifting' blocks had no pattern to them, was not able to beat the game

    atombrot says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:01pm

    The challenge mode is definitely beatable (have beaten it myself some times already ;) ). Where a tile spawns depends on where you are standing during the spawn (only the tile and not x/y coordinates). But I watched our team mate play it through and he almost always got the same moving tiles. If you are moved out or locked in, try to stand on another tile, while it shifts. So you can kind of predict a pattern, the thing is that the pattern changes depending on where you walk through.

    GranaDa says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:49pm

    Totally AWESOME! Can't wait to see a mobile version! What engine did you use?

    brookman32k says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    @GranaDa: We're working on that mobile version ;) we used libgdx and started from scratch. If you are interested in the source, it is available at github: https://github.com/brookman/Ludum-Dare-26

    StMatn says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

    Amazing game! The graohics look really cool. The game reminded me of the bardgame "Labyrinth", because both games made me rage a little, when my path pas changed :D Great job

    Hegemege says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:07am

    Great game! The gameplay mechanics are from the well known board game Labyrinth, oh the memories...

    I loved the visuals and the simple soundtrack.

    reverso13 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

    Very nice and funny! Good job!

    lotusgame says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:57pm

    Very interesting concept, well polished game, too bad sometimes you are stuck and there is nothing to do except wait for an exit. Great work !! :)

    atombrot says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    If you are stuck you can press R to retry the level. My "squash detection algorithm" sometimes horribly fails XD I think I know the problem now (my brain was empty at the end of the compo), but as only small fixes are allowed, we won't change the version on the server... this should be fixed in a post compo release.

    atombrot says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:23pm

    Btw, thanks for the feedback anyone... We're planning to polish this game up a little bit after the competition and we want to address most of the issues stated here. We're happy to see that we are not the only ones having fun with our game :D

    May 3, 2013 @ 11:11pm

    Nice visuals and music. Although this game for me is kinda hard but still... I like it :D

    bvanschooten says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:36am

    The graphics and sound are spot on in creating a very interesting mood. What marred the gameplay for me though is that my dot kept getting stuck in walls, and sometimes I could not avoid being pushed into a blind corridor for awhile with nowhere to go.

    May 5, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Good game design... awesome idea... graphics is simple but enough for the game .... perhaps the winner?

    euwaku says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    All my congratulations for the visual effects. There's some hard work over there and it should be rewarded! Only major reproach: the controls are very approximative... you get very easily stuck in a given block.

    EggDestroyer says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 11:53am

    I felt it a bit random. I wasn't sure which strategy I was supposed to adopt, so I ended up waiting near the particle square a lot of times, which eventually bore me. Apart from that, the game looks and feels great, mostly due to its nice neon-ish atmosphere and fitting music.

    Floko says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    I got surprised! This is a fun game with beautifully done graphics and simple and easy to learn mechanics. It remind me of The Cube (movie). Was that a reference?

    Nice work!

    atombrot says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    @Floko: No, our idea took strong inspiration from the boardgame "Das Verrückte Labyrinth" (crazy labyrinth in german). But now that you say it I can see the resemblence ;) Maybe we could add a cube mode later on with traps etc :D

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    A very pretty game. I got a bit frustrated by the random nature of the maze shifts, but the music was great, and I had fun.

    kill0u says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 1:27am

    Great game! :)

    Angerus says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 9:33am

    Really like the vibe coming from this little game! It's still a little difficult in the first tries to understand what's going on apart from the fact that you have to reach the exit. Is it some form of control on the shape changing thing or questions like that keep coming in my brain for the five first minutes of play.
    Anyway, good job!

    Brassawiking says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Really cool game. Sadly it started to lag like hell, so I couldn't carry on. Great job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]