Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 13 hours, 22 minutes, 34 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 13 hours, 22 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rock Paper RPG - Jan Marcano - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    === Hold 'X' to speed up the text. ==
    (Some people seem to miss it, so I'll put it over here too)

    The game is called 'Rock, Paper, RPG', try it out and tell me what you think about it: @AldianSolkai

    The controls are 'Z' and the arrow keys.
    Hold 'X' to speed up the text. 'M' to mute.

    Basically it's a Rock, Paper, Scissors game with a simple HP and Leveling system. The rules are as follows:
    -Normal attacks hit before magic can be cast.
    -Blocking an attack allows you to counter back.
    -Magic can break through any defenses if not interrupted.

    Changelog:
    -29/04: Fixed bug where pressing X during the title screen, made the game crash.

    View Jan Marcano's journal. | View all entries by Jan Marcano

    Ratings

    Coolness69%
    #126Theme4.05
    #180Graphics3.72
    #282Audio3.16
    #335Humor2.59
    #358Mood3.14
    #457Overall3.26
    #721Innovation2.92
    #874Fun2.64

    Comments

    dissonance says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

    Nice take on the whole rock, paper, scissors. Good job!

    gokuhd says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

    Very simple and fun, great idea!, seems it was a lot of work.

    Daid says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Damn, the potato got me.

    Btw, the game crashes if you press 'X' during the title screen scrolling.

    hgouveia says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Great game! love it!

    vladimirdlc says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Sympathic game and implementation at first seemed so cinematic to me that I thought that I was watching a dialogue.

    CNIAngel says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

    I love this. It's rather fun. The graphics are beautiful. The gameplay, simple to learn and hard to master. The audio, fitting. Essentially, this game is excellent.

    sittaman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30am

    Great, very nice implementation of rock, paper and scissors. :)

    There's any logic or pattern on the enemy's choices? They always guessed mine :(

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

    I loved it!!!! The ONLY thing I could think to do is make the text scroll faster so it moves along a lil quicker, but it's really a lot of fun and a fantastic twist on Rock Paper Scissors!! Also absolutely love the graphics and game size, retro-glory!

    NikolMarg says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

    Really minimal and pretty, fitting great to the theme. Loved it! :)

    richtx says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

    Liked it a lot. Can't offer much feedback since I wouldn't change anything. It meets the theme very well. Good job.

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

    Definitely has that minimalistic feel to it. The graphics fit nicely! Would be nice to be able to speed up the text though. Overall I enjoyed playing this game.

    metadept says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

    Cute little game. Very random, of course, but I liked the monochrome palette and tiny window. I thought the sound effects were a little bit too loud compared to the music. Good job!

    Travis Irby says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

    Love it :D like I said before, great aesthetic, makes me want to get out my old gameboy. Damn clever potato did me in as well!

    Finnegan2100 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

    This was fun! Love the sepia tone and the music fit nicely. Managed to beat the pegasus, but the eyeball got me.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    Really cool game, interesting take on an rpg using rock paper scissors. Fit the theme too. Nice little game, the small screen gives it some charm!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

    A wonderfully simple and fast-paced game of R,P,S. While maybe some things could be added, it has a good amount of charm and is executed nicely. A great take on the minimalism theme.

    TehSkull says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:02am

    Potato cheats. GG.

    No but really, the pacing was a little too slow. I get that you're trying to emulate the old consoles, but I don't know. Audio was good, that's for sure.

    smilingrob says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

    Innovative idea, ha ha.

    ilovepixel says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:16am

    Nice kind of R.P.S style game. I really liked how it was implemented on an RPG style. Great game!

    Evil Cult says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:40am

    I liked the spin on Rock, Paper, Scissors but in the end playing this sort of game against a computer just comes down to luck which I wasn't a big fan of. Still, I think this game is pretty charming and I liked the feel of it.

    jerombd says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:05am

    I love the retro-look (but the font is too thin to fit the rest of the pixel-art)! And imho the text doesn't scroll faster enough.

    May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

    Nice twist on usual rock paper scissors! I liked the graphics and minimal looks. The game itself, being a rock paper scissors, is pretty luck based though. And how fun that is is debatable.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

    Very nice !

    Canyon says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:32am

    I like the presentation a lot. The tiny window is cool.
    It'd be great if you could skip the text animation by tapping any key. It'd be cool to have a two player option too.
    Beautiful music. The only part I did not like was waiting for the text (even sped up) to continue on to the next move.

    It is a good way to do combat in an RPG and could definitely be used in a larger scale RPG.

    Well done.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    It's a bit minimalist ;) but the presentation is very good.

    This is the game with the smallest window that I rated so far :)

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:02pm

    Awesome! This one is fantastic and super simple. But not easy.

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:58am

    Love the idea. It gets old kinda fast, but that's the nature of the beast. Very clever, and nice presentation.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]