Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 5 hours, 21 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Geneva Convection - TylerGlaiel - Jam Entry

    Minimalism? Fuck that, death rays. Whats more minimalistic than destroying the world?

    GAME BY TYLER GLAIEL AND MARTIN JONASSON


    detailed instructions:
    twisting the knobs controls power to the rooms
    red = overpower, blue = underpower
    try to keep all the valves neutral (neither red nor blue) unless you need to drastically change temperature
    if the knob is blue, the room will cool down over time
    if the knob is red, the room will heat up over time

    if a room is cool, it will do less work (except for the generator and capacitor rooms)
    if a room is hot, it will do more work
    if a room gets too hot, it will explode and go black. you can repair it by clicking and holding on it until it's repaired

    if the cooling room is blue, it will be doing less work and so the generator room will overheat
    if the cooling room is red, it will be doing more work and so the generator room will cool down

    if the monitoring room is underpowered, the generator room will go static

    upgrading capacitor capacity will increase the size of the city you can destroy, and the capacitors will charge slower (and increase difficulty)
    upgrading generator power will increase the charging speed (and increase difficulty)
    launching a satellite increases the range (you want the 2nd satellite ASAP)

    upgrading a thermostat will make temperature control easier (temperature tries to match power level over time rather than drifting off)
    upgrading valve quality will make the steam vents have less of an effect on the valves

    View TylerGlaiel's journal. | View all entries by TylerGlaiel

    Ratings

    #9Innovation(Jam)4.17
    #15Graphics(Jam)4.52
    #16Audio(Jam)4.06
    #31Humor(Jam)3.66
    #34Overall(Jam)3.88
    #59Mood(Jam)3.72
    #77Fun(Jam)3.53
    #448Theme(Jam)2.71
    #2059Coolness0%

    Comments

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26am

    First off: 10/10 on that description, second, its a clever idea, third, the graphics are GORGEOUS, fourth, the music is AMAZING.

    Milktoast says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

    OH GOD! This game is crazy good!

    Zuieni says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

    I played for hours :p took some time to understand what to do but I manage to get world domination.

    Chman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

    Freaking good as soon as you get it (took me some time).

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    Wow this game sure was polished. I like the attention to the different categories of the voting - it had it all.
    This is definitely something you can beat after a few minutes. Good job!

    _Rilem says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

    Blow up ludum dare hq eh? 5 stars on humor! :D
    This has to be my favorite ludum dare entry so far. The mechanics are fun, and the graphical style is simply amazing.

    The learning curve was a bit steep though,

    Ragzouken says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

    I found it so hard to understand what was going on - thought I got it then rooms started overheating and I couldn't work out why. When the rooms exploded and went static repairing didn't seem to do anything.

    The graphics, especially the laser movie, look awesome.

    sharbelfs says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:06am

    And i was thinking my game was polished! God, this is gooooood!

    Norgg says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:13pm

    So, so good.

    iansnyder says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Really love this game; I'm terrible at it, but there's something about it that I keep coming back and trying to get better. Great job!

    May 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Well, that is amazing.

    Love the heaygonal art-style. Colors are great too. Music fits nicely, and the boffin adivsing you is great :D

    It's very hard to figure out what to do, though. The systems are somewhat complex, adn not everything gives direct feedback.

    Still, awesome work!

    LTyrosine says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:16pm

    Very very cool game (and cool here dont makes fun room work less =D), very well crafted and suited for theme. On top 10 games of LD26 for no doubt!

    ZYXer says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:03pm

    Awesome game. Graphics, Sound and Story are perfect. But the gameplay does become a bit repetitive.

    joe40001 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 1:47am

    Very cool game. Few comments:
    1. It felt virtually impossible to recover when the capacitor array blew, the fact it switches all the capacitors to blue when it goes is pretty harsh.
    2. Figuring out what exactly to do is a little tricky I'd encourage you to do something so that I don't feel penalized for reading the instructional text early on, the text is great and informative but it's hard to find the time to read it when the game kinda leaps in head first.
    3. A few things were unclear, like how close I was to being able to access the next satellite, is it based on whether the room is red or whether it's been red (working for a while) or what?
    4. Maybe this has something to do with the command center or something but it felt like between satellite 1 and 2 my options went up a ton, was this intentional?

    I'm only going into so much detail because the game is otherwise perfect. Seriously this is the best game I've seen of this team size or smaller for LD26, maybe the best overall. Great game, simple mechanics, quite fun. 5/5

    tankete says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:24am

    Wow! Looks amazing! Plays great! Nice job!

    May 7, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Brilliant look, guys! Gameplay is quite complex if you don't read instructions like me, but text explains a lot.

    recursor says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 8:45pm

    This is the opposite of the theme, but it is so much fun!

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 3:17am

    Awesome. Just awesome. The amount of foresight and structure needed to create a game as refined and thoroughly complex as this... Was it a team of ten? High points from me!

    sparkleswirl says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 3:53am

    Okay. Best game in jam, hands down.

    Jeremias says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    Very nice and polished interface. Funny game idea and it was "somehow" fun to play... but I had some problems in understanding the whole process respectively what is going on... nonetheless, very good job!

    Ithildin says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    Brilliant entry :)

    I love the infographic-like visuals, and gameplay is really interesting (I'm struggling to avoid my volcano from exploding after the first or second cities, but I'm getting better =D). Not to mention music or humour. Great job!

    kill0u says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:46pm

    Took me some time to get it, but great game!

    robotality says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 2:20pm

    Really well done! Love this game :D Bookmarked for playing it more later :)

    Geen says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 9:03pm

    And then one British secret agent comes in and blows it all to hell, when, in reality, it was already going to explode on it's own.

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:08pm

    Great game. Incredibly polished for 3 days work.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 9:45pm

    Heh, fun times. But it's impossible to recover if your capacitor blows. Bit annoying.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    Cool game. Great graphics and simple mechanic. Hard to get master and really fun. Congrats!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]