Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 days, 14 hours, 43 minutes, 8 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    ... - Dir3kt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    There is a super duper secret level, can you find it?

    Arrow keys or WASD to move.

    There are 19 (+1 secret) levels in the game.

    Two levels seems tricky to some people (I guess it depends of your mindset) but for most people it comes naturally. Here are some clues:
    level 8: Think about what level 1 taught you.
    level 9: Act like in level 8. If you get stuck hit a red square to reset ;)

    Have fun!

    View Dir3kt's journal. | View all entries by Dir3kt

    Ratings

    Coolness98%
    #12Fun4.04
    #39Overall3.97
    #101Theme4.10
    #196Audio3.31
    #284Humor2.68
    #363Mood3.13
    #427Graphics3.22
    #467Innovation3.23

    Comments

    paranoiks says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14am

    How do I vote for games?..
    this one is awesome btw

    Colapsydo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

    I like the mechanics and I was really happy to discover extra levels after the secret ones.
    Levels are nicely designed and I like a lot the ones where the player has to decide to release red squares at the right moment.

    mrspeaker says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    Errrgh - how do i get throught that crazy lot-of-red-boxes level (maybe level 4 or 5)?

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    Very simple game but the clever level design makes it very fun to play. Good work !

    tonic says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    Pretty nice bunch of levels there.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Real neat. Good puzzles.

    gameXcore says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Really smart, the last level was rather tough!

    Masadow says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

    Strong entry. Perfect game mechanics. Also, everything suit the theme perfectly, I loved !

    Ditto says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Sooo aesthetically pleasing! Didn't really like the music, but that is a personal thing I guess :P Really well done!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    I really enjoyed this, it all fits together very nicely and the music gave me this lemmings-y "keep trying!" vibe even when I died a few times.

    metadept says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

    I really like this one. The mechanics are tight, the puzzles are well designed, and the graphics/audio fit perfectly. Usually I try to offer some kind of suggestion for improvement, but this is pretty much complete. Also, wonderful secret level! Great job!

    sparkleswirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    Simple game. Dare I say, minimalist? The great level design makes it awesome.

    Norritt42 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

    So nice that you introduce the game in a pedagogical way

    fpMiguel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

    Great level design!

    neight says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

    Nice level design, good music, very minimal. Had fun with it.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    wow thanks a lot for all those kinds comments :)

    paranoiks: You have to be logged in. Sometime it doesn't work due to cache issue in which case you have to clear your browser's cache.

    mrspeaker: I don't like to spoil but can give a clue maybe. Level 1 teach you that the only objective is to reach the purple square.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    Very slickly designed, especially given the time constraints! Had fun playing this and was muchly charmed by the soundtrack and Atari graphics

    justin35f says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    Great game!

    domrein says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    I really like it. Fun and simple mechanic and puzzles that explore it well. Good job.

    screech says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

    Got stuck at level 9 D:, great game

    Husky says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

    Cool!!
    Simple yet brilliant,
    The level of Pac Man and potato is really awesome!
    Good job!

    tankete says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

    Wow! Loved it! First couple levels are perfect. Then it gets super impossible...if you're dumb like me. Easily my favorite so far. Well done!

    Canyon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

    This is my favourite so far. I think it is the winner.
    I love how thoroughly you explored the idea. It struck me this game is just like old first person shooters e.g

    Canyon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

    You collect red keys to get through red doors etc.

    TheSheep says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

    Haha, the mini PacMan level made me LOL. Great game, very playable. Congratulations!

    Casino Jack says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

    I feel stupid for getting stuck on the level with two rows of red above and below you, until I realised that I didn't *have* to collect the green block and release them...

    Also, love the inclusion of a Pacman level.

    Codexus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Nice minimalistic concept, the levels were fun to play and I managed to reach the end. Good game!

    Normally I'd regret the lack of effort in the graphics area but since minimalism is the theme you get a free pass on that one.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

    Excellent entry! I *love* how the level design introduces you to the mechanics and elements of the game one by one, with no need for a tutorial or any text at all! This is an unprecedented level of design polish for a 48-hour entry! You Sir, have my like, and five of my stars!

    Mase says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    The Pac-man level was a nice surprise.

    karlin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Great game. You did a great job at exploring such a simple concept and creating such a wonderfully polished game. I liked the little touches such as adding grid-movement to the level with the 1-square hole. The pacman level was a nice surprise too (the level after it reminded me a little of frogger too).

    The only slight criticism would be that the music, while rather good, got a little repetitive after a while and I (being pretty terrible at video games) found dodging some of the red square too hard on some of the later levels. Still a superb game and amazing work for 48 hours.

    tankete says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:45am

    Just wanted to pop back in and say that even after playing/rating 35+ games, this one is still my favorite. Great job! (again) :)

    Smaxx says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:12am

    Very nice. Probably the most interesting "blocky" game so far this round. To those having issues with many red blocks: Try to unlock them the right moment so they just move with others rather than limiting your movement even more.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Again thanks a lot for the kind comments. This is so motivating that I'm now working on a post compo version with more levels!

    Canyon:
    My train of though came more from adventure/exploration games. But yeah that's similar. Get item X to unlock area that allows to get item Y to unlock another area, etc...

    Karlin:
    Funny that you spotted the different type of movement algorithms. I spent lot of time trying to find best way for player movement but ended up having two separate classes: one for normal levels and one for grid based levels.

    You mention frogger and that's exactly that. I got the idea for the level by thinking about this game. I also wanted to have a space invader like levels but forgot about it.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

    tankete: thanks a lot :)

    patrickward says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:48am

    Wonderful game! One of the most playable games I've encountered yet. So simple, yet so much fun. It has a very minimal, retro feel to it, which I love coming from that era. I got stuck on those red boxes at first, but then realized how simple it really was. Excellent job.

    pansapiens says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:27pm

    One of my favorites so far. Great use of the theme, nice clean & effective graphics and smart level design. You should be proud of this one, I would be.

    YsenGrimm says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

    A really nice game, though the concept is a bid too overused.

    Diamonde says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

    The frustration was high on that tricky level of yours... I was sure I had to time the movement perfectly and hit the exact pixels. Tried that at least 20 times before I realized the trickiness :D

    jackspinoza says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    brilliant, effective and understandable puzzles with innovative approaches.

    May 1, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    Loved this! Great fun. Couple of super hard levels, but it's so fast to rety it taps into "one more try! so close!". Very very well done.

    May 2, 2013 @ 1:17am

    One of my favourites so far! Very clever; well done!

    s0ulcrusher says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:27am

    Ran into a bug with the room in your 2nd screenshot, the yellow barrier doesn't go away when you hit the yellow trigger. This definitely fits the theme!

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:34am

    soulcrusher: this is not bug, this is the puzzle! if stuck you can reset by hitting a red dot.

    mrexcessive says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:18am

    Excellent puzzler. Good job including tutorials... Requires a bit of thinking, but clue for 8 is good. Level number somewhere be a nice to have. Well done!

    mrexcessive says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:21am

    Had to say more.. gave good rating, then get to the pacman and frogger levels... VERY good job!

    PsenFilip says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:43pm

    Very cool puzzle game. I managed to beat it I just don't know if I did find the secret. Probably not, right.
    Controls are good, music is fine and the levels are overall pretty well thought out.

    DustyStylus says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:28pm

    Wow, heehee, gets tough pretty quickly. Nice music. :)

    KevinZuhn says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:45am

    I thought it was well designed and had a good mixture of challenges! Also, that secret level completely caught me by surprise, but was worth getting to.

    Ragzouken says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:44am

    Very nice. The pacman level was cool :D Reminds me of early chips challenge levels :)

    recursor says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    Can't say I'm a fan of auto-generated music so I wish there was a mute button for that, but otherwise this is pretty good.

    nseward says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:08pm

    Nicely done. Simple and fun. Lots of fun levels.

    zatyka says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    Lots of fun. Great puzzle design. Nothing to complain about.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:15pm

    Great illustration of how a simple mechanic can make a fun challenging game.

    HELLO23 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

    GREAT GAME !! I really liked it, the idea and the minimalistic graphics.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:52pm

    Nice game, it was very fun to play.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:26pm

    Simple game but with a solid design! :)

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:45pm

    Smart and fun good job. The concept could be continued at infinity.

    Bernhard says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:03am

    Cool little switch puzzle game, good music!
    I liked the relevance of the timing of the button presses to make the last few levels easier.

    Jeremias says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:59am

    (Spoiler)
    The level where you have to ignore the yellow dot... I hate you :D

    Nice game anyway. Felt very smooth and I didn't have a level where I needed too long to solve it.

    CAukamp says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    Spot on! Very cool

    Christian S. says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    Nice level design!

    rezoner says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:07am

    Interesting levels and nice audio. Good job.

    Ithildin says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    Nice level design, good job! :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:26am

    Not bad! Despite simple mechanic levels are looking fresh =)
    Thanks for submission!

    jadams says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:36pm

    A well designed puzzle game. Good job.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:40am

    I really enjoyed this puzzler. Simple concept, but also really fun. Some of the later levels really made me think about when was the best time to release the barriers.

    May 8, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Fun game, very nice ! :)

    kill0u says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 10:24pm

    Nice puzzle :)

    Gungnir says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 4:27am

    Very nice game but some levels are really frickin hard. Some great leveldesign in there though.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 8:40pm

    Gungnir: Most of the levels can be solved easily, if you find the trick ;D

    Milktoast says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 2:19am

    I felt like I was going through the chompers at the end of Galaxy Quest. =) Good job!

    nimblegorilla says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 8:44pm

    Very fun game. Some of the puzzles are "harder" than others, but I like that each puzzle is quick to finish once you see how to solve it.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Simple concept but executed really well. The level design is pretty excellent.

    fermcg says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 12:39am

    Great game!

    toaster says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    That secret level was amazing. The rest of the game was pretty great too.

    echa says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    Exellent!

    gerritg says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 9:36pm

    This is amazing. Had to play until the end. Thank you. Also for the bonus stage :D

    Madball says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

    Hey! I got stuck on level 4! Just make a reset button.
    I liked the idea. I used to do like that in Paint :P
    I think you could create more puzzles, but you relied on avoiding instead... that`s your choice anyway.

    davidpeter says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    I really liked this game. One of the best ones I've played. The level design was excellent; I enjoyed that it led you to learn the game mechanics.

    I'm not sure what the secret levels were, or if I reached any, so an indicator of this would've been nice.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    Madball: Aye. Yes level 4 is broken in the sense that you could get blocked and there are no enemies thus you can't reset by suicide. But why the heck you didn't moved straight :D

    davidpeter: Believe me, if you would have found the secret level, you would know it for sure ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]