Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 0 hours, 15 minutes, 55 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 1 hour, 3 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Lethal Blow - TheSheep - Jam Entry

    A simple beat-em-up with minimalistic backgrounds. Best played with headphones.

    Programming & sprites: Radomir Dopieralski
    Music: Lukasz Langa
    Backgrounds: Joanna Piechowiak

    The game is mostly inspired by two titles, Rakugaki Showtime for PlayStation and Ninja Kid for Atari arcade machines. I didn't manage to get the dynamism of either of those game, but at least there is some of the chaos. Enjoy!

    Made using python and pygame.

    View TheSheep's journal. | View all entries by TheSheep

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #34Graphics(Jam)4.32
    #55Audio(Jam)3.76
    #96Humor(Jam)3.00
    #139Fun(Jam)3.28
    #163Theme(Jam)3.58
    #173Mood(Jam)3.28
    #184Overall(Jam)3.35
    #440Innovation(Jam)2.38

    Comments

    kewry says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

    Nice music and minimalistic graphics

    nuprahtor says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

    It lacks of some indication of hp and two directions of sword swinging.
    Art is great.

    TheSheep says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    @nuphrathor The HP is indicated by your position on the screen. When you are pushed off the screen, you die.

    graytest says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    Nice music and great art! A bit too repetitive for me though.

    chrysiridia says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    What kewry said. Also, the characters are adorable!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    Awesome music, neat graphics. I wish there were more content :(

    loxo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    I like the graphics and music very much!

    Narayan says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    Everything is minimalist and realy good in this game. I love it !

    PapaGrimbles says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

    Well that was adorable violence. Love the jumping and 'pile on' enemy attacks. Nice job

    egos says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

    nice game

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

    Gorgeous game!

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    Cute character, really cool aesthetics. I like that there's no HP, you just have to stay on screen, it makes the game design simpler (which fits the theme) !

    keksdev says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

    Great artwork and good soundtrack!

    meszka says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    Very nice music and graphics. It's cool how you can stay in the air for a while by "flapping" your sword :) Could use some more variety, maybe a way to do combos or something.

    davidpeter says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Oh man, I thought there was no HP, so I was liberal in getting hit, but there actually is -- got a game over and had to restart :(

    I *love* the cute graphics!

    kazukishida says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

    very smooth and cute art! :D also liked the music. mechanics simple enough that it makes me want to play more and the game is hard enough that it makes me want to play more. in short it wants to make me play more :D add more mechanics too btw! Great game!

    May 1, 2013 @ 1:56pm

    I really love graphism,
    Well play !
    this game is pretty fun

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

    Very good graphics. I enjoyed playing although the combat felt a bit repetitive (space spam).

    Was this a giant potato ?!

    TheSheep says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Yeah, I should really have made some special moves, and maybe monsters that require different strategies, but no time. The boss is unfortunately not a potato.

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    They keep coming and I keep slicing them!! Love the art style of the boss :)

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

    Awesome soundtrack! I like the hand-drawn look.

    Elrobo says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:13am

    That was super cute. Great art.

    martijn says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:37pm

    Graphics look nice in screenshots, but the game is nothing special

    wrongcoder says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:59am

    This reminds me that I should play more Castle Crashers.

    alcazar says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 9:07am

    I like it .... gg

    pvwradtke says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:14am

    Hey, nice graphics you got for this one. Wish I could move on the Z plane as well, or had a life bar to track how bad I was doing :). Ran perfectly on Ubuntu using python+pygame.

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:42pm

    Love the art, and very nice music. The gameplay felt a bit light, but I enjoyed it. =)

    May 12, 2013 @ 12:09pm

    The art in this is great. The dead square enemies are pretty adorable. Missing feedback on your current hp. More attack styles could break up the button-mashing gameplay. Good work!

    Taro Omiya says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 6:20am

    Despite all the elements missing, I rather enjoyed this simple hack-&-slash.

    heuermh says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 4:17am

    Love the style.

    AaronYip says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 6:21pm

    Charming style:
    sweet soundtrack, frantic gameplay.
    Filled with win.

    foul says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    Really like the graphics and animation. And the hero is awesome

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]