Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 – 9 PM EST — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 5 hours, 22 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Join us on Twitter and IRC (#ludumdare on afternet.org) for the Theme Announcement!

    FYI: This website becomes unusable for +/- 20 minutes at Theme Announcement time, because you’re awesome :D


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    jmp - reustonium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and really the first game that I've forced myself to 'finish'.

    jmp is a simple platformer with one unique mechanic, each time you jump a set of platforms disappear. I would really appreciate any feedback and advice you have to offer.

    Thanks!

    View reustonium's journal. | View all entries by reustonium

    Ratings

    #131Innovation3.75
    #159Audio3.41
    #291Mood3.21
    #351Fun3.21
    #352Overall3.38
    #458Theme3.63
    #459Graphics3.17
    #1720Coolness30%

    Comments

    Brian Corr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

    This was very nice. Great concept. The controls are nice although I think the air control is a little wonky.

    Good sound too.

    FYI, I think there is a bug: if you jump and then press and hold space, you can cheat. You will land and jump on the invisible platforms.

    deige101 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

    cool idea!

    M0N0QUARTZ says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    Epic game! I love it

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

    Really nice! It would be nice to show the order of color changing somewhere in the HUD, else it can be a bit confusing ;) Also, heads up - you're not allowed to use other people's music, even if it is creative commons.

    igrowbeards says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

    Really unique and interesting concept and super nice audio. I found the physics of the player to be frustrating though - i think it would have been more fun and more approachable with a more typical character instead of a ball and it's associated physics. With a little more control over the character i think this could be a *really* fun game.

    Jeremias says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

    Was fun to play - smooth controls, nice atmosphere and interesting concept with the platforms changing visibility. In the last area, you can use the wall for multiple jumps to reach the goal and therefore it is possible to ignore all the platforms in this area.

    smealum says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

    the ending was a bit underwhelming :P

    May 1, 2013 @ 11:59am

    Controls were a little fiddly but great idea.

    cahman says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    A very enjoyable game! A similar concept to my game, but completely different implementations. I ended up wall jumping out of the level at one point though...

    Alex Rose says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    I won. Neat. :P

    But, yeah, great idea. I think.. maybe turn down the bloom? It's a bit distracting. Also, the wall jumping is very cool, but as a game mechanic it is far too powerful. It detracts a little from the core game mechanic when you can just repeatedly wall jump up until you reach the end. Having said that, the wall jumping was very well implemented, and the core game mechanic was very cool. I just wouldn't put them together (or I'd carefully control their use).

    But, anyway, that is the minorest of qualms, and I only mentioned it because you asked for feedback. This is a really cool game, fits the theme well, music is nice, and it's well made. Nice one.

    GameNacho says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    Hey congrats on finishing a game! I like the mechanic it's unique and works very well, good job!

    euwaku says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 5:18am

    Nice visual effects! The concept yet simple is coupled with a tricky gameplay that makes the game a bit too hard. It was still a very good entry with a sweet peaceful music B)

    kurrik says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 1:47am

    This is a cool concept, but the controls felt mostly unresponsive and the mechanic for climbing walls seemed unintuitive. It might be nice to have the set of colors that the player's avatar can go through in the top left corner, and highlight the one he's on currently. This would help him plan his moves a little more in advance.

    KevinLaity says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

    Great concept, couldn't seem to get very far though..

    basspenguin says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

    I fell to my doom. :( Off the right edge of the screen.

    Good job@ Much bigger than I thought it would be.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]