Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 29 minutes, 53 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 19 hours, 29 minutes, 54 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Persist - AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Read the post mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/persist-post-mortem/

    Note: Post compo version has fixed the annoying bug that makes the character stuck and unable to jump, and is slightly easier in general.

    Use Arrow keys or WASD to move, and Enter to advance text.

    Persist is a tale of small spirit trying to reach a mysterious goddess to seek for forgiveness for his past sins, so he can move on to higher plane of existence. Unfortunately, the goddess isn't feeling very helpful, and the further you travel in her sanctuary, the more sacrifices she demands from you in form of your limbs. Lose your arms, and you can no longer swim. Lose your legs, and you can no longer jump. As you trek deeper into the dungeon, you lose your skills one by one, making your quest more and more dangerous.

    Can you reach salvation? Or are you doomed to lose all hope, and your whole existence, in the deep and dark sanctuary?

    View AdventureIslands's journal. | View all entries by AdventureIslands

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #34Mood3.96
    #39Graphics4.19
    #45Overall3.93
    #96Audio3.59
    #144Fun3.54
    #452Humor2.39
    #680Theme3.41
    #728Innovation2.91

    Comments

    sparkleswirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

    I actually thought that your loading screen was part of the game since I couldn't see the bar moving, so I thought the game was frozen at first. I really like the mood/music/plot/mechanics/theme but I had to give up at the waterfall level. The controls were sticking and sometimes weren't responding, which was pretty frustrating combined with the challenging jumps.

    CappaGames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

    Nice entry. It might be my computer, but I experienced a little bit of choppiness, otherwise good job.

    Cory Martin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

    The narrative is nice, the graphics are very well done, the music is alright but its random generation shows, some of the sounds seem a bit unfitting and there are some issues with the character not jumping high enough when pressing against a wall. Overall, I enjoyed it.

    BNeutral says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

    Nice and moody, but a little buggy, and I don't see much minimalism.

    Crazi456 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

    Loved the art/mood. Kind of choppy for me also.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

    Looks like the loading bar is a bit bugged and it doesn't move. The game loads normally though. Hope I am allowed to try to fix that even after deadline.

    jijaweb says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

    Nice.

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

    Music and visuals are great! The game is fun but at some points (waterfall) a bit frustrating.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02am

    Excellent, first game I play and liked a LOT from the compo, well done!

    As sparkleswirl pointed above, the loading screen should have something that says its a loading screen, since it give the impresion the whole thing got stuck (im on slow internet so it took a while to load actually, I really wanted to play this one!)

    omaromeir says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Simply amazing, for this short amount of time you made an awesome game!

    Despite a few small bugs, I wouldn't change a thing. But maybe you'd lower the difficulty in some parts :p.

    agnulf says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    Love the art and music. Great game :)

    Colapsydo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

    Excellent atmosphere, graphics and tunes suit perfectly.

    Some trouble sometimes with the jump which not trigger while running.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

    yes!

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    Nice job as always. A really great mood and the graphics were really a pleasure to the eyes. Tile placement felt a bit odd in the first part after you lose your arms. Other than that, that was some grade A level design.
    I experienced a bug numerous times that prevented me from jumping. I did not let that bother me though because of the nice and touching story. :) Loved the ending.

    nicso says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

    awesome game. One of my favorites so far!

    brxtr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    Nice pixels, as always. This felt like a traditional platformer with a few nice ideas and I think the difficulty was spot on. However, I found the platformer physics quite irritating at times such as jumping up against a wall or trying to float on the logs. All audio was generally fitting, except you really need to find a new jumping sound effectâI've heard that one too many times!

    LZAntal says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    Nice platformer! I could not jump high enough on level3 to finish it. Very polished and fun game :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    A pretty nice game, although I did have a few problems with the controls, all of them leading to quite stupid deaths...

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    Interesting take on minimalism, in this case the hero is forced into it! I like the controls, very fluid and the levels are pretty challenging. One little nitpick though is the text is kinda hard to read, it's too compact for that resolution.

    elektron says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

    It doesn't jump every time I press up, but besides that it was excellent.

    GertJohnny says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

    The controls felt fantastic until it started to chug a bit - running the swf locally (not in a browser) made a world of difference.

    CogentInvalid says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

    Great graphics and music. Stencyl is ridiculously laggy even for Flash, and I wasn't able to jump high enough to complete the waterfall level, but what I saw was great.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

    The game got more and more interesting the less I could do. The head level and the bodiless level became my favorite, although I admit I had a lot of trouble making the jumps while invisible.
    I thought reducing the player to practically nothing was a pretty good use of the theme.

    toonheart says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

    Very nice.
    the controls were fine for me.
    Challenging jumps :D

    Done rating.

    Please do show some love on my game too :)
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58am

    WOW, this is gorgeous. The music is very nice.
    My son was watching as I played as was totally mesmerised.

    Jan Marcano says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

    The game had choppy controls sometimes, but everything else was really good! You kept minimalism to the art, could've applied it some more to the game mechanics, but it was simple enough.

    Great game overall! Nice to see what you could achieve in 48 hours :)

    Aaants says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    Great game. I'm fairly sure I got to the end but I was just a head in a room - no text or movement, etc. Was that my eternal damnation or a bug? :)

    One of, if not the, best entry I've played so far.

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    Really loved the game, did not expect that final "form"!

    nddrylliog says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57pm

    Controls were a bit rough, but otherwise nice graphic style, very enjoyable :)

    Scott McBee says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

    Love the art.

    pvwradtke says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:38am

    Very nice, can't believe you did that in just 48 hours. Loved the graphics style, which remids me a lot the games I used to play on the MSX and ZX Spectrum. Character animation is also very well done, and also the music. Great work!

    Potentialing says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

    Impressive work for a non-jam entry! The graphics look gorgeous, and the game plays rather well. The level design is pretty difficult, but gives a fair challenge, teaching most of the game mechanics through level design. Unfortunately, the audio was rather hard to listen to, both the SFX and music using harsh instrument choices that pierced through my ears in a negative way. I did love the mood the game gave though, using dark colors that blended well together, it reminded me of Kirby's Adventure in a sense. Overall, I enjoyed this entry, and again, is amazing for the work of a single person in 48 hours.

    cadin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

    Really impressive for 48 hours work. I love the art.
    Apparently I am doomed to lose all hope in a deep dark sanctuary.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

    Nice entry, dude!
    I really like the story and game mechanics. I was very impressed when I take under control the soul =)

    Only one thing is the lags with controls. Sometimes character started moving in one direction and can't jump.

    PushmePullyu says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

    I like the story and the mechanics. The level design is top notch as well.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

    This one is fantastic. And hard. What a sad and fun title. I wish I could see what happens next, but its too hard. That music is absolutely great.

    kidevil says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:48am

    Really liked this one! Good level design, character and gameplay...apart from a few control issues. Kept getting stuck to things when I tried to jump.

    zatyka says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:25am

    Great art. A fun game overall. My major complaint is the player seemed to have way too much inertia, but that may just be me. Keep up the good work!

    Ray_Mickelino says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:40am

    This game was beautiful. I give it full marks. Simply amazing.

    Uhfgood says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:15am

    Pretty good, however, I couldn't really get past the second level without my arms

    Skoggy says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:55am

    Very nice game. Well done!

    Smaxx says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:30am

    My favorite game so far this time. Although I'm having some issues jumping from the platforms behind the third waterfall. Not sure I'm missing something.

    galman says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:03pm

    Nice game, I liked your overall idea, but the buggy controls made the game too hard and annoying =/

    May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

    If the controls get on your nerves, you can now play the improved post compo version, with fixed controls and various other little adjustments.

    Kiwiboi says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:34pm

    Great entry, I like the graphics a lot and it really fits the theme! And it was quite challening but I like that :D

    Volute says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    Great entry ! Very cool graphics, mood and music.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    Great main character! I really like that little dude. Very nice sprites, a great challenge, and nice interpretation of the theme. Good work!

    pearcev says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:34pm

    Very cute! I love the graphics and the game is simple and fun! Good job

    olkeencole says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

    Excellent entry! Very well done. It matched the theme very well yet the graphics were still very appealing. The character design was charming. Loosing your body parts was also a nice development in story and gameplay. Excellent music and sound as well.

    One sticking point: the friction created when the player comes up against a wall in the air made a lot of the platforming frustrating. A lot of the challenge was there by design, but that extra element added unnecessary loss of control.

    Overall: fantastic game!

    kill0u says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Comment by Gnux:
    Nice graphics. Not very original tho.

    savethejets1 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

    So awesome! I love the music.

    I kind of wish your player moved with the moving platforms, that water part was difficult because your character stayed still.

    3.14 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    Hero's looks and animation are adorable :).

    marnaouf says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    Really fun game

    Polar says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    An amazing game, and an interesting spin on Minimalism :) My only issue was with how hard the final level was, although I managed to complete it in the end... after a few hours :P

    theomnis says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Great game! I got a little confused by the menu too, but not for too long. One of the more complete experiences I've played this LD.

    jadams says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    Very nice game, really liked the art use of the theme. As others have said, it got a bit frustrating when I died due to the controls.

    vapgames says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Nice, i like it!

    GFM says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:48pm

    This was great!
    And I really liked your take on the theme.

    lekochen says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:53pm

    That was fantastic. Highly polished in all respects.

    DrGeraud says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:20pm

    Amazing game...
    I wish I could put in my games as much emotion as you put in yours.

    PsenFilip says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    Overall the game is fine but one of the core part of the gameplay (the jump) often behaves in a weird way. I can't seem to grasp how much it is a problem on the jump control itself or on platforms friction. It just feels incorrect sometimes, leading to frustration.

    I liked the sounds and the game theme is interesting (stopped playing after the first blue level - waterfalls).

    karlin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:27pm

    This is superb, certainly in the top 5 games I've played so far.

    May 3, 2013 @ 1:49am

    Solid platformer with a unique angle.

    Husky says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:01am

    The music is really awesome!!
    Good job!:D

    avalonknight says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:05am

    I enjoyed it, and really like how it starts out as a simple platformer, then each bit of control was stripped away. The last part, while tough to judge where you're jumping, is really creative.

    Ragzouken says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:57am

    The art style works really well, though I felt the torches seem to stick out. Trying to work out why your jumps fail when you are invisible is REALLY frustrating :p

    mrexcessive says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    Nice levels. Sensible approach to death. Very playable platformer

    Pixelulsar says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Nice game, I really liked the graphics and it was fun to play.

    mungoman1 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:24pm

    This is FANTASTIC! It's really just that good! I LOVED it.

    Zccc says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    This was amazing, I loved it! Perfect game!
    I tried the compo version, so I had a bit trouble making through it (lag, bad colisions) but it was worth it!

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    It looks like a commercial game, amazing job. Maybe the difficulty is too hard for the beginning but it's okay.

    Porpentine says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:20am

    waterfalls are unintuitive--great idea though

    Jeremias says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:47am

    Nice take on the theme (minimalism => minimalizing the gameplay). Graphics, music and sound effects fit very well. The non-post-compo game is really hard and sometimes the controls don't feel good, especially whil colliding with a platform where you want to jump on. Why not adding a skip button for entering the next level (for your next ludum dare entry...)?

    BrothersT says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:29am

    Nice game. A little easy but really well made. It was good how you laid out the level to show people what can hurt you and what can't - mainly by making jumps that are too long so you have to just go for it :) I didn't feel the character design fitted a bad guy. Couldn't really imagine him as an adult even. Looked like Casper the friendly ghost.
    Nice art!

    May 5, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    Amazing game. First track reminds me Michael Jackson's "Earth song" :)

    henrykun says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:53pm

    Nice game! it seems you worked hard :)

    alcazar says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Your game is just Amasing with a little big surprise at the end
    I loved it...

    Jorjon says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:17pm

    Wow what a story! Best 2D platformer of this LD.

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 5:51am

    Cute game!! I love the graphics style, and the mood is just amazing. I really enjoyed playing it too, the level designs were smart.

    lasergans says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 9:38am

    Amazing game! Plays smooth, you can feel with the character and the art is great :)

    HD408 says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 2:04pm

    Liked the game flow, and how you reused your water level mechanics from... some your previous game, I don't remember the name. But its character is right in your avatar. All in all, quite good.

    pereubu says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 7:34pm

    nice concept. I liked to play it except for one little thing I found irritating, it's because jumping gets hard when it comes to avoid higher obstacles. It kinda breaks a good flow.

    I also found the idea with the waterfalls changing their opacity great. There's a lot of little mechanics that make the player play all along.

    Great job :D

    Roupette says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    A good experience, ambiance and story ! But... my hands have disappeared, I lost my ability to play :p.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]