Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 5 hours, 16 minutes, 1 second
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tune Locks - Phased - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    IF the music is to distracting you are able to mute the background music, If you go into options, just press the music button, and it should immediately stop. Press again and it will restart.

    Use O and P to change levels, some later on levels are easier then previous levels, had to push out more levels before uploading!

    Controlls:
    A, D and Space for jetpack.
    OR
    Left Arrow, and Right arrow, with Up arrow as jetpack

    When in game, Escape will take you back to the main menu
    O will be the previous level
    P will be the next level
    Enter will reset the level

    The game will save after every level load, so If you want to play later and continue off from where you left it, you can!

    The music can be turned off in options, but not the SFX.

    The game begins at a very easy level, designed to teach you, so if you want to learn it as you go, do not read how to play!

    Made in Java with LWJGL, not sure if Linux or Mac version works, let me know :) The mac and Linux files are bigger in-case they don't work, there's a second way to launch it.

    How to Play!

    Each purple tile has a tune to it, and so does every door (brown tile).

    You must find the same tune purple tile as the door.

    More difficult levels may have 2 tune tiles, BUT you only need to press one of them.

    The tunes are randomly set to a purple tile each reload of the same level (but the purple tiles stay in the same place) but is coded to make sure the Tune Tile and the Door Tile have the exact same tune, the Key tune will not be generated on the non key Tune Tiles.

    The door is only unlocked once the Tune is pressed, and if the door hears a different Tune, it will be immediately locked.

    View Phased's journal. | View all entries by Phased

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #359Innovation3.38
    #439Audio2.89
    #778Humor1.94
    #908Fun2.60
    #954Overall2.79
    #990Mood2.42
    #1135Theme2.83
    #1210Graphics2.11

    Comments

    FuzzyWuzzie says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

    Cool concept! Though I must say, it was rather difficult for me to pick out the notes properly!

    Rose says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

    I think this is really interesting idea! But after a few of the more difficult levels I got a bit bored of just getting to the right tile and back. You could try expanding this to include puzzles, like maybe you can turn off certain purple tiles that you have to step on, or there's some way to shift all the purple tiles, or something! I think you have a great start though, and good work for 48 hours.

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

    Kind of a cool idea. I'm really not very good at this. I made it as far as the screen in your main screenshot, and it's a miracle I made it that far.

    Just so yo know, I used your Linux package, and I would recommend tgz instead of rar. Also the .sh was not set to executable, and it didn't run because it has Windows line endings.

    JoeDev_net says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

    Good job and neat concept, but it took me a while to figure out what was actually going on. Also some of the levels were tedious and required me to backtrack 10-15 seconds and by then it's hard to remember the exact sound.

    It seems like it would be nice, if when a level started it would play the door sound so perhaps you could find it on your way to the door. The way it is now, I feel like I am wasting time traveling to the door, just to have to backtrack.

    Good Job!

    Waave says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

    I agree, this is a neat idea but it's tedious traversing the room before knowing what sound to listen for. Also, the background music's a little distracting.

    Phased says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

    @Waave, You are able to mute the background music, If you go into options, just press the music button, and it should immediately stop. Press again and it will restart.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

    The concept of wanting to touch the purple and then wanting to avoid it at all costs is really cool, a nice subtle mode switch. It was a little frustrating to touch the door, then go out across a big map and forget what it sounded like.

    Tahooey says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

    Grear game with an awesome concept, difficult gameplay making it cooler

    kyyninen says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

    Doesn't run for me, sorry :( Java starts and crashes instantly.

    Drabiter says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

    Great concept. +1 for using jetpack instead normal jump.

    Phased says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

    @kyyninen at the chances you decide to look at this again, what OS, and are you able to get a stack trace? and try fully extracting the entire zip file if you havnt.

    triforcespark says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

    Good game idea, but add more puzzle elements, or else the game would become linear, solely relying with good ears and memory.
    Textures would be nicer if they had less detail (thus fitting the theme) and the sounds would be nice if they were clearer.
    Each stage tends to require patience, rather than intelligence, to be solved.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    Sadly I can't even start it (Win XP). Tried it per "run.bat" and "TuneLocks.jar" as well. :(

    Ninjaxio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    This is certainly a great concept, though it was kinda difficult!

    mibbio says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Got crash at start with
    Exception in thread "Thread-0" java.util.InputMismatchException
    at java.util.Scanner.throwFor(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.Scanner.next(Unknown Source)
    at java.util.Scanner.nextFloat(Unknown Source)
    at ld26.phased.util.Settings.load(Settings.java:26)
    at ld26.phased.Game.init(Game.java:89)
    at ld26.phased.Game.run(Game.java:49)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    OS is Windows 7 x64 with Java 1.7.0_21 (64bit)

    jmf says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Very innovative game. Lots of levels to play through. Game was obvious enough to pick up without reading your instructions.

    aeveis says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    Finding the right note is interesting, but the back tracking makes it more boring. There was some interesting level design, like how you had to be careful not to touch purple blocks. Maybe if it focused more on avoiding the purple blocks to make it more puzzle-like instead of focusing on trying to find the right note first. As in make it easier to figure out the right note, but the hard part is getting back to the orange block. (Maybe just have player start at orange block to reducing walking around?)

    Phased says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:08am

    @aeveis I'm actually going to continue it most likely, and when I get to it, level design will have the player near the door, with more puzzle features.

    Phased says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:11am

    @Mibbio Did you change the Settings file? If so, you may of put something there that the game did not like, I think I will release a update soon to prevent a crash, just disable the settings and have preset values for backup. If you did not change the Settings file, your file may of corrupted? because the scanner is only used when loading the settings file.

    mibbio says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:37am

    Found the reason why it can't read the settings data. It's the way the scanner reads (decimal-)numbers.
    See: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/api/java/util/Scanner.html#localized-numbers
    By default the scanner uses the locale reported by the OS and as my OS is set to german (usage of '.' and ',' switched) the scanner expects '1,0' as a decimal number.
    Just add 'scanner.useLocale(Locale.US);' or any other preferred locale directly after creating the scanner and it shouldn't care for the OS locale anymore.

    Phased says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:26am

    @mibbio thanks :) I did not know of that! I shall push a bug fix update later, but I can't at the moment :(

    intripoon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:16pm

    Doesn't work for me. Just openes and immediately closes again. :(

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:05pm

    I could do it but only by whistling the door note. It's a good idea and I haven't played a game quite like it, though the jetpack physics detracted a bit. I think it would have been better with fewer levels but some kind of winning condition; I beat all the levels but then it just wrapped around?

    geckojsc says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 5:42pm

    Very cool idea! It got a bit tiring after the first 10 levels or so, but I played the whole way through. When I started playing, I thought it would turn into a memory game where you have to remember whole sequences of notes, which could have been quite cool.

    The background music was really quiet for me, I played though the whole game without even knowing it was there! (there's a lot of traffic outside my house, and the notes were at a suitable level). I gave it a listen afterwards and it was pretty nice. Well done!

    Phased says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 7:23am

    @geckojsc, During a bugfix, I did, I turned the volume down, as alot of people said it was to loud XD

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 7:48am

    Reminded me of the old Jetpack games at first which were amazingly enjoyable and the cute and simple graphics work well.

    Love the LD26 map! Very fun and clever :)

    alts says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:04am

    I really like the idea of matching audio cues to progress, and even the platformer mechanics wrapping it. I found process of deducing the right tone to be frustrating though. It had less to do with backtracking, and more to do with the process of manually searching. It's akin to playing the card game Memory (which I'd argue is a negative). I'm sure there are ways to present this mechanic where it can fully be explored. I just don't think this is it.

    dalbinblue says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Interesting idea, but the game-play stagnated too quickly. After about 10 levels or so the same started to fall play. As other stated some variation in the game play would have helped.

    f7f5 says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 5:21pm

    I ran into the same problem as mibbio

    gerritg says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    f7f5: Just goto res/Settings.txt and change 1.0725 to 1,0725
    Save and enjoy :)
    Nice entry by the way, but the controls need finetuning since it's hard to get exactly between two blocks.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]