Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 11 hours, 17 minutes, 48 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Darwinian Monsters - uprightpath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ORANGE SCREEN EFFECT HAPPENS WHEN THE ORIGINAL VERSION IS RESIZED! DO NOT DO IT! THE FIXED VERSION HAS A GRAPHICS CHANGE TO MAKE RESIZING HOPEFULLY UNNEEDED AS WELL AS A FIX THAT WILL PREVENT THE CRASH THAT WAS HAPPENING BEFORE. NOTE THAT RESIZING WILL NOT CAUSE A ZOOM ANY MORE.





    Creator: Upright Path
    Name: Darwinian Monsters
    Competition: Ludum Dare 26

    Explanation
    You're working on a Darwinian experiment in which you have monsters you've bred are pitted against each other in an underground arena. However, you miscalculated and your monsters turned out stupider than you intended. They have no memories, no notion of what a door is, and can only see what's directly in front of them, and whether there's an opening to either side. As such, to complete your experiement, you must help guide the monsters towards each other, so that they can combat each other and show which breed is best!

    Gameplay
    The game is a 'Turn Based' puzzle. During each time step, the monsters will decide what to do, then attempt to perform that action. Monsters can perform four actions with these priorities: Fight (If there is a monster directly in front of it), Devour (If there a corpse directly in front of it, which returns a portion of life), Move (Straight forward if the space is open), and Turn (Randomly left or right, or towards only open door to the left or right). Fight interrupts any other actions by the combatants (Meaning if a monster wanted to move forward, but another fights it, it stops).Faster monsters will perform their actions first, and their move actions can interrupt the move actions of other monsters. Once all monsters have performed their actions, been interrupted or died, then the next time step ca begin. Injured monsters have their damage/speed lowered in proportion to their health percentage.
    The game goal is to have only one creature of the creatures on the right side be alive at the end. The game is lost when all creatures of that type are dead.
    Monsters:
    Green: High health, average damage and speed.
    Red: Average health, high damage and low speed.
    Blue: Average health, average damage and high speed.
    Rock-Paper-Scissor: Blue -> Red -> Green -> Blue
    UI:
    Play/Pause (Toggle)- Performs a single time step (Repeats while Infinity is toggled)/Allows the operation of the levers.
    1/Infinity (Toggle)- Pauses the game after the current time step finishes/Continues to perform time steps until pause is pressed.
    Levers: The three levers control whether doors (By same color) are open during the next time step. These cannot be used while the game is playing.
    Clock: While the dot is in the center, the game is no longer performing actions. While it is rotation actions are being performed.

    Issues
    The puzzles are randomly generated. This can result in games which cannot be completed (Either won/lost), this is due to not having a check for whether the map is contiguous. Further, there is no way to end the game prematurely which means that these situations require a restart.
    For the purposes of win/loss considerations a monster is only considered dead when it's life is at 0 and it's been devoured.
    Rock-Paper-Scissor mechanic may result in incorrect values (The result of the computation of for what the RPS difference is can result in a negative number, which will provide the wrong damage multiplier).
    Fights happen automatically, meaning that you cannot see the progression of damage.

    View uprightpath's journal. | View all entries by uprightpath

    Ratings

    #224Innovation3.57
    #1022Theme3.00
    #1032Fun2.43
    #1056Overall2.67
    #1194Graphics2.14
    #1659Coolness33%

    Comments

    Kinzata says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

    Interesting idea. There are a lot of things you could do with this! :)

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

    Thank you! I'm planning on expanding on it a bit, since it's something I can actually do something with. Hah.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

    Windows? Change it to 'Download' or others may not even download this..

    Drabiter says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

    Like the idea. But after couple of minutes playing the window got fully covered by orange color and nothing happened.

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    @Sri Harsha Chilakapati: I'll go ahead and do that. It SHOULD run on most any OS since it's a cross platform build (So I guess I should).
    @Drabiter: That's a generation issue. I'm unsure whether adding a button to rebuild the level would be a 'bug fix' at this point. It just makes it more playable.

    @SamPotasz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

    I agree with Kinzata, it's definitely an interesting idea! As a player, I want a some more visual feedback as to what's causing what so I can better anticipate and plan moves.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    I also get the orange screen after about 15 seconds of actual play.

    The sliders also seemed to stop responding after I changed them a few times in a row.

    Cool concept, but it definitely needs some sort of in-game tutorial and a bit more of an intuitive interface. If you fix the orange screen, I will rate it.

    jlm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

    I had fun playing it. It would be nice if it was easier to see what was going on. Making time progression and turn distinction easier to see would have helped me get into it more.

    A good, fun game though.

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

    I THINK that the issue with the orange screen is one of two problems: 1) The random generator is spitting out a 5x5 map that has nothing on it (Which it shouldn't since it shouldn't be outputting a map which automatically meets the loss/win condition. 2) That there's an issue with it forgetting how to update/getting a screen that shouldn't be available there.

    If anyone who has this happen can run it through the run.bat and give me any print outs from it or a screen shot of the event, I'd appreciate it.

    mortl8324 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

    Didn't rate, the game is unplayable for me. The moment I press play, the screen turns orange.

    Meep says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

    I really love the idea behind this! Pretty fun and has lots of potential. :) Great work!

    ashdnazg says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    Quite complicated but very interesting!

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    For those who didn't read the note at the top, the Original download link will BREAK (Have the Orange screen issue mentioned) if you resize/maximize the game. The second link fixes this, but does not scale up the graphics, to make it easier to play/view I made some minor graphics changes (Changing the orange/brown to black, making the door locations/colors easier to discern when open, etc.).

    Jyrkface says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:07am

    Very cool idea! I love the puzzles, though I feel they might be a bit too clever for me :P

    dertom says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Puh, that is a hard one :D! Nice concept,...good job

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]