Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 13 hours, 37 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Three Tiles - PaidGEEK - Jam Entry

    Here it is! My first LD game!

    The goal is to keep balance of your energy till the end or die.

    Controls: arrow keys or wasd.

    Tools used:
    - LWJGL: http://www.lwjgl.org/
    - Slick2D: http://www.slick2d.org/
    - JOrbis: http://www.jcraft.com/jorbis/
    - Paint.NET
    - Music: http://ericskiff.com/music/
    - sfxr

    View PaidGEEK's journal. | View all entries by PaidGEEK

    Ratings

    #66Innovation(Jam)3.68
    #167Fun(Jam)3.17
    #168Audio(Jam)3.27
    #174Overall(Jam)3.37
    #242Graphics(Jam)3.32
    #289Theme(Jam)3.21
    #1720Coolness30%

    Comments

    theomnis says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Interesting concept! I think it needs a bit more work to make it more fun, but I totally enjoyed it.

    uprightpath says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

    Thus far, I've liked it more than any of the others I've played (Not that I've played many). It would be nice to be able to shoot back, hah.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

    I found this game very tough - couldn't really tell when I was in a state where green would heal me vs a state when green would hurt me. I think the blocks pull to strongly on you - difficult to get away in time get over 95% energy.

    shotiris says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

    Awesome! I got shot at and was all like "what the fucking shit!" pardon my french...

    tompudding says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

    The music and graphics work together really well, but I think it's a bit too hard

    hirsch says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    It doesn't run on my Linux x86 machine :/
    A black loading window opens and nothing happens anymore.

    http://pastebin.com/embed_iframe.php?i=2bzAs2nc

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:40pm

    When I try to start it (Windows XP, 32bit), following message turns up:

    "ERROR
    VERTEX_SHADER compile log:
    ERROR: 0:1: " : Version number not supported by GL2"

    :( Maybe there's a fix for that?

    PaidGEEK says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

    @SuperlevelSebastian The problem should be roughly fixed now.

    Jiddo says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    Really interesting idea. It was challenging and at the same time there were numerous techniques for you to discover in order to stand a better chance. I also appreciated the really huge amount of levels. Not many LD entries can do that!

    Everything about this game felt thought through and polished. The menu was nice, the gameplay worked well, the controls were good and the levels were well designed and varied.

    It's also great to see another fellow Java (and Slick2D) game out there.

    Thanks for providing a convenient and self contained runnable JAR file! That's the way to go! :)

    Great work!

    jontturi says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 1:56pm

    This was really cool.

    bvanschooten says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

    Innovative game, but very hard. The game looks polished and complete. I like the sound and music.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]