Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 3 hours, 29 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Sisyphus - Wan & Manu - Jam Entry

    SISYPHUS AND THE CURSED DIAMONDS
    made in France, by Manu & Wan
    ________________________________

    This platformer is about heroes, greed and repentance... and most of all, it's about wondering: Who is the villain, you or you?

    ________________________________

    * CONTROLS : You'll figure them out... Except ENTER, that you can hold to skip cutscenes.
    * KNOWN ISSUES : Selecting traps sometimes fails. It also has a few glitches, otherwise it should work as intended.
    * TECH : Made in HTML5 with CraftyJS and some other cool libraries.

    View Wan & Manu's journal. | View all entries by Wan & Manu

    Ratings

    Innovation(Jam)4.27
    Coolness61%
    #46Overall(Jam)3.64
    #48Fun(Jam)3.44
    #57Audio(Jam)3.46
    #84Theme(Jam)3.66
    #89Mood(Jam)3.22
    #142Humor(Jam)2.71
    #186Graphics(Jam)3.06

    Comments

    sanojian says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Awesome idea. I had a hard time placing the traps. I guess you have to click the ground below where they will be? Jumping was a bit awkward. Overall very good!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:28am

    awesome idea!! Should have a retry button

    Elisée says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Very nice concept! The execution is a bit glitchy (switching between items by clicking on them sometimes doesn't work, even though it's time critical) but overall I enjoyed playing it :)

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:54am

    this was definitely a cool idea, even if a little rough. i think this is one idea that should be taken farther outside of this jam

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Very fun concept and nicely executed. Gz

    jujule says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Quite brilliant really. I love the dilemma the game induces. The name is perfectly chosen too.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Great game! Really great use of a simple mechanic and an inventive take on the theme.
    I love the music even if it did get a bit repetitive.
    The changing traps can be a touch clumsy but thats the only thing I could fault.
    Awesome job.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    put traps on your previous way is already nice. but rebeat the level agin is more nice. i always place traps and i cannot find way in the next try.. very good idea.

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    pretty clever game!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:21pm

    Highly innovative game, great fun to play too! Hope to see this game idea taken futher than this build.

    Maple says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Absolutely brilliant idea, well executed and really does force you to choose how you act. As far as the game goes, the platforming element of it is smooth, but with the trap mode, the buttons and placing of traps felt unresponsive.

    Music was fine (if a bit repetative), graphics were good. Overall it was great, and especially innovative with the basic mechanic.

    ~Spaceoff

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    I think this could be interesting if there was a multiplayer mode where one player is the good guy and the other is setting traps and they take it in turns. =)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:04am

    While the graphics were above average, everything else about this was beautiful. The concept and the contortions you took on this theme were really wonderful! I like how I had to stop and consider whether my trap patterns would be too deadly for me to ever make it back out of the dungeon on subsequent playthroughs.

    This idea really speaks to me, being a recursive frog and all. ;)

    Per says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:27pm

    This was a really great game.
    It is a joy to experience true innovation when it comes to new game ideas.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    Wonderful concept that's well executed. The buggy collision and trap-switching is rather distracting, and 10 levels on the third world seems a bit much as far as patience goes, but otherwise a great entry!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Very interesting gameplay mechanic and take of the theme. I didn't play through all the levels because I get angry xD I mean... normally I can flame the game designer for bad trap placement and unfair levels. But setting the traps by myself is so frustrating :D

    Sometimes the moving feels very glitchy and I ran into traps without my faults (as you mentioned and others mentioned here).

    Very good job anyway!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    That was a very interesting and unique idea! I liked that you made it so that each trap would hit the hero only once, to avoid some simple abuses, like walking back and forth. Still, there was plenty of space for player abuse :-)

    The game could use some sound effects!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    nice entry, but too buggy to play it.

    Vladp995 says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:42pm

    Loading sounds... forever...

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    Good job! nice idea, I spent a nice time playing it :)

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    very very cool! You guys are brilliant

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    This is VERY clever, the player really HAS to make things difficult and be his own villain! I was very surprised to curse myself for an unavoidable carpet of spikes!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Hehe clever. Sometime the trap selection doesnt work which make the game very frustrating. Anyway the sequence recording mechanic is great. With some experience you can game the system by making some dumb run, like waiting for 1-2s in front of a wall or under a low roof. Maybe by speeding up the "running pillar of death" on level3-4, you could avoid that.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    Great concept! I Love graphics and how you accomplished it.

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Excellent idea !

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:49am

    Interesting idea.

    raarlac says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    my only complains are about the hitbox, but it doesn't affect the score at all, this game is awesome

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]