Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 22 hours, 22 minutes, 48 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 22 hours, 22 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Home Massacre - aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A monster comes across a quiet ranch in the night...

    The game is very short, maybe <5 mins or so. I hope you like it! For most part I was focusing on the overall feel and mood of the game so I hope I was able to do something there!

    [EDIT] added edited build
    - todo rethink design for more triangularity [in progress]
    - todo add more level progression [in progress] w/ more types of people
    - todo redo/iterate some sounds [in progress]
    - todo redo art [in progress]
    - 01/08 updated sheep sprite
    - 01/08 fixing/tweaked pathing
    - 01/07 updated some effects and music
    - 01/06 tweaking mechanics...
    - 01/03 tweaks and destructable fences/crates
    - 01/03 separated out a tutorial map
    - 12/30 tweaks and redone player sprite
    - 12/24 added particle trail
    - 12/24 added more contrast to color palette
    - 12/23 added text
    - 12/17 better/tweaked pathing of sheep and guy
    - 12/17 slowed down bite animation

    Programs used:
    Flash Develop
    Flixel
    Flan
    Gimp
    Open MPT

    View aeveis's journal. | View all entries by aeveis

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #41Graphics4.12
    #71Audio3.38
    #89Mood3.40
    #122Theme3.76
    #298Overall3.12
    #346Fun2.88
    #453Humor2.26
    #671Innovation2.19

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51am

    Great artwork & sound. I would have brightened the palette a bit, it ended up seeming a bit dark & flat.

    Diventurer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02am

    Cries were heard throughout the night, then silence. ;'(
    Sad...sad..
    The game looks nice, and I got really hungry while playing it. :)

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35am

    Sheeeeeeeeeeeps :p AMAZING sprite art works by the way! No idea how you can do that in just a dozen of hours.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Really nice graphics and music. You definitely nailed the mood, too. Yes, it's very short but it's to the point.

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:46am

    Gorgeous graphics, and I noted that the character sprite changed subtly depending on whether they were facing 'up' or 'down' - That's polish! Also, the graphics complimented the mood.

    My only complaints are that music was a little repetitive and and the AI tended to wig out I started killing. That aside, job well done!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Awesome pixel art! BTW I think 'Web' is a better link name than 'Dropbox' because you can put anything in Dropbox.

    AaronYip says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01am

    Wowzers, fantastic atmosphere.

    svenardo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

    Good mood, very short. The animations look good but the mouth of the beast is a litte crazy fast. Entertaining slaugther game. Would play again if it had more levels.

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

    Thanks for the feedback and comments everyone! I've made a post-compo version as a result though it mostly still plays the same.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    A little too short, but still pretty fun. Loving the art, and the sheep with their tendency to spaz out :)

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Just a little too short and not very challenging, but I loved the graphics and the sound effects! The "X" prompts were a cool touch :D

    henrypenface says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:09am

    Loved the artwork!

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:55am

    The gameplay is a bit lacking but the art, music, overall feel is great.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Great pixel art, bravo!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    This game gave me a really big smile. Whilst it's not really a game as such it is really fun.

    The graphics and animations are the best I've seen in the competition - bar none.

    The audio is great too. The controls are a bit floaty but that's really a nit-pick.

    The only problem is that it's too short!

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23am

    Beautiful art, very fluid gameplay, well done. The sheep acted a bit strange at time, but then again, they are being eaten.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38am

    I love this, really I love this. After hit "x" to bite some goats, I can see how amazing of blooding animation. Like that shot the most.

    To be honest, at first I think we will burn them :)

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06am

    Nice playing and like the graphics artwork. Great music. Only the color palette is a bit low.

    zompi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Wow, that was brutal. I love the artwork looks neat. Mmm... meat.

    ratking says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Amazing pixel art, especially the beast's animations. Colors could be a bit better. Wish there was more and more interesting stuff to do. Which just means, I had fun with the game and would like to have it expanded. :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:42am

    I definitely see what you mean by concentrating on the feel of the game. The dragon-like character looks menacing and had a really nasty bite, I almost felt bad for the sheep but then remembered the theme! I thought the music was well done too. Although I agree with other comments that the color palate should be brightened.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:17am

    Great start. It would have been nice to have an objective, but the movement was smooth. I can't play it for long because my tendonitis doesn't enjoy button mashing.

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:21pm

    I really liked the sprites and animations, but the game lacked any kind of challenge.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    A game with no difficulty? Okay.
    Poor sheep :(

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    A cute little game ! I had fun and would like to have more levels ;) The animation of the hound is excellent ! Good work !

    Slushy says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:54pm

    the main sprite is fantastic! :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]