Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 40 minutes, 56 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 40 minutes, 57 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    ANONHACK.EXE - BarrensZeppelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    I HAVE RESOLVED ANY ISSUES REGARDING THE COLLISION DETECTION.
    I have also included a version with vsync enabled if that is your preference.

    You are a computer hacker and you hack n00btards!
    To hack a computer, you simply have to select which one to target, and send in your hacker cloud to deal with the CENTRAL PRECESSING UNIT.
    Beware of electricity, your cloud is made of MEGATRONS and can't handle the tickling of negatrons.

    NOTE: The game has no tolerance for cheaters, and thus if you are found outside the MAINFRAME, the hacking utility will automatically close!

    (The levels serve as a proof of concept, and could be expanded upon)

    @BarrensZeppelin at GitHub and Twitter ;)


    If you want to add and mock about with your own levels, try adding 3-0.txt, 3-1.txt, 4-0.txt etc. to the levels folder. Refer to the other levels for a guide, and keep in mind that you should never place the player directly beside or above/below a wall block.

    View BarrensZeppelin's journal. | View all entries by BarrensZeppelin

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #209Innovation3.20
    #372Fun2.83
    #441Overall2.83
    #460Audio2.13
    #550Graphics2.43
    #565Humor1.96
    #630Theme2.50
    #648Mood2.18

    Comments

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29am

    Teleport mechanic is cool.

    myachin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

    doesnt work on my videocard(

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Fun platformer and great teleporting mechanic! Challanging which is fun! Maybe add some checkpoints on the big levels or make the early ones slightly easier. Was a bit hard to feel precision in the jumps, and would be good to be able to let go of jump for a smaller jump to avoid electricity ceeling. Got some kind of crash on the tutorial level too when I teleported by some wall.

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Kinda impossible to play with collision problems that bad. A great additions would be checkpoints. The animations on the character were something, but the game in general is not particular good to play. It also crashed on me a lot as the collision resolution threw me out of the level ^^;

    I would have loved to have seen how the game would have developed.

    karsyf says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40am

    You should shout about that mechanic more!
    Everyone else who plays this game, don't give up, press the space key. This is actually a really fun prototype. I got the idea of "turn based platformer" when I played this.

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42am

    The teleporting is interesting way to build platformer puzzles around. Checkpoints would be really helpful though (you touch a object so you respawn there).

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Does anyone know if I am allowed to fix the bugs regarding collision detection at medium-low framerates after the compo has ended?

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    A cool concept, but I miss save points :(

    (Btw, I don't think you can, because is not a game-breaking bug :( )

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    The teleporting thing is really cool, and I like the way the character moves fastly and jumps really high. But even Level 1 is frustrating, I did'nt have enough motivation to complete it. Some checkpoints would be great. Also, when I jump and hit on the ceiling, it's really buggy: my character ends up in strange places or the game crashes. But nice work!

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    I agree with most people, the teleport mechanic makes this quite fun and challenging to play, the collision problems are not that bad, I'm sure it's something like "if player touches block, and was not teleporting there, get him to the top of the block, since he must have landed on it." which makes it crash when it pulls you to y position -1.
    Does not matter, clearly, the player have a weak head and dies (badly) when he hits his head on the ceiling, it's part of the gameplay ;)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    If you go to the first blob thing, it makes a CPU explode a lot then throws you back to the main menu? Weird. Also I teleported outside the map once and the game crashed.

    Other than that, the main mechanic was good and interesting. Had no idea how to play other levels than the tutorial though.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Can't play windows games. :-(

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Played through it all without any problems. And I believe you are allowed to fix any game breaking bugs. :)
    The jumping was a little too floaty for my liking, but the teleporting mechanic was pretty sweet. I'd have liked a way to skip that little intro animation of zooming in on your character, as after dying a fair few times, I wanted to get straight back into it, but couldn't due to the animation. Overall though, a pretty good game. Congrats. :D

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    I really liked the teleport mechanic. As jmars said, a checkpoint system would have kept me from ragequitting after several failed attempts :P. Also, the game crashed when I bumped into a wall unfortunately.. :/

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    Teleport feature is cool, although it's a bit too easy to end up where you can't help but teleport into a wall sometimes.

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    The mechanic is really nice, a little refinement and I could see where this is going. Well done :) it was actually surprisingly atmospheric too.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    I found the jumping a little floaty, fun anyway!

    delpes says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Love that teleporting thing. Good job

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:34am

    i liked the graphics style a lot. the teleport mechanic is also pretty interesting but i had a hard time not accidentally teleporting myself into the wall, so i definitely think it could be tweaked some more.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Teleporting mechanic was pretty nice, but there's not much of a learning curve. Game is pretty hard from the start.

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Teleporting is good really nice game! Very nice mechanic!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Your game turned out quite well too Darkfrost, if I should say so myself ;)

    @Everyone Else, I totally recognize the learning curve problems, and level 1-0 definitely shouldn't be the first level to encounter after the tutorial level. But rushed content is rushed content ;/

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:42am

    The teleport mechanic is definitely the highlight and works well. Kinda hard to jump between platforms though. Also the audio has that nice Atari feel to it. Good stuff!

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:58am

    Super floaty controls. I wish there was more ground friction.

    StMatn says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:50am

    Cool idea! The teleporting-feature is really great. Those passages where you had to constantly teleport or teleport to a one tile big gap were a bit annoying, but generally its a very nice game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]