Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 5 hours, 30 minutes, 20 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bad Ufo - dsoft20 - Jam Entry

    This is a simple arcade high-score game, you as a bad ufo, and you have to destroy the crop-field, kidnap cows, and destroy enemy vehicles.

    The score determines the bonus, or malus, every 1000 points a new enemy vehicles pop-out, at around 5000 points a new cow is created.

    Kidnapping cows get you some cow juice, with cow juice you can erase a bigger crop-field area, and with 50% cow juice you can destroy enemy vehicles, both of these action consumes cow juice.

    Try to get the highscore while avoiding enemy missiles, if you get hit three times you are out :(

    Windows/Web/Linux/Osx
    Arrow Keys -> move the UFO
    Z-> Destroy crop, kidnap cows and destroy enemy vehicles

    Android
    Touch left part of the screen:
    Move the ufo

    Touch right part of the screen:
    Toggle Destroy Crop/Kidnap cow/Destroy enemy vehicles

    Linux & OSX version are not tested, I've built it with unity, so they should work, but I cannot guarantee that works as expected.

    View dsoft20's journal. | View all entries by dsoft20

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #75Humor(Jam)3.16
    #79Audio(Jam)3.34
    #131Mood(Jam)2.98
    #136Fun(Jam)2.98
    #148Theme(Jam)3.37
    #155Innovation(Jam)2.92
    #161Overall(Jam)3.02
    #209Graphics(Jam)2.92

    Comments

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:50am

    Some good work for only have a few days to out put something! Nice job!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    Cool! Love the art and the sound of the cows. Game gets a bit easy, and I ran out of cows so I couldn't destroy the enemy vehicles. Would be cool if I could turn their missiles against them.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    ahah I loved to grab the cows...

    Good job :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Nice music and field-drawing mechanic!

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Lol! Good work... need the cows to re-spawn though!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Hehe, loved then the cow chases me in the air :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Awesome choice of music!

    celsyum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    quite good

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50am

    The fantastic sound of the cow when it is lifted from the ground, I laughed like a fool! Good idea to create Crop Circle :-)

    Ardale says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29am

    Funny and enjoyable, with good music! But sound of the cow is out of sync! Why can't I enjoy this sound like others?? XD

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Hilariously enjoyable. Nice take on the theme.

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Finally! A game with UFOs and cows! But I couldn't set them on fire ¬¬

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Loved the music.

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    I gave the Android version a try on Galaxy S3, worked great (although the UI is pretty tiny, I had the same problem with my game on that phone) The crop circle drawing is great, I wish the android controls were a bit tighter so that I could actually draw stuff! Music was great too :)

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    Cool music, interesting game.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    fun! nice experience

    RobKat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    great music, is set the tone of the game and love the cows! very funny

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    Quite an interesting game. I liked the concept a lot and it was pretty good fun to play. Unfortunately I used up all my cow juice early on and got shot down.

    I love the graphics and I kinda like that the explosion almost becomes a balloon and flies away.

    ahm99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    That was fun! Music was pretty good. My only complaint is that the cows don't see to respawn :( Good game, and good job :)

    atraxgames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:57pm

    Very fun and enjoyable!

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Great humor with the cow juice; I always wondered why aliens wanted cows so much.

    I also like that the best strategy seems to be making crop circles :P.

    It seems a little hard to keep your cow juice levels up if you actually bother to kill vehicles... I guess there's a bit of a balancing strategy there. Overall you just gradually accumulate a massive flock of missiles chasing you, so I'm not sure how much killing vehicles actually matters...

    Indicators for whether or not you have enough cow juice to do stuff would be good, but this is pretty fun! Nice work :).

    voidstar69 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:27pm

    I tried the Android version on my Galaxy S3. I worked quite well, although I could not figure out how to destroy any vehicles. Good work!
    Update: I've just tried the Web version in Google Chrome. Chrome blocks it by default. If you change the 'https' to 'http' then Chrome does not block it. The web version is even better than the Android version. :-)

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    prettyy fun ^^

    Capro says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    Nice sandbox. I love drawing in the wheat with my laser. :)

    raincole says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    The music is excellent. I hope to play it again when it's polished!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    Very fun. But hard to make beautiful crop circles with such inertia.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    5270! It would have been a lot better if there was a way to replenish cows. Maybe a cloning machine or just via reproduction, but I had fun regardless.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Fun to draw patterns to the field. Good job!

    dray says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    Cool game! I played the android version and the ui is very small. Controls would be better with onscreen buttons. Really like it:)

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:34am

    Looks nice. Nice application of a witty idea. I always knew cows had more uses than we knew!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]