Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 3 hours, 29 minutes, 0 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Execution Chamber (Now a Jam entry) - Aslai - Jam Entry

    Use the mouse to aim the shotgun and fire. Pull the plunger back and release it to send your targets flying! Juggle body parts for a higher score!

    View Aslai's journal. | View all entries by Aslai

    Ratings

    Coolness95%
    #12Humor(Jam)3.88
    #32Theme(Jam)3.96
    #54Fun(Jam)3.42
    #80Audio(Jam)3.33
    #92Innovation(Jam)3.23
    #96Overall(Jam)3.35
    #107Mood(Jam)3.09
    #176Graphics(Jam)3.12
    #187Humor3.07
    #284Fun3.00
    #300Theme3.35
    #350Mood2.79
    #387Overall2.94
    #426Innovation2.71
    #439Graphics2.76

    Comments

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56am

    I actually had fun just seeing how much that pit can take :) Now if it can import Mii's and XBox Live Avatars!

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45am

    Haha, this put a big smile on my face, clever! :D

    peggiosoft says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19am

    this is a perfect anti-stress, love it.

    we're part of a bad childhood conditioned by mortal kombat.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33am

    This was funny, I enjoyed playing it, too bad you couldn't get the sound in on time.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

    In one word: LOL! :)

    ilo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    A very villainous toy. :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    Nice game, although I wish the "pull" switch were connected to a wii mote. I think I might even mod the code for wii mote input hahaha

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    Good job on the random characters !

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35am

    Thanks for all the feedback everyone! I made this toy in lieu of what I had been working on due to my lack of planning, and I ran out of time... This morning I decided to change it to a Jam though, and got a bunch more time to turn it from a toy in to a game. The old version's still available, but the new version has some more interactivity :) Enjoy!

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:28am

    would've liked some kind of feedback on the gun, but nice concept :D

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Deliciously evil!

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:41pm

    So much blood ^^. Great game for this Theme ;)

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    Great game but i broke it :P when draining you can just hold space and shot the remains racked up some nice points :P 616 jugle :D Really enjoy'd it good job!

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    oh man this was WAY more fun than it ought to have been.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:17am

    Too much fun. And very cute :) Thanks for playing our game too!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:18am

    Ok, I think you'll be able to tell that I wrote that comment on the wrong game haha! Just about to play yours now.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Indeed much more fun that it should have been :P And not cute in the slightest! I'm afraid everything was a bit too far to the right though. I know that was part of the challenge but the people tended to fly straight off the screen before I could shoot, and I ended up clicking outside the window a lot.

    Holding space to raise the water and clear bodies away is a lovely touch. I guess that might help people with framerate problems when too many bodies pile up?

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:19am

    Yea the water is a tad buggy, that's why I never mentioned it... Its intent is indeed to free all the verlet nodes from the simulation to salvage frame rates on a lower end computer. I guess I should have also let you fullscreen it to avoid clicking off screen. Oh well. Thanks for playing :)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:15am

    This is more fun than it should have been. I feel guilty:) Targeting with the shotgun is really tricky. Consider a button press to "pull" rather than a mouse release.

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:48am

    Yea the pull mechanic is an artifact from when it was just a toy. After the fact I realized I should have made the flinging totally automated.

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:03am

    Suitable humorous and evil. Very amusing for a few minutes :)

    HackThePanda says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:09am

    This is probably one of the best games I've played in LD25 yet lol it's just so much fun

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:33am

    @Aslai: Is it possible to get a Mac/Web build?

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:41am

    I loved it how there was thousands of folk lining up to be flung against a wall and/or shot. I juggled one guys head thrice, daddy would be proud. Very cool, well done and thank you.

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:56am

    I love the intro to this.

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    @youdonotexist
    emscripten is really hard to use, and quite limited, so you won't be seeing a web version. If you're willing to get on an instant messenger with me and set up a build environment, we could get a Mac build going though. I don't have the ability to compile for Mac though, unfortunately.

    Maikeroppi says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    I rated the Jam entry. Quite an impressive little game.

    A few notes:
    -I'm really impressed with all the graphics and animation you managed to put in, especially since it's in C++/SDL. Hardcore!
    -The intro was nifty and a good setup.
    -I really liked the music, especially the dark bass part in the middle. Fits the game very appropriately.
    -As csanyck and you already discussed, button/automated pulling would've really helped. I spent most of my time pulling rather than shooting.
    -A little violent for my tastes, but definitely fits the theme.

    Great job!

    MortalWombat says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:50pm

    Score: 9941350
    Max juggle: 65

    Whohooo!

    Awesome and technically as well as audiovisually ambitious!

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:47am

    The music clash was hilarious.

    radmars says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:02am

    Wow, this is great! I love the music. If you changed the pull mechanism like others said and also maybe made it easier to juggle/chain in some way this could be amazing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]