Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 21 hours, 55 minutes, 3 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Skeleton's Revenge - Dr. Mo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Skeleton's Revenge is a 2D platformer where the standard platformer enemy and hero tropes are reversed. A hero and his goat have killed your master, and the only thing you have left is to get revenge! You're a skeleton that's immune to spikes and doesn't get knocked back when hit. Your enemies are platformer hero archetypes, and as such, spikes kill them in one hit, and they get knocked back when they take damage. Fans of old Nintendo Hard games know that it's not the damage that kills you, but it's the being knocked off a platform into spikes or a bottomless pit. Have fun turning the tables on 2D platform mechanics! The game only takes about 3 minutes to complete, but it gets pretty difficult!

    Left/right, A/D, gamepad left/right - move
    L, gamepad button 1/4 - jump
    K, gamepad button 2/3 - throw bones

    Renoise is awesome and I'm really happy with how the music turned out. The nice sound effects were generated with Bfxr and the graphics were all done in GIMP. I used Game Maker 7 because it's what I know, but sadly, it only compiles for Windows. If someone would like to port this to other platforms, drop me a line at bakamostudios.com

    As before, I did a few blog posts, this time with playable versions of the game each step of the way. That's at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/Dr.Mo/?category_name=ld-25-2

    View Dr. Mo's journal. | View all entries by Dr. Mo

    Ratings

    #65Fun3.57
    #169Audio3.00
    #211Mood3.08
    #282Overall3.14
    #360Theme3.23
    #394Innovation2.79
    #569Graphics2.38
    #990Coolness28%

    Comments

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59am

    This was quite fun and quite challenging, Nicely done :)

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Good idea, very challenging game.
    I also liked the monochrome presentation and the sound effects.

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:01am

    Simple and fun. A cool LD game.

    Quarry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    I'm not sure but I enjoyed it a lot :D

    GFM says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    I'll never again complain from the enemies damaging me on touch... that is so much fun! =D

    My only complain is that the holes are too big... if you don't jump at the exact moment, you will fall... =/

    Dr. Mo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22am

    Yeah, I made a last minute change to the player character's width so that he could fit though one-block wide gaps, but in turn that made those jumps a lot harder. I did some testing just now, and that first jump in the third area is a two frame window. Sorry about that. The goats can make it!

    Hume says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

    Don't have access to Windows at the moment, but I'll be back.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    A bit too difficult for me but interesting.

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    It'd the first game that the enemies die to spikes and you don't! lol
    also, nice gamepad implementation. Loved it

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    Fun and difficult game.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:37pm

    Hehe, nice game, difficult and smoothly executed !

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Failed to download. :(

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:11pm

    My hands are still cramping from the arrows + KL combo, ow. I liked that the rules were as normal, i.e. they git hit by me and spikes, and I only get hit by weapons, good good. Also, of course going left instead of right. I did ragequit after the 10th missed jump that looks normal but is actually almost pixel precise. Plz 2 let me jump further. Good music and sounds.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]