Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 7 hours, 46 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Unhappy Holidays! - GeorgeBroussard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Run to the right, kill zombies, get to the next level (3 in total). The theme makes sense if you finish and get to the end screen.

    Christmas is in danger! Santa's Elves have been turned into Zombies and they must be defeated or there will be no Christmas this year!

    Zombie Elves drop magic presents that give good boys and girls what they want and Santa wants ammo!

    CONTROLS:

    <- ->: Move
    C: Weapon
    X: Fire

    View GeorgeBroussard's journal. | View all entries by GeorgeBroussard

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #22Fun3.80
    #105Graphics3.77
    #107Overall3.52
    #155Humor3.15
    #196Mood3.12
    #261Audio2.73
    #542Innovation2.48
    #646Theme2.45

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26am

    This is great! Love the little physics-touches, it feels solid and hefty. Blasting Zombies is great!

    Movement on Z+X is horrible, however. I kept reaching for the arrows. Still awesome!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:29am

    I wasn't really sure what the current convention was for web games :( I tried to change it at the last second but ran out of time and defaulted back. I also wish I'd put a red flashing arrow toward the exit when you got on the last screen. Thanks for looking at it!

    cdata says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

    This game is awesome. It reminds me of boxhead. It's simpler, seasonal and just as addicting.

    Sos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48am

    I love how the swarming works constantly getting you in panic. I bet it was fun to make too, awesome!

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49am

    Wonderful pixel art and gameplay... except I'll echo matthias - movement on those keys is very hard since i also need my fingers to hit 'c' and space.

    mamoniem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

    i like the game, simple and funny [thumb up]

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Yeah, cool Gfxs, Ok Sounds, horrible Controls :)

    rasmusrn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

    That's one badass santa! Fun game! :D Got to level 3! :)

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

    This is pretty good, you don't seem to have gone for the theme at all though, do you have an interpretation of it in there?

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06am

    Norgg, typical screen at the end type of thing, after level 3. But yeah, very loose on the theme bit.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

    Nice, nothing villainious here though. But very solid and fun game. Didn't really like the Z+X controls.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:16am

    Would love to upload a new version and remap the controls. That's not allowed, is it? It's like a 2 line fix.

    eventhandler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24am

    Nice pixel look! Solid game play. Kind of hard, though -- especially with these controls, as others have pointed out (even harder on a German keyboard where the Z and Y keys are swapped compared to an English one).

    OffTravel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    I like the game, nice art!

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    Great game! Best made one I've seen so far. Great polish and overall work! Would be fun if rpg was AOE, shotgun did much at close range and was AOE too :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    jsmars, agree, just ran out of time. Wanted to have the rpg do splash dmg and have much better particle fx, and also wanted to have the shotgun kill multiple enemies at close range. Once they were in and basically working, there was always much higher priority things to do, so I never got back to them. Thanks for checking it out.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Good realization. I just want to say : GG

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    I really enjoyed it, despite not being able to beat the final level! There were a few times when I found myself without any ammo and surrounded by zombies, but I guess I should have prioritized my weapons better. Great game!

    madpew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    cute graphics and animations, very juicy, would love to play this with a slightly bigger viewport. Jumping + throwing grenades might add more depth to the combat. One of my favourite entries so far.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    You do know this compo was theme-based, right? Well, congrats on finishing a game in less than 12 years :)

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56pm

    Great entry!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    It was simple, but the game did make me feel overwhelmed at time (compliment). I will say that I didn't quite read carefully enough on the site that I should go left, and some sort of in game prompt to do so might have been helpful, but I think most people will do that by default. Some music might have added a lot!

    Overall, I really enjoyed it. The little physics polish adds a lot to feeling powerful, and I really like your santa sprite. Good work!

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

    The physics effects and variety of weapons and enemies really made this enjoyable to play. Good effort!

    Bemmu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Best game so far. What a great idea for sprites to just bob them around instead of drawing frames :) Was fun to play too!

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

    Their little waddling is great. Wish I could see the bullet coming out or just a flash.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Great game, love the sprites and subtle touches like smoke and the blood spray. Clean style and nice audio. Good stuff!

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:16am

    I like the art and gameplay, but I'm not sure how this ties into the theme. :(

    Wukkopi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Fun game, but setting Santa as villain?

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44am

    ^.^ Had some much fun killing

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

    I love the elf zombies. The only glaring thing that I thought it was lacking was some sort of bullet sprite. The levels could have had a little more variation, but then again, at the beginning I was completely unaware that there even were levels, and proceeded to play the first level for about a half hour. :P Great work, keep it up!

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54am

    I couldn't fire the weapon. I liked that it appears to have switched to arrow keys to move, and I could change the weapon, but the spacebar didn't seem to do anything.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

    bugninja, I remapped the controls and they are on the main screen. arrows move, X fires and C changes guns.

    dremelofdeath, re: the level exit...yup...wish I'd put a large red arrow on screen when you got near the right edge but I never thought about it and assumed it was obvious to just keep walking left. :) Time pressure and tunnel vision.

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48am

    Yes, this is good!

    Logun says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58am

    Simple and funny !

    CaptainIcy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09am

    Simply awesome. Everything about it is just awesome, hehe.

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48am

    Love the feel and game play. Not entirely sure on the take of the theme but great job! :D

    Nanolotl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:15am

    Really fun! I liked the touch of having the ammo being in gift boxes.

    pythong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:57am

    game was good, present effects reallyy ince. seems like you swapped to arrows now, because, no kidding, it would have been NO FUN with a german keyboard (like mine). btw, if i'm santa and I kill zombie elves, does that really make me the villain?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    pythongg, I hear ya.

    The win screen after level 3 has some text indicating some villainy but it's a very loose interpretation. I wanted to make a shooter and xmas themed at that, but after this weekends shooting in the US I didn't really want to do a shooter with a bad guy shooting lots of innocents, etc. Maybe I should have gone the Bad Elf route, but in the end I sacrifice theme for a better game and who doesn't want to kick ass as Santa? :) Thanks for looking at it and the feedback.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Smooth gameplay! I actually just grinded the elfs on level 1 before I noticed you could get further, was great fun! 17,900 score :D

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    Beatiful!!! Nice gameplay and excellent gfx. Very solid. Congrats.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:23pm

    Theme is kind of weak, would have been the same with any other character. Besides that, great entry and great game overall. I enjoy the size and the art :)

    rujo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    super-cool!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38pm

    This was a good entry ! Nice style !

    Mava says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Nice game, felt polished and shooting was fun. Little bits of animation on the character really adds alot well done :)

    Ambitious to make 3 levels too!

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Well, that's about as fun as it gets! Really enjoyed this one, had to play it to the end :D

    uuav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    simple and well executed. The walking animation is so ridiculous it give a really fun feeling ! :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    I liked this. I got about 10k points before I ran out of ammo. Great fun.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    Santa's stocking will be full of ammo this christmas.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    That was really fun ! :D i liked the particles effects and the way that the bullet doesnt appear is really cool, this is one of the games i enjoyed the most

    Biped says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    zombies + christmas = one cool game

    oborux says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Cool theme and arcade feel, the elf zombies are class :-)

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:15am

    Fun game, though not sure how it fits into the theme.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:29am

    Wow. Hands down, one of my favourites! I love the visual style and the play is a ton of fun. The controls are easy to adjust to. The theme is amazing, I mean, zombies plus a deadly Santa. Fantastic, very solid work!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29am

    Very nicely done. I enjoyed it. Please update the text at the top of the page. Makes me think the controls are different than they really are.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:31am

    bigbadwofl, I did update it on Sunday. I think it's a browser cache issue :( But the controls are mentioned properly on the intro screen, so it should be ok. Thanks for looking at the game!

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32am

    Great fun, solid game. I didn't realize that there were levels until I read the comments though. I just stood my ground until the inevitable end :-)

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13am

    Very nice entry! I enjoyed it, graphics are clean and gameplay is pretty nervous! Too bad for the theme :\ But very good game all theme controversy apart :D

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Haha, i loved it,
    a good old shooter !

    it's lacking walking animation a bit, but the game work and is really fun to play.

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Loved the graphics but found it a little hard. I think less zombies and a little more strategy around the pacing of when they show up on screen would help. I felt like I was just mobbed. Would love to see this expanded into a larger game.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    well done!
    This is really fun!

    deepnight says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Ah ah ah really loved it :) As usual my fav weapon is still the basic gun. Really intense gameplay.

    The bazooka would be more interesting with a zone damage to make close combat more dangerous. But the screen was maybe to small to do that without being too annoying?

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    @deepnight: I wanted to do splash dmg and multiple zombie kills with the rpg but just ran out of time and moved on once the guns were 'ok'. I think you could cheat and have it do minimal dmg to you up close, so there's some deterrent but still let you kill 5 zombies at a time. Then just balance the power with less available ammo, so you save it for when you get swarmed. Thanks for looking at it. Your game is ridiculously good fun :)

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    Simple but great. Love the sprites

    sauronz says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    really grat and fun! Love to play this! Fantastic graphics too

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    Its really fun.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    Noooo! I ran out of ammo! Nice game, simple but addictive.

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Nice art and gameplay. But controls are very uncomfortable.

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice game, i like the cute graphics. Maybe a better feedback when your gun is empty, because it happen very often and may kill you.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:15pm

    Fun fun fun. I hate christmas, so I played again without finishing. It's amazing how entertaining a really simple game can be, if done right. Well done!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:28am

    Great job! The graphics great in that you stuck with a theme and executed it well! The gameplay is simple yet satisfying and the controls are smooth :D

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:44am

    It was an honor to play your game! I love pixel art. Kudos to you sir!

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:02am

    Excellently executed. It seemed like it was possible to run out of ammo through no fault of your own, though? Or maybe I'm just too trigger-happy.

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:38am

    Simply lovely. Only miss a background music.

    Dylan McCall says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:29am

    Awesome! I love how you managed to pack so much life into those static sprites just by the way they moved around. Very satisfying animations. All around lovely graphics.

    I kept running out of ammo in the 3rd level, until I realized that the different enemies are, err, different, and I should hold onto those RPG rounds for the tougher ones. Or get into the habit of backtracking really aggressively, before it's too late. It's weird that bullet counting survival game elements only really become a thing in the last level, though. (If they were meant to be at all). Of course, since the good quality and endlessly amusing weapon handling meant I kept trying, so when I finally _did_ win it was pretty exciting.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:34am

    @Dylan, the bullet mgmt was a thing but I didn't want ppl running out too often. The levels get a little more aggressive in terms of spawn rates so that's why level 3 is harder. Plus, lack of real time to balance properly. I was pleased it was as playable as it was considering how hot it was coming in for landing :) Thanks for the feedback though...spot on.

    triplefox says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:42am

    Score: 9450 :D

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:00am

    Finished! Really good first LD!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:21am

    Very cool. Super fun. Graphics are great. Controls could be much better.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:25am

    Well executed game, I would like to have more ammo to deal with zombies. :)

    Mase says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:59am

    Cute ending text; would've been nice to see the events described as a cutscene, even a brief one.

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    I found it to be pretty hard but still a lot of fun. The pixel blood was a nice touch.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    Nice game, love the art and the difficulty was just right.

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    Very fun to play. Damn those zombie elves! :)

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Kept dieing due to no ammo, despite just blasting enemies in the face. Not bad all around though.

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Awesome game! The "big pixel" sprites and blood particles look really nice and the sound effects match them well.

    During the game it is easy to get caught up and not notice you've emptied your clip on the zombie horde before they get a bite. Surely the interface shows the amount of ammo available but sometimes I was too focused on the zombies. So if I were to make a suggestion, I'd say that an additional cue for the player when he's out of ammo could be helpful (maybe a "click" sound when the player fires a weapon without ammo...)

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:26am

    Hahaha very cool!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Pretty nice game. The graphics are great as are the particles. The gameplay is pretty good. The audio could be better.

    Unfortunately there is a bug in the game. I finished the first level invunerable. After that I never took damage again.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:52am

    It's irrelevant to theme. Nice gameplay though.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:57am

    It's relevant to the theme if you finish the 3 levels and get the end screen :) But yeah, loosely relevant. I'm ok with that. Was a bad weekend to make a game where you run around shooting innocents, but I still wanted to make a shooter, so...

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:20am

    Man it took me awhile to realize I could move past the side of the screen to the next level! Awesome game.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:09am

    This was really fun.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:52am

    The theme seems to be upside down. But your game is fun and i like your graphics. Well done :)

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Fun but a bit too hard for me (I'm more of a strategy/rpg gamer). Still, after far too many attempts I finally beat the game so I could properly rate the theme category. Should probably have tied each weapon to a key (number keys) for more quickly switching and had the c key just switch to the next weapon that actually had ammo. I would also have added a bar on the top of the screen that showed how much ammo was available for each weapon. Shotgun was rather under-powered while rpg wasn't dangerous enough.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Not a huge connection to the theme, but it is a fun romp through to kill those endless hordes.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

    A lot of fun and engaging, even with such simple gameplay. I got sucked in shooting zombies, getting a rhythm going. Would've loved some Christmas music, but given the time limit, it feels rather well polished.

    haxpor says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:38am

    Well polished man, I like how you roll to another weapon like that (it reminds me to the game in made in charity game jam). I think if you show the weapons' bullet as well, it will be more realistic (especially for pistol).
    Nice job!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:11am

    I simply loved this game! The graphics were nice and cute looking but what captivated me the most was the presents that flew out of the dead zombies. The concept was simple but it was a fun take on the theme. I enjoyed the sound effects as well since it lent to the hilarious feeling of the game. I was cracking up with laughter when I first started up the game without looking at the screenshots prior. Great job!

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:33am

    Digged the style a lot, movement felt a bit stiff at times though :(.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:43am

    Really cooool! :D Why any visual bullet?

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:39am

    While I didn't really see a connection with the theme, I definitely saw a connection with the fun. This was just plain goofy. Nice use of particles!

    Red Mike says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:53am

    Great game, simple, but effective.

    Maple says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:48am

    Great entry! I went through the 3 levels and got 13,000 score. Dug the graphics, and it was actually fun switching out the weapons to save the deadly ammo for when you need it. This was actually pretty nice, despite it's simplicity.

    Mago says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:49am

    I was little confused with switching weapons and shooting but besides that everything was great, good work.

    Harsay says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    I love that how you animated characters :D

    pereubu says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    super fun to play, it took time to me to understand that this wasn't a survival game, but that i had to go to the end of the level, perhaps more feedbacks would have helped, great game overall :D

    MortalWombat says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Very lovely!
    A simple idea, but very well executed.

    Some sort of theme for each of the different levels or something to differentiate them would have made it more exciting.

    h.attila says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:54pm

    It would've been nice to actually see the bullets and rockets when you shoot. Also, I think the enemies can take too much damage. Some of them can survive multiple shotgun blasts even at close range.
    Otherwise it's a polished, nice game.

    dark_hunter says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:25pm

    Fun game. Really fun! And good realization of an idea!

    SunShiranui says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:28pm

    Really nice... but not really connected to the theme.
    I had some fun playing it, but maybe it's too hard.

    cappelnord says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Cute graphics but I wanted to be able to jump all the time! (Maybe even through a special jet pack which you can pick up?)

    arhpositive says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:58pm

    Solid entry! :) Good implementation of a well known formula with a few new things to spice it up. The atmosphere was perfect, it's so important to achieve this in games made in a small amount of time.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    The fast ammo spending made me altered all the time :D

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:52pm

    Nice game, funny pixel art. The connection with the theme is not so strong, but it was fun to play. In the second and third level my Santa didn't get hurt by the Zombie Elves, so I managed to get to the end. ;)

    Beerman says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:31am

    Fun little game. Those zombies really take some killing.

    Prelucid says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:30am

    Loved it. Lots of fun

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:41am

    Great presentation! The lo-fi pixel art worked really well with the animations and physics. That made the game more fun. The shotgun and rpg blast had a nice feel to it. I found a bug where I was pretty much invincible the entire game. I picked an invulnerability at some point...I guess it never wore off. Other than that, I don't think it fit the theme =P I was wondering if there is a twist in the end that makes Santa evil.

    recursor says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Pretty fun little game. The way you made the little elves move without animating them worked well and added to the character of the game. Nice job.

    bentog says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    Simple, easy to pick up and play, and fun. Also, the pixel art is cool. Good job!

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:52pm

    I had a lot of fun playing your game! I really like graphics and variance in zombie types. The first time I played I didn't ration ammo very well, so I ended up not being able to defend myself, but this is my fault and not the game's.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:53pm

    VERY FUN GAME! I played it over and over. Really loved the randomness of it all... how each playthrough is different. Really needs some music, though. Great visuals and the controls are nicely balanced with movement speed and fire rate. Great work!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:08am

    Cool game. Would have been nice to see the bullets, or was there a glitch?

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]