Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 2 hours, 43 minutes, 50 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Small Theft Auto - ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In Small Theft Auto you play a REAL villain : attack people to steal their money, take part in drug deals, kill people and loose your humanity.

    Controls : WASD/Arrows to move. Space for Action, 1-3 to change actions (need upgrades)

    View ncannasse's journal. | View all entries by ncannasse

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #69Overall3.63
    #104Fun3.43
    #122Theme3.76
    #134Graphics3.62
    #148Mood3.22
    #161Humor3.14
    #307Audio2.58
    #359Innovation2.89

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

    Nice and evil but I find the controls a bit rough

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

    By playing that game, i'm more a victim than a villain. :<

    zaplava.ivan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57am

    Adorable game! But minimap not perfect, too small targets.

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

    It's cool, and there is a lot of thing to do. It's very difficult, and everyone help the choosen victim. I have not managed to get a gun.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:13pm

    Nice, I really liked it once it got to the point where you could actually talk to people and each one is unique, thought to start with they were just there to mug.

    nSun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    I try key [M] to mute music/sound... Surprise, I gain a lot of money.

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    P'tit soucis : si on commence avec le minigun comme arme, on ne peut plus parler (et donc avancer dans le jeu) =/

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Wow this game has so much content, impressive! Very good job!

    Sinon ouais j'ai aussi appuye sur M sans faire vraiment expres et je suis devenu riche ;D

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:29am

    The "M" key is now disable ;)

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30am

    Wow, a lot of content for a compo entry. Music gets a little repetitive after a while, but there's so much other things done here, that it's not a big deal... Great job!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Haha, that old lady was loaded :)
    I also don't really like the controls, but the diversity of things to discover kept me hooked for a while.
    It reminded me of some of the games I had on my calculator in high school

    rxi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    Nice work, a surprising amount of content. The music ended up driving me a bit nuts though, and I couldn't find a way to turn it off!

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    awesome !

    yenz says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    This game is so cruel, and thats why I love it Nick.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:36am

    Great job! You packed a lot into this! I really liked the art style :D

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:13am

    As usual, a lot of play time and plenty of stuff to do/unlock. The minimap is a bit hard to read and the music kind of annoying but overall nice entry!

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Good entry as usual! Except for some issues with controls and game balance, the game is great ; the amount of contents for 48hrs is impressive.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    Cool concept, smooth visuals!

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    Impressive for such a short amount of time. Very well put together. My only comment would be that the mini-map is difficult to see.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    There are a lot of fun things in this game ! I like how the drug people rush to protect the old lady, how you can talk to people 2s after having shot them with your pistol, how you have to hurt people enough to rob them but not enough to kill them because you couldn't rob them later, how the dog protects people so bravely (At first I thought it was a goat), how everybody runs faster than you, etc.

    Some suggestions for improvements
    - I think the game could be more dynamic if the character moved a little faster.
    - The minimap could be bigger (I didn't notice it at first) with icons for the different buildings. Also when you look at the minimap it seems that the roads are wall, so I was always trying to avoid them when I walked with the minimap as only guide.
    - It could be more obvious when you have "talk" selected and when you have "attack" selected. Maybe put the icons in a box with a reminder of the shortcut.
    - It's a little frustrating to discover that there are missions when you already have killed the targets :)

    Great game ! A lot of content in 48 hours !

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:09am

    this is pretty good!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Less alpha on the map and this would be perfect, although I found him to be rather weak for a thief... ;)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:13am

    I destroyed a truck with a knife and killed an angel with a mini-gun. My life is fulfilled.

    Alink says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    That's a lot of stuff and well done. Very impressive.

    leafo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    There's a lot here. It's pretty cool. The minimap was difficult to use. It wasn't showing the the dot when it said it would. I also got stuck on mission 8 when it says "talk to glaze again". I try talking to him but nothing happens.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:27am

    Nice mini GTA.

    koblongata says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    holy shit, so dark!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    Pretty nice game, but it takes too long for an interesting part, I think.
    Yet I love your style, good job as usual!

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    I searched for your entry as the your last one for LD24 was simply my favorite for all LD events so far.

    And this one is pretty cool to. (I actually thought about using the concept of GTA for my game too, as it fits perfectly to the theme.)

    I agree with some of the previous comments, that the minimap is really hard to read. I almost quit early because I couldn't find the person to give the drugs.

    But nevertheless a great game. Good job :)

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    Deep gameplay, the feel of completeness of this entry is awesome given the time was made. Top 10 for no doubt.

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:45am

    nice !
    a bit hard, i didn't expect the granny to be so strong !

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Wow, lots of content! Took me some time to kill everyone.

    aare says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    I stumbled across your game while checking out haxe - it seem that it really speed up development, as you managed to put really a lot of stuff here. Great job :)

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:09am

    Fantastic. I'm impressed this was done in 48 hrs!

    bentog says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Whoa, nice game. It's really big for something made in 48 hours!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:26am

    i found the attacking at the beginning to be a little frustrating, but i'll keep playing more based on what everyone is saying

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Certainly my favorite game. It's incredible what you have done under 48h !

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    Highly ambitious, with a lot of stuff going on.

    I think there are kinks you need to work out, like others have pointed out, but the game is really promising.

    Extra points for style.

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Ouch ?
    Je suis surpris de ton classement, tu méritais le top 10 là. Hormis peut-être le copyright :p, je ne voyais pas de gros problèmes à ton jeu. :/

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]