Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 2 hours, 19 minutes, 34 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 2 hours, 19 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    My Kingdom for a Line Block - chas - Jam Entry

    A game for two players on one computer!

    Race for lines before the other player can betray you.

    View chas's journal. | View all entries by chas

    Ratings

    #19Innovation(Jam)3.88
    #75Fun(Jam)3.25
    #96Overall(Jam)3.35
    #130Theme(Jam)3.47
    #235Graphics(Jam)2.71
    #930Coolness33%

    Comments

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    I like your take on inverted tetris, two players always works better than an AI! I'd prefer it without automatic side switching, it's sort of confusing. Found a bug - selecting the next piece with WASD/arrows doesn't work when your selected piece is surrounded by used up pieces.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33am

    Nice! Very interesting take on the enemy system -- make the players both the enemy and the player!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:45am

    Haha, this is a interesting idea!

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    The switching idea is awesome; I can't wait to play with someone else!

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    this is cool!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    I always love tetris.

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:33pm

    Very interesting idea indeed. I didn't really have anyone to play with, but just playing it by myself, trying to cope with the side switches and such was interesting enough.

    Visually the game looks quite polished and nice. Controls are good. I can't say that I fully get how anyone is a "villain" in a game like this tho. It's more like you are each other's enemies/opponents.

    Great work either way!

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:14am

    It is certainly an interesting take. I wasn't expecting the switch. That was awesome. Kudos!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:49am

    Fun idea, can't really test it out as I live on a deserted mountain with only a goat to keep me company.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]