Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 7 hours, 7 minutes, 11 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Unseen Strangler - FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A stealth-like top-down game where you get the money without being seen. It's very short due lack of time, but hopefully you'll like it.

    At the moment Firefox has trouble with mouse-coordinates. Chrome is recommended at the moment (until I fix compatiblity).

    Controls:
    WASD: movement
    Mouse: aim
    Shift: run
    left mouse: use/drag/strangle

    View FrozenCow's journal. | View all entries by FrozenCow

    Ratings

    Coolness51%
    #450Theme3.00
    #491Fun2.57
    #550Graphics2.43
    #567Innovation2.43
    #576Overall2.61
    #640Humor1.75
    #654Mood2.16

    Comments

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Good idea, wish there were more levels though - I got both bags of cash and strangled those folk like the good guys they were ;-)

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Aiming with the mouse did not work for me, he only changed his aim by about 90 degrees and kept facing right. Besides that a nice game, like the way you can strangle and drag people.

    sharbelfs says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    good game, just a little difficult to control the mouse

    FrozenCow says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Make sure to try it in Chrome. Firefox somehow has a different coordinate system, so the character isn't looking at the cursor.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    The mouse control worked well for me, I thought it was fun, good pacing.

    markengley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    I think a more abstract art style would have worked better here, but the gameplay was there. The controls could maybe have been a bit more forgiving - I didn't really understand why I lost some of the time.

    Nice execution overall though.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    Nice concept, although it's missing a lot of polish, more levels and graphics. Given the time constraint you did well :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:28am

    Too bad the aim didn't work for me :( Cool concept!

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:34pm

    nice idea but strange controls make it hard to get into

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    Remember me a bit of Hotline Miami for the concept, nice job but a bit difficult for a start.

    dray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    Nice game, the control work well, animations would help to know what i'm doing and when i die. the idea is very interesting :)

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:51am

    Really neat concept. I would love to see more levels and sound implemented. I particularly enjoyed that the bags of money had to be dragged, as well. It felt more realistic that way, somehow. :)

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    I enjoyed this! Nice and clear goals, silky smooth playability, easy controls and satisfying execution (literally ;) I enjoyed the drag mechanic and the graphics were nice and clear. Some simple sound effects wouldn't have gone amiss - really sfxr takes minutes to churn out some acceptable bleedings etc. Plenty of scope to add to the experience / puzzle aspect with more levels too. Worked perfectly in Safari on Mac by the way ;)

    laaph says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Cute game, hard to play on trackpad (or maybe it was just hard to play!)

    Jezzamon says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

    The game seemed ok, but a little slow. Needs to be more... gamey. :D

    Maybe try working the game and more levels before graphics?

    Also looks like you forgot to upload the source.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]