Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 23 hours, 14 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Hunt yourself, or something - rvmook - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You're a werewolf and you're pretty good at hiding it from everybody. To keep up your cover you need to help the villagers by building traps.

    At the same time you should sabotage these traps so you can eat at night when you turn into a werewolf.

    I had no time for play testing, so I'm pretty curious on what you guys think of it!

    View rvmook's journal. | View all entries by rvmook

    Ratings

    Coolness61%
    #76Innovation3.67
    #110Theme3.79
    #154Graphics3.56
    #236Mood3.03
    #254Overall3.19
    #320Humor2.67
    #393Fun2.79
    #543Audio1.64

    Comments

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    Nice concept and great graphics. There are a few bugs that made me need to restart - I couldn't eat any food at one point possibly because it was stuck on the trap setting part (arrow showing), also when I switched to a werewolf I died immediately.

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    I like it... would like to see more. :)

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:19am

    Nice. I love games in which each levels choices build the nature of the next.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:23am

    This was very clever, setting fake traps so that your werewolf self would be able to eat...I love it!

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Nice concept, nice and clean aesthetic, but needs a little bit more work. It would be nice to be able to "fast forward" the text instead of waiting for all the text to slowly appear.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Great idea, I would like ability to kill the villagers and win at some point.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:57am

    Nice fresh concept, I liked how well it tied into the theme.

    tcql says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Nicely done :) I ran into a fun issue where if you placed a trap right as it became night, you would be stuck when you transformed into the werewolf. I couldn't even kill myself by running into the traps, they just blocked me from moving anywhere.

    Nice visual style and a neat concept! Would be fun if there was a bit more to it

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:23am

    Cool idea, I liked the twist.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:48am

    Ha ha, I just got isolated surrounding by traps ! Good catch!

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Woha, pretty awesome idea! Need more gameplay elements, i think ;)

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Just like Casino Jack said.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Nice little puzzle game, I'd have liked some kind of progression here too, maybe some way to attack the villagers, felt like the werewolf was kind of tame.

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    It was an interesting idea, but it doesn't really have much in it. The day time isn't really long enough to set 'traps,' and then survive the night. A postmortem would be pretty cool, I'd like to see where you could take this concept.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Love the concept!

    psychopsam says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

    Great idea, and lighting effects. Interesting spin on the theme. Very enjoyable.

    Jeremias says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:34pm

    Very interesting game idea. First, I woudln't make text boxes where the text builds up from the center, because it's difficult to read if you are already in this line. Secondly, between the day and the night, there should be a small break with a fading black screen or something. It looks a bit strange if the sprites change instantly and the humans disappear. Perhaps you can add a timer, so I don't place traps right in the moment it changes to night :)

    Nice graphics and good job anyway.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    The darkness sets in very quickly and I had a few Arghl moments walking all over the map to set traps. I would make setting the less a lot less sensitive because often I was just pixeling about, find the exact right spot to hit space on or under the arrow.

    Fun idea that you are the wolf and the trap setter. Would be fun if the people emoted a bit more when finding you out or just in general.

    Gornova says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    I like it! The idea is really good and graphics too! well done!

    Datw says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:05am

    Good game, needed a proper end though.

    deathray says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:26pm

    I really like the art style and the gameplay. I only wish you could do something actually villainous.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    Very cool concept. Needs more content, obviously... and the trap placement is very touchy. At one point, a village asked me to place a trap under his feet and this only resulted in looping the dialogue. Great interpretation of the theme.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]