Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 20 hours, 54 minutes, 27 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Villain By A Chance - Madball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    *Crossing fingers*

    A goat told (Yes, I was surprised, too) you that you are the successor of a very villainous villain. You have to become evil to be an ever more villainous villain!

    Journal: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/53633853/A%20Villain%20By%20A%20Chance/LD25%20Journal.txt

    Timelapse: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/16/timelapse-is-done/

    View Madball's journal. | View all entries by Madball

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #199Innovation3.22
    #329Audio2.53
    #378Humor2.48
    #538Theme2.81
    #580Mood2.36
    #596Overall2.57
    #620Graphics2.22
    #716Fun1.89

    Comments

    Ray_Mickelino says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:04am

    While the goat was talking, you spelled listen wrong at one point. Good game though.

    Theorem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    I think the resource-spending model has potential, though a couple definitions seemed vague. Maybe I just read it too fast :P The data could use a little more organization. Definitely not a mindless click-on-stuff-to-win game. Good job!

    xgeovanni says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Hss potential, but I was able to win by simply clicking around houses and clicking "trouble", so it's not there yet.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    This is quite a complex thing to try and perfect in 48 hours! Could do with a bit more explanation about the various resources though. Overall none too shabby. :)

    gilesa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    I found it a little confusing, but it's definitly different than most games, so good job!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32am

    Couldn't quite figure out the resources bit, but really like the idea.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    Pretty unique, I really liked the gameplay and music though it was a bit confusing.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    was rather confused by the flow of resources at first..

    galman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    Nice idea. I found the game to be a little bit confusing. If you'll continue working on it after the LD it would be awesome :)

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    I could have played a whole game just about the talking goat. Nice entry.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    The concept of the game is very interesting - you have to balance spending resources to gain victory points, with keeping your resource sources active. The song was also really nice, and fits well with the abstract nature of the game.

    On the other hand, the game was a bit too abstract - it felt that any theme could have been tacked on it. Something that might help in this regard would be some brief texts or images describing what are the "help" and "trouble" actions for each character - why do you have to pay morality to help the mayor? why do you lose fortune if you trouble the traveller? I believe that would make the game a bit more interesting.

    Cheers, and thanks for the game!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Good concept. for 48 hours great job!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Very experimental, and a bit difficult to understand. Thanks for taking the time to put in a tutorial.
    With a little bit more polish added on the feedback, this could make a very interesting game.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    Loved the intro, set up the story nicely, but I kind of got confused about how things were progressing as I played. I think some more visible feedback about what effect my actions were having / a bit more immediacy would have been good, however to balance this system in 48hours is a very impressive achievement!

    ceronman says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:07pm

    Very interesting game. With some more polish it could be a true gem. I the gameplay needs more strategy. And nice story!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:56am

    Quite a complicated game. Didn't really have a strategy, so I found myself clicking trouble for everything.

    Dioiminik says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:29pm

    Not my type of game but I liked the idea ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]