Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 15 hours, 32 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 15 hours, 32 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Shorty & The Big Deal 2600 - Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Short & The Big Deal 2600
    -------------------------

    Emulates Atari 2600 Television Interface Adapter Graphics and Sound.

    Only 51.4KB

    Keyboard:
    ---------
    W,A,S,D - Move
    J - Attack / Purchase
    F2 - Toggle Map / Stats

    Objective:
    ----------
    Trade
    Amass Coins
    Discover new places.
    Upgrade your strength and agility,
    Beat up the bobbies.
    Buy a ticket to the next level.




    View Suese's journal. | View all entries by Suese

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #293Graphics3.11
    #433Mood2.66
    #473Audio2.07
    #478Innovation2.62
    #495Theme2.91
    #499Humor2.14
    #549Overall2.67
    #660Fun2.11

    Comments

    apophenia says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

    Interesting game, but I found it a little difficult/tedious to get to the next level. I refreshed twice after accidentally converting some of my goods the wrong direction and gave up on the third try. It was pretty tough to remember which houses have which deals -- thinking of other games that utilize this mechanic (Suikoden III, etc), there's usually some sort of way you're tipped off as to where you found what trade after it's been discovered.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Thanks for playing. Yeah I wanted to add apartment names and addresses. I also wanted to add more obstacles such as cars, pedestrians and hazards. There is an informant graphic still embedded in the executable that was there to do just that, since I was running out of time I skipped the informant mechanic altogether. Again, thanks for playing.

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00am

    I love the fake color fringing effect! Nice touch!

    Fairly accurate game, in a "what the real hardware could do" sort of way, so props for that too!

    I do agree, game would be more enjoyable if you had a way to see what place sold what. It's fairly information dense (with 3-4 places in one screen) and hard to remember. At least for me!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12am

    Thanks. I'm glad someone noticed the bleeding / scanline effects. All I see now is an incomplete title high in potential and short on actual game play.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13am

    I find myself having to chase down the cops in order to beat them up x_X

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

    Now I'm deaf and really want to play my Atari.

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50am

    Cool game! Nice visual style. I especially enjoyed entering/exiting the buildings, it had a nice feel to it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:47am

    Awesome! Way to go Suese! The visual style is 100% nostalgia, lovely lovely.

    a tiny bit more visual differentiation of the houses would hit the spot! Kudos

    Razion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Holy loud sound effects, batman. Lots of potential in this one! I only encountered one cop, which I thought was odd. But other than that, pretty cool.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13am

    @Razion. Thanks. I was playing with my sound down all the way, not realizing how loud it was. The updated version is much better. It's actually kinda fun even.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

    The retro aspect of the game is wonderful.
    Even if the updated version is more dynamic (good initiative to change the bargains btw), the street part still remain empty in my opinion. A bit more bobbies would have increase the fun.

    degtyarev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Nice scanline effect

    quill18 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Fantastic visual aesthetic. I'm old -- so this definitely brings me back!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53pm

    I love the trading system, hunting for efficient deals is what sets this game apart in terms of innovation. The Atari-themed presentation is heartwarming.

    All the pieces of a good game are there, now you just need more content like you said.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    I like the retro game and the idea to play with colors.
    I did take a while to understand what the frack i had to do ^^
    Perhaps add titles to houses so you can remeber what is what ?

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    It took me a long time to work out that x for y actually meant you got what was on the left for what was on the right as payment. To me I instinctively took it the other way.

    Man the audio was really painful! I know you were trying to emulate the Atari 2600, but perhaps that was a bad thing to try and emulate!

    The idea behind the game is an interesting one - especially if you could have linked it to how much of the city you "owned" etc. But it is really hard to remember where anything is and not too rewarding to explore as you are usually only searching for one item.

    The graphics were the best part of this by far. I loved the background and the sky.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    @Starspell - Yes I didn't realize that it was loud because I had my speakers down almost all the way. No volume nob on these hand-me-downs.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:04am

    @lotusgame - I SO-SO-SO wanted to add Random Street Names and Addresses and Random Building Names like I did with people in Tiny Civilization, but I ran out of time :(. They were going to have funny and unique names as you passed by. It was the NEXT feature on my todo list when time ran out.

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47am

    Nicely done indeed. Enjoyed it for a long time. Got a little bored by third level, I must admit, but this is clearly the start of something awesome. Just needs a bit more risk or something, harder fights perhaps? Great style too.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    A bit too retro for my taste, but I'm glad to see many other people like it and were nostalgia'd so nice work!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:14am

    @AdventureIslands - Well authentic retro is what I do... Call it a niche. Many people try but they make mistakes like mixing resolutions, using too many colours, using non-standard palettes, using SFXR instead of programming real chip emulators, etc. All of my years of experience tell me that God is in the details, so I'm not sure how I can satisfy on the 'too retro' front.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Kind of a bit like saying "It's too well done, this is hogwash"

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    This takes me back to my first gaming experience! :D Great, truly retro graphics and solid, simple gameplay. Good job! :D

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    I love the retro game style!

    goerp says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    haha, gotta agree about the audio, authentic but LOUD (and I played with headphones).
    Just like other people said: it had the look and feel of a real retro game.
    I didn't know how to beat up a cop right away, because you didn't mention all keys, you villain :)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Awesomely retro. I felt like I needed an instruction manual to really tell me how to play. I get that you're supposed to find things and trade and power up, but it wasn't very clear how to do those things. I'd love to play this again with a better understanding of HOW to play, not just what I'm supposed to try to do. Consider posting a walkthrough video:)

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    Really nice retro style. A tutorial at start would help but I liked a lot the gameplay (as any Atari veteran will)

    eli says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:56pm

    Solid visual here, liked the sound too (even though it was a bit loud as mentioned above). The gameplay wasn't really to my taste -- but I guess it was authentic? After reading some comments I decided to barrel through and buy a ticket to the next level. I did so, and the game seems to have crashed? I'm stuck at a map-like screen with bobbies on it. Nothing happens when I press all over the keyboard.

    I also liked the combat (even though I didn't get a chance to try it out!).

    Good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]