Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 7 hours, 42 minutes, 11 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 8 hours, 30 minutes, 11 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Agents - recursive frog - Jam Entry

    ---------------------------------------
    -- Bug fixes ---------------------
    ---------------------------------------

    I investigated the "crash on load" bugs reported, and have posted what I hope is a fix for at least some devices.

    There is also a fix for Jellybean devices, which had faulty voice recognition (it would just die out).

    ---------------------------------------
    -- DEVICES THAT I HAVE SEEN FUNCTION --
    ---------------------------------------

    Droid 3 (The phone in the video, and my primary test device)
    Transformer TF101 (The original Transformer)
    Samsung Galaxy SIII (I think that was the model)
    Transformer TF101
    Transformer Prime TF201
    Nexus 7


    Some older devices with particularly limited resources will have problems with playing multiple audio streams simultaneously.



    ------------------------
    Just to get you started

    "Move to", "Head to", or "Go to" all move agents around. So for example, tell Agent 1 to "Go to the Sewer" to get started. Similarly, Agent 2 can "Go to the main hall."

    Other phrases such as "What do you have," "What do you see" and "Where are you" will yield answers.

    If an agent has an item, they can "Use" it (such as "Use the Noise Maker")

    ------------------------

    You are the commander for two field agents, tasked with espoinage and sabotage of a weapons facility. Call your agents, listen to them describe their surroundings, then speak into your phone to tell them what to do. You can tell them to move to a location, ask them what they have, tell them to use an item, and tell them to search the area. I have uploaded a gameplay video. Will host on google play shortly.


    * This was built and tested on a DROID 3.

    * I have seen it in action on a Samsung Galaxy S III and it worked, though the recognition was a bit rougher than on the Droid 3


    ----- Environmental Consideration ------

    Some things that I think interfere with the voice recognition:

    * If you are in a room with music that has lyrics, those lyrics will screw up your commands to the agents

    * If you speak English with a heavy accent, my code might not understand what the device sends along to it

    ------------------------------------

    View recursive frog's journal. | View all entries by recursive frog

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Innovation(Jam)4.74
    #4Audio(Jam)4.17
    #14Mood(Jam)3.91
    #30Overall(Jam)3.76
    #44Humor(Jam)3.42
    #63Theme(Jam)3.79
    #71Fun(Jam)3.26
    #302Graphics(Jam)2.16

    Comments

    bmoore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:27am

    It was able to run on my samsung galaxy nexus running 4.1.1, but the voice recognition didn't work at all :(

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

    bmoore I just tried it on one and it did work. Did you tell agent 1 to go to the sewer?

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:45am

    Nice idea :) Didn't have courage to install it on my phone but video looks promising! Nice idea.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51am

    I checked out the gameplay video and I was like, "holy shit these graphics are ultra realistic". Then I realized that was you.

    So, it's a voice activated phone game?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:59am

    @Dark Acre Jack : Yes. You play the game by speaking to your agents on your phone.

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:55am

    Wow, this is a killer idea. I can't wait to get decent enough android phone in my hands to give it a try.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57am

    Absolutely brilliant!

    A long time ago in a distant life I used to program voxml servers. Lovely to see such a neat twist!

    Deep impression left, will affect my games option choices in the next LD!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    This is some great innovation and a nice interpretation of the theme. The voice recognition is a bit spotty but I'm used to that. Great work, guys! This game sets a great mood.

    KEFIR says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Brilliant idea! Never seen anything like this before! Very interesting.

    metadept says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    I really, really wanted to play this, but couldn't get the voice recognition to work on my Nexus 7. The 'speak now' tone plays when the game starts, but after calling the agent, it doesn't seem to hear my commands. I'll keep trying and hope I can find a way around it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    @metadept : I will try this on my nexus 7 later. Thank you for the description of the bug! Honestly I was thinking that people wouldn't bother with this on a tablet since it was mimicking a phone's interface, so it didn't occur to me to test on a tablet. :)

    I'm going to tinker with what's on Google Play over time and will keep the untouched LD entry hosted on my own site, but that will be later in the week.

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Really really awesome idea! Had some trouble with the voice recognition but I'm not a native english speaker so it may have had some problems with my voice.
    Hope you guys flesh this out more!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:35am

    I didn't manage to get this running :-( I downloaded it to my Android phone (SH007), it opens the "phone" screen, but then nothing happens. Trying to call agent 1 and 2 gives no result. Trying to call HQ asks "do you want to restart the mission"? And clicking yes to that gives no results :-(

    I'm not sure if that is a problem with the sound on my phone, or if the game is just failing to start. :-(

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:30am

    I was afraid of that caranha. I'm not at all sure how well or widely some of these apis are supported, or how well different phones will handle so much voice acting.

    Did you hear anything at all? Ambient sounds? Voices? Or nothing?

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03am

    Wahou ! What a concept ! I have not any mobile so i can't test your game. But your video is so thrilling that i give you some very good ratings :) Please port your game for PC or navigator !!!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38am

    TheCze : You are correct. Because I am a native US english speaker my speech processing very much assumes that it will receive unaccented english input. I have no idea how Android thinks you pronounce words, and I'm not sure I really could make such a prediction... maybe this is possible, but I do not know how I would account for accented english?

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:42am

    The concept is brilliant. It's like a choose your adventure game, only based on sound instead of text... It has its advantages and drawbacks, but it could definitely become a thing!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    So perfect concept! I LOVE IT. Still, I can't play on my phone, i talk, i talk, i talk, but nobody answer :\ Will try again tonight. COngrats thougt for the idea!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    Pitoum : What phone? What do you say? Where do you live? Is English your native language? Do you hear anything when you call an agent, or is it always silent?

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    wow just wow. Never seen or heard of anything like this before!
    10/10

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    I wish there were more innovation marks I could give. This was *awesome*. I feel like a kid. If you need graphics and incidental music for this one, count me in please. And please, please do develop for iOS as well if at all possible.

    Fangirl love all over the place

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:17am

    excellent idea!! sadly i am Without Phone to play it but it is great that you guys pulled this off!!

    DalsGames says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:07am

    As above I have to say that your idea is great! Unfortunaly I could not play the game on my Samsung Galaxy sII. I could start and call the agents but when I tried to give them commands nothing happend. Excellent take on the theme aswell!

    Madball says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    I don't have an Android, so I can't test it. However it's really cool. You can play it in public place and the people will think you are talking by phone. Totally super!
    (...though I can use an Android simulator...)

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    The idea is really cool, and your gameplay video was great!
    Tried it on my Galaxy S but couldn't get any of my instructions recognized... Guess I should work on my English skills ;)
    I'm not rating the game since I couldn't properly experience it, but good concept.

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    A brilliant Idea, Innovation 5/5 for sure.

    Unfortunatly the voice recognition didn't work at all for me but i it was fun to watch the Gameplay-Video.

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:06am

    None of the voice recognition worked on my Samsung Infuse / Android 4.1 :( cool concept though

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:51am

    crashes on my droidX2, something about unable to load the mp3 files..

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Hey recursive.frog. Answering your question: I hear nothing at all. I can switch between the phone screen and the contact list screen, and the game respond to me clicking on "HQ", but other than that, no sound. I can try to provide you with any extra info you might need.

    As for the "accent" issue, you might want to add an option where the game will write back what it understood to the screen. This might break the immersion a bit (thus an option), but might help people identify why they can't be understood by the game.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    caranha: The way the speech recognition works, I actually receive a long list of possible candidates for what the device thinks it heard. I'm not sure I could fit 20 lines of text on the screen. ;)

    HOWEVER

    I have found that the newest phones (those running JellyBean) will be unable to play this game as it is now becasue my game relies on the on-device speech recognition API, but Google has disabled it in Jellybean and instead requires you to send all speech to their servers so they can decode it and send it back. LAAAAAAAME! How can you possibly have a low-latency game control scheme like that?

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Oh god, fucking brilliant idea

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:38pm

    Great idea. Had a lot of fun with this one.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    I can't play this because I don't have a droid. I wish I could. It looks awesome!

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    I wish I could play this :( it sounds very interesting.

    LPGhatguy says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:45am

    The game crashes on my Asus Transformer Pad TF300T (Android 4.1.1 Jellybean) on startup. Cool concept though, I remember discussing it briefly with you on IRC.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:59am

    LPGhatguy : Yep, I get the same thing on TF201. The crash bug I think I have a good solution for, but there's a deeper problem in Jellybean that I'm afraid will break suspension of disbelief for players even once the TF crash bug is solved.

    Sad to say but for now the game is best played on Gingerbread and (possibly) ICS.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    Sadly my only Android device is an old Galaxy 551 running 2.2 and it 'ended unexpectedly' on startup of the game. Such a great idea, though. I can imagine this type of game as a new genre, for example a game version of The Bone Collector where you play as Denzel Washington's character.

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    Can't run it on my old phone.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    The game wanted to use the Samsung voice recognition in stead of the Google one, and didn't seem to work at all.
    That was a shame altough now my girlfriend doesn't have to doubt my sanity anymore ('who are you talking to?').

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    goerp : Which phone was it? Which OS version?

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:59am

    Nice idea! (though it makes me hard to decide points for graphics).

    blob says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    Don't have a fancy phone but its a really cool concept! I liked how you added the goat to the game :)

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    Tried this both on Nexus One (2.3.6) and on Galaxy Nexus (4.2.1), but speech recognition doesn't do much. Often the agents don't respond at all, and if they do, they often just ask me to repeat what I just said. Once or twice they seemed to have interpreted my words as "what do you see" even though I said something quite different. I am not a native (UK) English speaker but I don't have much of an accent. Five stars for innovation though; this could be really cool when these problems have been worked out.

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    I need a phone seriously, this maybe the reason I buy a fancy phone.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    I really want to try this but we only have Android 2.2!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    Whoa. Epic game idea and execution. Thanks a lot for the gameplay videos. Helped a lot to get the picture when you don't have an android phone at hand. I'd love to give it a try out here.
    Really awesome idea and great great work. Finish this and it will become a huge hit.

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    The original Android build did not work on my Galaxy S3, but the latest build does. It does struggle to understand my South African accent, but it occasionally recognizes my words and works correctly. Brilliant concept!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    @voidstar69 : Thank you for giving the game another shot after all this time, and thank you for the confirmation about your Galaxy S3. It's very valuable information!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:18am

    Wow interesting idea, thanks for including a video so I can experience gameplay even though I don't have an android device.

    pereubu says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:02pm

    Oh my oh my oh my, i saw some gameplay videos and i'm so frustrated not being able to play, i'll do so soon but i'll not be able to rate the game, gaaaaaaaaaaaah D:

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]