Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 16 hours, 18 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dig-Dug Dungeon - bigbadwofl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Please leave a comment when you vote so I know to vote for you too!

    Written in JavaScript.

    Browsers:
    Chrome: Best
    Opera: Good
    Firefox: Works but too slow
    IE: Untested in newest version, might work
    Safari: Untested but should work well

    Sorry if the game becomes slow for you. Javascript + Lots of minions + pathfinding makes computers sad.

    View bigbadwofl's journal. | View all entries by bigbadwofl

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #63Overall3.66
    #101Audio3.30
    #104Fun3.43
    #128Mood3.28
    #217Humor2.97
    #254Theme3.45
    #317Innovation2.96
    #351Graphics2.98

    Comments

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Great effort, lovely dungeon keeper clone - "WHY AREN'T THERE GOATS?" :-)

    celsyum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    after playing for a while game starts lagging and almost crashed my browser. Anyway , idea is awesome.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    @celsyum - thanks for the feedback. What browser where you playing in?

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    This gets its high rating from me, not from innovation (DK), but from awesome music and the funny things the minions say, and the fact that it's a fully functioning RTS in 48 hours!
    This is surely how DK would have looked on the C64 ;)

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    wow wow wow WOW WOW WOW I WANT MOAR.

    ADD A KICKSTARTER AND I WILL GIVE YOU MY MONEY :)

    5 stars <3

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    @DST and @har_g: You guys! Thank you very much, I appreciate the kind words.

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    The music was fun, the game was too. Though the music kept getting off sometimes. Nice work.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    @joekinley: sorry about that. The plugin I use to generate the chiptune sounds with bugs out when I export tracks to mp3.

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Dungeon Keeper in my browser? Yay for that. Although it feels a bit slow having only one minion.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    @Smaxx- In the help file and on the splash screen I detail the commands. C + Left click to buy extra minions

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

    "Oh you are a cruel master!"
    Loved this game!

    metadept says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Had a lot of fun digging around (I love fortress design!) but got frustrated with the AI hanging. Tried to widen some hallways in my base, but that ended up freezing it permanently. Put some kind of failure condition in your (I assume it's pathfinding), add a few types of entities, and I could spend hours on this. Great soundtrack, too.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    The IA works very well, nicely done. Also music is nice.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    @metadept: Thanks for the feedback. What browser were you playing in?

    Yapikom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    No first person possession? No can do dude 0/10.

    ...

    Really nice game there. Could've used some more variety, but the lovely music (made me SID-nostalgic) made up for it.

    There's one very big problem though. It doesn't work like it should.

    Google Chrome/Komodo Dragon freezes after a while and Firefox is just too slow like stated. Haven't tried any other browsers.

    I should mention that my computer kinda sucks though.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    I love what I have seen. Unfortunately it froze after a while and even after 10 minutes it is still not responsive at all. The music is awesome.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36am

    I loved the music and once I figured out the somewhat unusual controls I had a good time building out my dungeon! Both times I played I died unexpectedly -- I didn't see any knights near my reaper at all, they all looked to be in some other box. :( Maybe I just wasn't paying close enough attention. A good entry!

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41am

    AWESOME GAME! I love this. At first I almost gave up because I couldn't figure it out, but once I did, I loved it. This deserves a full release.....make it happen!

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09am

    A wonderful little game! With a clear goal, you want to keep going and you are very satisfied when you succeed! unfortunately my game froze when i was about to kill my first enemy, but still a great game!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23am

    Hero seems to be missing.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:27am

    @Suese: How so? The heroes spawn in rooms in random locations at the edges of the map.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    The game looks awesome and I can really the amount of effort that went in this.
    Great graphics and mood as well. However I would have loved a button for "deselect all", rigt now it can get very messy if you move your mouse incorrectly :D

    Harrk says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    It was interesting and I really liked it. Just I couldn't figure out how to add more minions even after I was pressing C+Left Click, then again I'm on a laptop so it's a little awkward.

    Shot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    Good fun, and very satisfying to dig around with your minions, but suffered from a significant performance drop after a while (just after I came across enemies, I think)

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Awesome! I really enjoy to play it!
    All is good : it's fun, nice, a good music,and I don't encountered any bug or lag, even with 22 minions.

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Wow, incredible! Amazingly complex for 48 hours, but presented in an easily digestible manner. Really enjoyed this - my only complaint would be that it was a bit too easy. Great job!

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Nice dungeon digger with cool atmosphere :D

    Enjoyed playing it however it took me a lot of diggin before finding heroes to kill and relics which made the game a bit repetitive. Maybe smaller map or more actions! I might have been unlucky with the randomly generated map (?) though.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    btw your username is awesome ;D

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:08am

    I started this thinking 'I probably won't be playing this for very long'. 15 minutes later I was still exploring. Very addictive gameplay, paced very well and tons of potential. Great work!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:13am

    Nice idea.

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20am

    Surprisingly brilliant. Didn't want to stop but had to go to dinner. Bookmarked!

    blob says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Great to have a dungeon keeper in a browser! Could be very nice with some added complexity and higher difficulty !
    Cool tune too.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:00am

    I had a very good time on this game.
    Music is good, things are pretty simple to play, great game !!!
    Only thing ashame with the HTML5 dev is that it lags after a while even with chrome.
    But kudos for the game !

    jujule says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:07am

    As everybody else said : great game. So much done in 48 hours !!!

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39am

    I really enjoyed tunneling up to the enemy bases. I also had the slowdown issue. I was using Chrome. It went away after a fight. Right before it seemed that half my (so 12-ish) guys were attempting to engage two heroes through the wall. Both my guys and the heroes seemed to have seen each other and would not move. Not sure if that helps, but I hope it does.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43am

    @tim_u: Thanks for detailing when your game crashed. They shouldn't be able to see enemies through walls but I'll check the code anyway. Thanks again.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Loved it! Played it through to completion. Sent it to my friends. Excellent work.
    Had some sever slow-down issues once the I had a few minions, but it went away when they killed some of the adventurers.

    nulld says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:48am

    Very cool sound, like it.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:22am

    This was awesome. Generated terrain, moaning minions, gold and hero-smashing! I encountered the slowdown too at one point, it happens when the imps get confused on how to build a path when you have a bigger area between open areas marked to dig out, they build walls and dig and sort of lock themselves in probably making the pathfinding grind to a halt. Mine got out of that situation tho and I finished the game fine! Good mood, humour and tone.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    Nice simple dwarf fortress! Well done!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    I really interesting little game. The mechanics are really interesting and spent a lot of time playing this.

    The music you made is quite nice after you get used to it. And I liked how you represented what was going on in the game.

    Not bad at all. Only thing I would have added was the ability to kill your minions - you are death after all.

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    Quite enjoyed this, great effort...!

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Very awesome!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Excellent dungeon keeper clone, quite amazing to do all this in such a short time.

    grifdail says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:48pm

    Awesomness !!! Very fun to play ! It's remind me a beat of "Dungeon keeper" . The game is so well, i can't stop thinking "it's have'nt been made in two day !?"
    Even the help line were fun !
    Whoua ! I just look at my watch. I have been playing since 2Hours !
    GREAT WORK ! Best summition so far !

    Manest says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Really really nice, I passed a realy long time playing

    somes things :
    - music can't be cut
    - scrolling is to slow
    - Clic is not realy accurate and don't work fine lot of time (Firefox)

    little things, rest are great
    thank

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    @Manest: Thanks for the feedback but you really shouldn't be playing it on FF. It has probably the worst JS performance in this game.

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:06pm

    Very cool idea. I also liked how you made the instructions sit in their own page, that was helpful.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Superb! Making a realtime stretagy game by yourself alone in 48 hours is amazing. I am thinking the pace is too slow or things too scarce for now, but still this is a very cool minimalistic RTS.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Great game happening here. I was expecting digdug, but it's way better.

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Great game! Really enjoyed playing it, probably will even play it again later. Good job!

    Azlen says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    Very fun. I ended up victorious with like 20 minions.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Great work. More variety would be good.

    Also, it eventually slowed down to an absolute crawl - think I may have marked too many places for mining?

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    NIce job! Fun gameplay and I love that the minions have their own little personalities :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Nice Dungeon Keeper de-make.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Very fun game! I haven't even gotten to the heroes yet and I'm having a blast just digging to gold veins. Not sure if anyone else had this issue, but it seemed to be tracking my mouse at the center of the pointer image instead of the top left, and that was kind of frustrating for placing beds or clicking on certain tiles.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    The character looks like characters from realm of the mad god =O your game is cool XD

    Meep says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Overall fun game; Clicking stuff felt a little buggy at times, and the art could use work. Other than that though, great work! Could be further expanded on into something amazing. :)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:42am

    awww, very cute! I also liked the depressing music!

    deathray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Great game, my favorite so far! I even beat it. :)
    Is the GL stuff from a framework?

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:57am

    This is amazing. Great job!

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:32am

    Absolutely great entry. There's something inherently attractive in these 'dig terrain' games :D

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    Great interpretation of DunKeep. Misses a little something for combat :)

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    I played your game for like 45 minutes without realizing it. I also love your clever non-use of goats.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    This really kept me going for some time.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Nice game. I loved the dialogs and the humor!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Music is awesome but too loud.

    Per says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    Liked the game idea.
    It took me to long to find any heroes?

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Excellent game! I enjoyed playing it and had to replay it some times, because one time definitely was not enougt! Good job.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Love the music!

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:11am

    A wonderful game. The music was good, the graphics decent, and the gameplay was fun.

    It would've been nice to be able to drag a selection of where you want the minions to dig; constantly clicking got annoying after a while.

    Dew says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Remembered me Dwarf fortress. Nice idea but need more things, and lagged my browser a lot

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Excellent work here, you should continue this !

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:55am

    Neat little dungeon building game, pretty fun although there wasn't that much dungeon building involved. Could've done with more variety.

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Nice entry :) Took me a while to get it though (the bottom bar wouldn't show until I switch to full screen)
    Works perfectly on Opera (Linux) btw

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Wow, I really had fun playing your game, good job :)

    ilo says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:05am

    Very promising effort, bigbadwofl. Unfortunately, The lag got a bit too much in the end, but I enjoyed it nonetheless! :)

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:26am

    The chiptune rhythm and solid rectangles of varied dirt pleased my senses while I dug for gold and gems, built beds and summoned minions. If you continue to develop, when I had 7 imps and was beside the heroes and their relic, the game slowed down. On my laptop the HUD was just off the bottom of the screen.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    Minions made me feel sad :(
    Good job!

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    nice!

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Really enjoyed this one!

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    Fun, but really easy. Really enjoyed the look and music.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Interesting, although a bit too simple and slow.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    Pretty Interesting. Be sure to post code too :)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    Very enjoyable, not all that challenging. If the Heroes were a little more offensive, it could have been even better.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    Solid.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:29am

    The music was a bit off-sounding to me, but the rest of the game played really well.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:02am

    Love the pixel art and music!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:55am

    Epic music during load! Really got me pumped to play the game. Despite my not being very good at these kinds of games (Darn you Spacebase DF-9!) I do like playing them.

    It was good AI and the things they said were really funny! Great job :)

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:16am

    This is a great game! I love the music! Sadly I suffered from the lag problem after playing a while, but before it happened I was having a ton of fun!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]