Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 7 minutes, 17 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The deathray - strong99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    --- Story in short
    You're an evil villain who wants to destroy the world. You found yourself in his
    lair, high above the clouds, ready to fire your deathray when heroes try to ruin
    the party! You locked them up tightly in the dockingbay and are going to blast the
    world to certain doom! Starting with New York and Philadelphia.

    As you're ready to fire you find yourself in a deadly situation, the engines are dying.
    Probably because of those heroes. You have to fix them while you fire blasts to Earth.

    >> Control repair drones
    >> Repair machines
    >> Fire deathrays
    >> Fancy panels
    >> Minimap

    --- Installation windows:
    None required, just run the villain.exe

    --- Keys
    W,A,S,D: moving
    E,LeftMouse: do something
    Mouse: watch

    --- Libraries used
    Irrlicht 1.8 - http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/
    Irrklang 1.4 - http://www.ambiera.com/irrklang/index.html

    View strong99's journal. | View all entries by strong99

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #105Graphics3.77
    #174Theme3.64
    #213Innovation3.19
    #267Humor2.82
    #288Overall3.13
    #361Mood2.78
    #437Audio2.19
    #507Fun2.54

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    game is downlading very slow, maybe consider changing server?

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Yes thank you for noting. Changed the main download link to another node. It should be much quicker now.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    twisted game logic. i think game was made earlier and then adjusted to this LD

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Thank you for playing JacksGamesSucks. I'm not sure what you mean with the twisted game logic? A good villain should be twisted to reach its target. But the gameplay itself is rather linear. Can you explain what you mean? Thanks ;)

    I'm unsure about what you mean with "I think the game was made earlier", is that supposed to be a compliment? It isn't nice to accuse someone.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Hard to manage an evil base alone !

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Excellent, I just killed bunch of heroes!!

    Razion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40am

    This is actually frighteningly hard. Bots are slow, energy and coolant dies incredibly quickly. Not bad, though. That background music is terribly unsettling though. I had to mute my headphones very shortly after launching the game.

    Wukkopi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Nice game and concept, could have used some kind of indicator to tell when deathray is above correct target, and maybe stroking the target on the todo list, when the target is actually destroyed. (or i didn't manage to destroy, or do anything useful :D)

    Jlebow says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46am

    I was never quite sure what I needed to do to win even after playing 4 or 5 times.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:19am

    @Jlebow the subtitles tell you what you have to do and the TODO list on the large map next to you in the control room shows a list of things, mainly: destroying cities.

    @Wukkopi currently only the minimap shows the position of the station. An indicator would have been useful ^^. Stroking it on the todo list didn't make it sadly :(

    @Razion hard thing to find tune such difficulty :( Not sure what you did but you can go down to the Canon room and set priorities on the drones driving there instead of waiting in the drone & control rooms.

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53am

    Very nice concept, really. Mabye I just suck too much in this game, but I wish it was actually possible to shoot more than once and accomplish all parts of evil plan.

    celsyum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09am

    idea is briliant

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Very nice. Quite an ambitious project!

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Great idea, surprising amount of implementation.
    Far too easy to blow yourself up before teh subtitles have even got near to warning you about things though. Also mad hard.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Nice graphics. You really made then in 48 hours?

    It was a bit confusing. I kept running out of energy and I didn't know why... it was still fun.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    It's like a pocket world, the base seems functional with all the gadgets and drones. It's immersive how you're managing it from the inside, not from an abstract strategy perspective.

    But the music... please make it stop! I can't take it anymore!

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    @pighead10 Managing the base costs allot of energy ;) As pighead10 notes, the music didn't get as much polishing as the rest of the content :p but yeh, 48 hours - some decent amount of sleep ;)You could check out my "How did I do it" guide from last year.

    @Jiggawatt Exactly what I was aiming for, except the music part :P

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    This game is so cool. That's an impressive amount of 3D models with such nice textures for such a small space of time.

    I wasn't really sure how to launch missiles though. I moved it over where I thought Philly was and tried to click, but accomplished nothing.

    The drones were really cool.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    I was unable to play te game efficiently I was always running trying to repair the steam point, but I always end crashing the ship. If I try to use control panel it just make things worst. It's still an incredible ammount of work for 48h and a very good interpretation for this theme

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:52am

    this is incredibly hard, and I can't tell if I hit the cities or not..

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:14am

    @Alex Rose & moomoo112 if you check the Earth after you shot you can tell there's little chance you missed the spot ;) It leaves a huge crater

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:54pm

    Really really hard, but something about it kept me playing again and again. In the end I was unable to fulfill the evil plan unfortunately :( I think I'll just take my pet and fly to another planet with a shuttle and let the station crash on philadelphia ;) Great work!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    I thought the game was pretty cool! It felt like an evil villain's base. :) The bots were a little weird. The concept of fixing everything was good, but I always died due to having sent all of my bots to fix a number of different things, and then something else breaking and me not being able to fix it as the bots were elsewhere. I still very much liked it though. Congrats on finishing something rather ambitious in 48 hours. :)

    markengley says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Well done for how much work you got done. The game design could have done more focus, but the world looked excellent.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Nice environment, graphics and models. lol - the music almost made me lose my sanity. wasn't exactly sure what i was doing either - but very nicely done.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    Hm, on my WinXP VM I get an error that the app is not a valid Win32 application when I try to open it. Will try later.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    That's odd zenmumbler, maybe the archive was corrupted on expanding? The code used is pure C++, no win api. You can recompile it on your Linux or Mac system too using the Irrlicht and Irrklang libs. Irrlicht supports OpenGl and software render :)

    jmaasing says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:15pm

    Good job on the theme and evil genius base! I liked the little map and general idea, but the gameplay wasn't particularly fun, unfortunately. Running back and forth checking meters and clicking on drones never made me feel particularly in control of my fate.

    Nisshoku says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    Impressive graphics for such a short time. Was rather hard to find out what to do. Also, it takes too long before the subtitles tell you what to do. I suggest next time make a message box, in which you can print multiple messages and let the player read at his own pace?

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:47am

    @strong99: Is it possible to get a Mac/Web build?

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Web build, no sadly, for Mac the source should directly compile under mac but I don't have a Mac system to compile on. Still busy with that ;) :(

    Doublecaster says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:08pm

    It was fun to play, but it was hard. Managing all the cores and trying to destroy the world at the same time. I am not sure if I even destroyed any cities.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]