Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 18 minutes, 55 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 18 minutes, 56 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Under the Bed - Logun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    [Update] : bug fix with collision (for C2 owner, was overlaping instead of collision with object between the light and the monster). Nothing else changed. And there is Src now !

    You control a monster. You have to scare children in a dormitory.

    Hard arcade style ! Avoiding the light is not easy, you have to think about your route. (Pro tips : start from the beds on the right).

    Have fun every one !

    Arrows to move
    G & J to shake a bed
    H to Hide
    F5 if you want to retry !

    View Logun's journal. | View all entries by Logun

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #31Theme4.08
    #71Innovation3.69
    #95Mood3.38
    #142Graphics3.59
    #173Overall3.36
    #217Humor2.97
    #234Fun3.11
    #550Audio1.58

    Comments

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    Your source link is dead.

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06am

    Thank you, I deleted the link. I will try to give a good one asap !

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45am

    It's original

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

    I love the monster animation

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52am

    Great idea, but very difficult, like you said!

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20am

    The lady's light is more often on the top beds. Try to attack the other children first ;)

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15am

    nice game, a leaderboard and a retry button would make it complete =)

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    AAAAAAAAAAAAWESOME

    boxerbomb says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    hard but orignal

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Rough but fun!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Lovely graphics, nice game idea too.

    I wish I could draw like that!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    nice idea, but tricky gameplay... nice graphics and awesomely creepy looking monster!

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    Great idea! "You score when a child is crying" - that's evil. Graphics are great, and makes the game very understandable while still unique. Nice job..

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Beautiful animations, and great concept! I'm not sure how to avoid getting spotted, the lady just keeps staying at the bed. Reminds me of some parts of Super Mario RPG.

    rumachine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    wow, that is a beautiful game.

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    Yeah, I had no time to finish her behaviors when no child is crying. She have to back to her chair. Actually, you must move before she come ;) !

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    The monster animation is lovely - and so are the graphics overall. It's really a pity you don't have sound effects (crying! wooshing!) or music to build more atmosphere!

    The gameplay is cool, but sometimes I have problems figuring out if I will be spotted. I'm not sure if I play it wrong or if it's not too clear.

    Overall: Good job!

    PS: Good work with the title screen. Your post in the blog while you developed got me to try this game out.

    PPS: Restart with F5 instead of an easily reachable key? :/

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    In fact, the variables didn't want to reset properly with the key. Sadly, I chose to avoid this problem and concentrate on the lady IA (1/2 of my time on this game I think).
    The light isn't very buggy (very few times, she can spot you frome everywhere :D), but hard to avoid ! The route must be a bit planned ;)

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    really difficult couldn't quite get the old lady to go back to her post. interesting concept though!

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57am

    Very neat idea; I really enjoyed it. :) The monster animation was a very nice touch.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18am

    I just love the idea of this game! Is amazing!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56am

    quick and simple, and yet I keep reloading the page :)

    Great atmosphere, really appropriate graphics, and an overall "I am a sneaky monster" feeling that is hard to describe and that I don't really know how to express in the rating.

    The only think I don't like is the "shaking the bed" controls. I don't think smashing the keyboard matches the sneaky gameplay

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    very nice concept and execution! Although I was hopeless at it, I kept trying!

    iamorim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Great game. Old idea about monsters but new concept. There could be a restart button :P

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13pm

    Great mood! Loved the controls too, nice job!

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    Quite tricky, and fun :)

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Neat animation for the monster :D But is it possible to fill even a single scared-rate bar? :p I loved this concept anyway!

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44pm

    Original and beautiful. I love it.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Loved the concept. Very original. I filled a few bars but nothing happened. Would be neat if that was a requirement and there were a couple other things in the game. Very good start and very original and cool idea. Worth playing with some more.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    Great idea! Unique concept and charming art style :D

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Oh, if only this had creepy soundscapes and scattering monster claw feet sound effects, it would be perfect! That creature is hideous, I'm glad I'm not a kid on some orphanage... Or Am I? DUN DUN DUN

    Faust says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Cool concept, but I just can't fill up a full gauge, does anyone make it?

    Logun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Me ;)

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Nice idea but game is quite simple.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Really cool and innovative gameplay, i liked the monster design too, he looked really cool!

    SunShiranui says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Nice game, but I wish it had better button placement!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:58am

    She spots me when I'm far away :/ But very very original and awesome! I felt evil

    Logun says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Just after the competition, a friend tell me the game has a left handed configuration, I didn't notice it during the 48 hours ! :/

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    This is an incredible idea :D

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:31am

    Cute game ! I like the monster you play, slipping from bed to bed. Very good idea !

    laaph says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Awesomest game I've played from LD25 so far!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    The game is good but I had little trouble understanding how to not be seen.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:45pm

    Cool idea but that darn lady catches you all the time.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

    Very cute and original. Great entry.

    Mythalore says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Very nice art and original gameplay, well done.

    Winterblood says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Feels slightly clunky to move around, and I'm not a fan of the track-and-field toggling TBH. But a *great* monster design and overall concept!

    goerp says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Thats a scary monster. Very well done.
    Also very original take on the theme.

    I like it a lot.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:22am

    That monster really looks scary! Great job on that! I enjoyed making strategies on the order of kids to scare. Other than that, I failed a couple times when I thought the light wasn't going to spot me. A retry button would be nice.

    steamgirl says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:34pm

    Hahaha! Loved this! It's simple, fun, great graphics. I love the big monster claws and the way it feels. Unqiue, quirky, full of personality. Really enjoyed it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]