Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 3 hours, 51 minutes, 8 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 4 hours, 39 minutes, 8 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    One Armed Invader - PapyGaragos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    [The entire game is played with the space bar and the mouse]
    [If your screen is too small, scroll down, the top of the screen is just some fancy graphics]

    You are the mighty (and feared) commander of an alien ship who stumble upon earth.

    You need to assign your crew members to different work teams, and try to match the symbols to get what you want.

    Multiple things can happen; depending on which symbols you matched.



    -----------
    Tools Used
    -----------
    FlashDevelop - flixel
    Inkscape - gimp
    bfxr - audacity

    "24" seasons 1 & 2
    And not a single drop of coffee :)

    -----------
    Misc
    -----------
    For every LD I participated , I tried to focus on a very specific aspect of my game. This time, I focused on the graphics, which I have absolutly NO experience with. So if you like the look of my game, you can thank that guy >> http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.fr/

    I might change the swf after the deadline if I find some typos or grammaticals errors, but I apart from that, I consider that game complete, polished, and pretty much balanced.

    I hope you enjoy the ride as an alien commander!

    View PapyGaragos's journal. | View all entries by PapyGaragos

    Ratings

    Coolness91%
    #103Humor3.39
    #187Innovation3.25
    #280Graphics3.15
    #313Theme3.31
    #376Overall2.96
    #437Audio2.19
    #447Mood2.64
    #448Fun2.67

    Comments

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    A very good game ! One of my favorites. Nice and funny, but there is an end ? I tried a lot !

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:03am

    One of the most innovative LDs I've played! I love the mechanic, but I wish there were metrics so I could measure my progress!

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    As I understood the mechanics, I became curious how the rules engine beneath it works.. care to describe?

    23 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:32pm

    That was funny!

    ix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    Odd slot machine game.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    Quite a clever concept when I finally understood what was going on, but it would *really* benefit from a bit more instruction.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

    Wow cool game :D The graphics are awesome and it's the first one i've player for longer than 10 minutes :) the only thing that's missing is some background music

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    thank you all :)

    @logun There is a game over yes - if you let the humans destroy your ship - but no real winning conditions. I guess you can call it an end when you have seen all the dialogs, or when you don't see more nuclear blasts appearing on the planet after an attack.

    @01010111 I also agree on the lack of metrics / feedback for the player. My original intention was to display some animations each time you match symbols, or when there is an event(think "advance war"). I actually have a lab animation where you see aliens severing poor humans, but that turned out to be VERY time consuming (especially for my noob skills with inkscape). So knowing I could make other, I decided to remove it from the game

    @Will It is actually really simple : when you match a symbol, it generates a certain amount of that ressource (depending on the number of symbol matched, and the number of workers). Then, there is just a huge list of "if (ressource < 10) ... else if (ressource < 50)..." for each ressource :)
    All I do in those "if" is basically displaying a dialog and some times adding/removing a symbol to the wheel.
    Feel free to take a look in the source, but it is really just a huge if else.

    @casino Agreed, friends told me that during their tests. But since my game is just a "smash the space bar", I could'nt really find a way to explain it more without adding a boring wall of text like "if you match 3 shields, it will charge up".
    I actually hoped all those random absurd texts and the "story" would keep the player in the game long enough for him to understand the mechanics by himself. At least it worked for you, so I wasn't totally wrong :)

    @emveyh I also felt a background music could have been a great addition; but I couldn't find a way to give an "alien" or "space" feeling to it, so I gave up and added a bunch of random texts instead :)

    markengley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    Nice work. Hard to understand the mechanic at first but after that it's kind of compulsive...

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:32am

    I absolutely loved the dialogues.

    wzl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    This is great! The dialogues are hilarious. The mechanics take a little to get used to.

    And eventually i put all my men in one team and a nuclear strike wiped them all out. Had 0 men left but the game was still running. Should check for that condition ;)

    Minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#PapyGaragos

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    Interesting theme on slot machine.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:16am

    A bit slow, but addicting and with lots of humour. Our beloved emperor Zorg, omg! Also, what does the number of workers change?

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:24am

    Good: I liked the graphics.
    Improve: I did not get the idea of the game.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:58am

    The dialog is what kept me playing this game. Very simple mechanic that works out well with the story progression, a nice touch! I was confused at first at what the controls are...and I wasn't really sure what allocating aliens on each row really does. Overall a good game!

    h.attila says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    It's an unusual idea, but nice execution. Some win condition could've made it better and some indicator to know how far away you are from your goals.

    MortalWombat says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:42pm

    Very nice!
    I ended up not being able to recover, though, because I lost all my men...

    Is there a winning condition?

    celsyum says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    very addictive game (y)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Nice innovation and theme interpretation. Wish I would've known that there is no win condition before playing for 10 minutes after I actually reached 'the end'. Took a long while to figure out what the heck was going on, but I figured it out and was able to get what I wanted every turn.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]