Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 6 hours, 6 minutes, 10 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cell 22 - Pitoum - Jam Entry

    UPDATE: I made a mistake while uploading the post-compo version. Please do not rate sound! I did it after the jam.

    "You are innocent. But you are in a prison. And today, you have an opportunity to escape, no matter what."

    The game let you choose how you want to play it. Like guns and kicks? Let's fight your way out! Prefer infiltration? Sneak out quietly! Curious about the place and why you're here? Take the time to speak to the other prisonners.

    There is multiple endings (well, as much as we can do during a jam).

    As usual I quiet lost the theme during the dev, but if you pay attention, even if it's not obvious, it's really there!

    Our main inspiration was the movie "Old Boy" and a specific scene of it.

    Well, hope you'll enjoy it!

    Controls:
    Move: left & right arrows
    Crouch/dodge: down arrow
    Interact: up & down arrows
    Dialog: arrows
    Shoot/hit everything or everyone: spacebar

    Art : Dziff
    Code : Pitoum

    View Pitoum's journal. | View all entries by Pitoum

    Ratings

    Coolness93%
    #4Mood(Jam)4.26
    #12Graphics(Jam)4.51
    #37Overall(Jam)3.69
    #88Fun(Jam)3.18
    #112Innovation(Jam)3.13
    #176Theme(Jam)3.24
    #257Humor(Jam)1.97
    #263Audio(Jam)1.37

    Comments

    gerafin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03am

    I loved the style, it was definitely an A+ mood game. Good stuff!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    it won't load :( Looks good though.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    @Suese: Did you try the download? :(

    Peping says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    Wow. This game is darker than the darkest coffee. It has a great and variable story, amazing visuals and it draws the player in. The controls could use some polishing and a key to skip dialogs is missing, the game could be much better if it had more sounds, but overall, I think this is a great piece worth winning this contest.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    Good Entry I like the art style!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    Highly polished. You shouldn't leave this one alone, keep at it.

    Cell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    CELL!
    Fun game anyhow, :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    fun!

    radmars says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    totally baller visual style. It was a bit hard to tell which guards will shoot you though. Some will let you walk right in front of them others will shoot you the instant they're on screen. Incredibly immersible though! Awesome job~

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    it loaded very, very slow. But such a polished game is totally worth the wait.

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    This game is awesome! It really needs sound

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Moving, nice graphics and story, well done.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

    Awesome. Outstanding visuals and plays really nicely. Some of the guards are maybe a little trigger-happy, I got shot a couple of times before I could even see them.

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    Very moody. A lot of cool solutions. The sound is needed. Very good design, with the potential :) Well done.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    This is really hard!
    I managed to get to the end once, but screwed it because i press the arrow keys before reading what was going on (too much stress)! This is an awesome entry, on every single point. Except audio of course, the game really needs audio, but I guess you know it, and there is no need to remuer le carambar dans la carie.

    I love the mood, I love the gards' different patterns, I love the graphics, I love the talking, I love the choices, I love the crazy man, and I'm sure I'll love the ending when I'll manage to get through the game a second time.

    I really didn't understand why the number of bullets changed. At first I thought the further you went on your previous try, the higher number of bullet you get, and I thought it was a PERFECT idea to counterpart the difficulty of the game (something like "hey, you already managed to go that far with your fists, here, take these bullets")

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Was easy to get to the end once you realized you had to ignore the gun and hide. I'd likely have not even had a gun in the game so it wasn't confusing. Was fun to progress and avoid guards. The ending...I guess there are multiples and I got the one where the little girl saw blood on my hands and screamed. Not sure there's enough here to be a game yet, but close. The art and style is strong enough to continue with, so I'd explore it and see how much fun you can mine from it.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    Wow, thanks folks for all this great feedbacks! It's so great you enjoyed it!

    About the sound: yes we know, it's needed :\ but we actually didn't managed to compose a music in the small amount of time we accord it to. It's a shame. Next time we sure will pay more attention to that!

    @Pierrec: About the bullets, we first think to make the number depend on the will of an other player, but ludum dare is what it is, so we abandonned that pretty soon. Then I thought it could depend on the difficulty how you suggest it (and I like your idea) but finally I like it random, because that mean you can get just one bullet and so the first ending have much more meaning I think.

    @GeorgesBroussard: Maybe the gun will show you an other ending :)

    deathray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:41am

    Very good game. Easy to pick up, and if I could give 6+ stars for mood, I would!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:35am

    Echoing what others said. This is a really great entry. I never quite made it out with the stealth route the way I wanted to, but I did enjoy what you've done here with the visuals and the storytelling. Great job!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:55pm

    Nice. Sound would increase the mood.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    Love the graphics and stealth. Really need to add some sounds.

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Awesome graphics, and the gameplay is interesting, except I never made it past the first guy with a gun.

    And now that you mention it the inspiration from the epic corridor scene in Old Boy is pretty obvious indeed, good reference!

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:02am

    Nice text and art style :)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    I like the graphics and the global ambiance :)

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:19am

    A nice idea and incredibly polished. Put some sounds / ambient music in it, and you'll have an moody and immersive game.
    I have to ask : is prisoner #31 a reference to Face McShooty in Borderlands 2 ? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVpg0vws10Y)

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    Thanks again folks :)
    @allinlabs: He totally is :)

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    wow great one !

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:54am

    Great presentation, with a nice implementation of branching moral choice and even some stealth! Rolling Thunder vibe.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:14am

    Pretty good, the game design feels a little confused but the art and mood are solid.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Beautifully dark and moody game. I got the first ending (by starting to walk at the time the instructions appeared...) and the one where the little girl thinks I'm a murderer. Too bad you need to play through the whole thing again to get the different endings, because it's just the same thing over again. Would love to talk to the cop at the end more... why is he letting me go?

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    There is some very interesting gameplay. Well served by good graphics. It really get me in a dark mood, in a dark universe. I enjoyed it a lot ! Quick.. Get some music to strenghen the ambience !

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:25am

    Great art. The sprites reminded me of LCD games or Game & Watch, if there's a post compo version I'd like to see them refined to look more like that.

    While I liked the choice mechanics and the random ammo I wish I could do a melee attack while keeping my bullets, I couldn't get through the game more than once.

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:04am

    Just replayed it and got two other endings, the choices are pretty great. Also I really like how you can get the guards to kill each other.

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:36am

    Love the art style and the theme(even if its a little off centre). Wish i could put the gun away and save it for when i need it.

    Maple says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:52am

    No daughter for me. ;-;

    The walking animation was pretty funny, but nevertheless you had nice graphics. It was a fairly solid experience, but there is one thing I should point out. I kept killing myself in the beginning accidentally by trying to walk. I think text selections should have had a delay before accepting your response, and the answers, when possible, should have used the up and down arrow keys as apposed to left and right. Aside from this minor thing, you had a nice game with nice graphics. Reminds me of Lone Survivor.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:52am

    @Maple: Yes, that's something I see now. They will surely be that delay in the possible post-compo version :) And we agree too that the walking animation is a bit "disney" (I keep seeing mickey mouse instead of our guy ^^) should be fixed too one day :)

    Thanks again folks!

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:31am

    One of the best game i've played. Well done mate this is an awesome moody game.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:33am

    Stunning mood and art ... controls felt pretty slick as well once you got the pace.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:26pm

    Animations lacked some frames, but overall it's a pretty good game =] really has an old boy feeling

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    I was about to write that it reminds me of "Old boy" but then I read it was your inspiration. So I think you succeeded in transcribing the atmosphere of that particular scene (which in the film reminds of a video game, the loop is closed).

    With some SFX and a background tune, it would have been perfect.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:05am

    That was a long loading. Nice concept. Don't know if killing the madman who begs for death should give you the murderer ending too.

    DTG says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:19am

    Art style is great, a real gritty feel to it, really nice touch with the hiding in doors and such.
    The gameplay may have benifited from being a bit slower pace, especially with the interesting story ideas your throwing around, it felt to easy to just run right and shoot until I ran out of bullets.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:07am

    Wow, I was impressed.

    The game is really great. I thought the animations were a bit awkward at first, but as I played and got used to them, they became pretty cool. Nicely done.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    Really fantastic mood and great graphics

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:15pm

    graphics, sounds and mood are awesome in this entry! Nice job!

    I wish the text stayed longer or game could have paused when you talk with someone, because currently it's bit too hard to follow and I accidentally kept missing readable stuff without being able start conversation anew, like with the last cop.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    Mood-filled, fun and challenging adventure. I think I can totally identify game-style references to both Mark of the Ninja and Walking Dead: The Game (which is not a bad thing). Music and sfx would certainly enhance the experience but I was undoubtedly blown-away by the style and polish of this entry. Good job.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]