Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 54 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 55 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Lens - The Prologue - teh_eria - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a first person interactive short story. I wanted to use it as a prologue to a larger game I'm working on, called Lens, which is very different than this. Some may argue that this isn't a "game" (similar to Dear Esther), but either way, it's an interactive experience. It's something I've wanted to do for a while, so I went for it!

    The character thinks he's doing something good, but it turns out his actions were villain-ness, causing loss for everyone, even himself.

    The game tells the story of the shattering of the Lens, an artifact that allows two worlds to interact with each other. The character of the story, seeks to shatter the Lens, forever sealing off the worlds from each other, returning to more peaceful times. However, this action had dire consequences, and it turns out... He was the villain after all.

    The controls are easy, WASD to move, and mouse to look around.

    Thank you for playing!

    *All assets were created by myself, are open source, or from the Unity Asset store.

    Background Music - Tom Fahy - "Your Own Private Ghost"
    http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Tom_Fahy/Rambler_The_Chronicles_of_Woodlawn_House/07_Your_Own_Private_Ghost

    Lens Opening Sound
    http://www.freesound.org/people/themfish/sounds/34202/

    Lens Shattering Sound
    http://www.freesound.org/people/themfish/sounds/34202/

    Lens Altar, Starting Room, and floating Islands modeled by myself.

    All other assets are from the Unity Asset Store for free.

    View teh_eria's journal. | View all entries by teh_eria

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #24Audio3.72
    #47Mood3.64
    #71Graphics3.93
    #441Overall2.83
    #672Theme2.31
    #691Innovation2.10
    #711Humor1.21
    #751Fun1.71

    Comments

    Follett says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39am

    Awesome. Was so well paced and crafted, even if it was a little short. Great, just wondering if there will be a full game based after this?

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45am

    I feel like this is an advertisement more than a game. That said, the graphics and sound are good, and the story seems interesting, but... I wouldn't exactly call it interactive. You could have made it a video and I would have enjoyed it more. As it was, the movement was slow and seemed to drag on. And I got stuck near the mirror.

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

    It's a good advert for your Lens game -- an interesting story you have shaping-up there! Let us know when there's more.

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Reminded me of The Graveyard... And like that game: there's little interactivity so it's not really a game. But good job, nonetheless. The assets are pretty good looking and there seems to be something to the story but I couldn't quite make it?

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Cool experience, great narative voice. The mood is realy heavy witch is good. On technical side, i think the foggy particle effect move too much when the camera move.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    I really liked the mood. I think I didn't get the story. Nice assets. I wish it had more interaction.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    The environment you created here is one of the best I've seen in this contest. A little less mouse sensitivity and maybe some wasd controls and this would have been a slightly smoother experience.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Great mood, and nice portal effect. Could do with a little more freedom though, even Dear Esther let you explore.

    Minor quibble - this should be a Jam entry if you're using assets you didn't create, even if they're free. I've made that mistake myself :)

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13am

    Nice graphics. This should be in the jam category due to the use of existing sounds...

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    An interesting audio/visual experience, not much to do per se, but certainly an interesting take on the topic all the same.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:31am

    it isnt a game -- it really is just a prologue to something larger. in that respect it's caught my interest; but as a standalone it doesn't have the substance to compete with the other much-less-stunning-to-look-at entries.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    Yeah, I can not really say that this is a game either but I liked Linger In Shadows from Plastic too so...

    I felt like I stuck in something at the portal or what. Visually everything is in place but I think the walking noise kills it a little and music is very loud I can hardly hear the voice in my head. :) Maybe frequencies are racing in it.

    goerp says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    It should be a Jam entry . . .BUT it was very pretty, very good mood, good music. All of this reminded me of Myst.
    Makes me curious of your game. Does it have puzzles?

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    Hey, really cool stuff here.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]