Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 17 hours, 11 minutes, 28 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Super Evil Machine - Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's a machine of evil... a Super Evil Machine!

    It's simple:
    - get all the Things into the Super Evil Machine
    - don't run out of Evil

    You do this by:
    - flipping the panels that the Things walk on
    - pressing the Pusher!
    - move up and down rows using mouse wheel/touchpad scroll or arrow key

    Rows spawn by themselves, Things spawn by themselves and everything has a mind of its own. Can you control the chaos and keep the Super Evil Machine happy!?

    Post your high scores -- there's no theoretical limit to high score or numbers of rows, interested in how far everyone gets.

    [Sunday night] posting web version, Windows/Mac builds and code are going to take a while to upload.

    [Sunday night, a littler later] all versions uploaded, and source is uploading now.

    View Gareth Jenkins's journal. | View all entries by Gareth Jenkins

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #194Audio2.94
    #209Innovation3.20
    #288Overall3.13
    #292Humor2.74
    #319Fun2.92
    #332Theme3.28
    #351Graphics2.98
    #435Mood2.65

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56am

    Very cool experience, really digging the art style. Nice job!

    Cy4n1d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15am

    Good work! :-)

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    The art style is trange, but at the same time interesting (and still hurting my eyes). It might be interesting to advance it a bit more (it really reminds me of post-it notes).

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Lovely! This is perfect for a touch device, get this on android or iOS!

    Yapikom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Hi nice style, but it's a little sore on my eyes.

    The game concept is kinda cool, but I sadly lost interest pretty fast since there wasn't really anything to keep me playing. I think it would be better if it was played faster.

    chaosBrick says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    Dat music o___o
    This game is awesome.
    Simple concept, addicting as hell!

    Flai says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    This was pretty fun and music was awesome! However, sound effects were kinda annyoing ( but at least there were some! ) and the gameplay was kind of slow. Art style was great too.

    MagmaLemur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

    I really like the style of this game. Good work!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22am

    Music and art style was great! This could easily be ported for iOS and Android for tons of fun!

    Dew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23am

    Very fun, epic sounds! So fun how they act!

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:24am

    Could really use some design polish, but I feel like it has good gameplay at the core

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:27am

    Very good music and interesting game. The pusher was difficult to trigger, as clicking just off it in the yellow just above or even below triggered the platform above.

    Markusn says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

    This was great! I managed to get one of the platforms to stay halfway tilted, which made me play even longer trying to replicate it. Nice and addictive, love the art style.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29pm

    Nice art and fun little game. Really like clicking the piston :) Would be cool to have more parts to the machine and also if the bodies were to pile up in the container.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Nice art style and original gameplay!

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    The music isn't my type of thing. The rest of the game was nice, much clicking.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:01am

    Wow, the music is amazing; really enjoyed it. The art style was pretty cool too. The gameplay was alright, but it kind of got boring quickly.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Nice graphic style. Good idea.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    Really enjoyed the animation on the hapless souls, amusing sounds and superb music. Not the easiest game to get the hang of, but fun and well made, thank you! -J

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    Very nice game, love the style of the art and the music!

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Nice idea! Like the unique color.

    Controls were a bit iffy, it took some time to realize that movement changes depending on where you click. It also wasn't really clear wehre the guys have to be dropped.

    Music is weirdly fitting. What tools did you use?

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:06pm

    Hi Matthias -- thanks.

    It was done in Unity, with a free model for the jumping dude (from the asset store) and the music was from http://ccmixter.org/. Sound effects were done by me / my voice -- recorded and tweaked in Audacity.

    G.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:35pm

    Cool and promising concept! I suggest add a more pressing challenge and working on the mechanics a bit more!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]