Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 17 hours, 33 minutes, 20 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    To Kill a Mocking Witch - soy_yuma - Jam Entry

    Hey y'all!

    Here we are, yet another LD. Almost Xmas, too! Anyways, it's been very rough this time for us, we've aimed too high (does anyone aim too low in LD?) but I think we've finally achieved enough to be satisfied with the result.

    Surely, those sprites aren't beautiful at all (but hey, at least they're all animated in 8 directions, imagine the pain), the tile-set quality (specially on corners) causes eyebleed and you could probably find better gameplay and less bugs in the old E.T. games now buried in the desert, but we made it!

    Let's sum it up!

    -------------Story---------------
    -You are a knight, bound to kill a witch in a sealed cave. Why? Maybe you need money and her head is valuable, maybe you are bored and you love wet places, or maybe you just are that evil and violent!

    -However, she curses you. What's the curse? You gotta find out! And then.. ask yourself: does the curse even bother you? Or will you grow used to it?
    ---------------------------------

    ------------Gameplay---------------
    -You can move in 8 directions (wow, talk about dimensions!). The plan is that your mouse points your way (AKA you should hit and block aiming at the enemy!) and you can use 'A' to walk in that direction, 'S' to block the attack (ah, but there's a cooldown, of course) and 'LMB' to attack (you can charge this attack for uber-happiness).

    -It's an action-game intended to avoid the button mashing of Hack&Slash games by providing you with a block and slash/charge skill. The ranged attack was meant to be meant to be, but sadly it never reached the actual 'meaning to be' phase, so you'll have to sue us for that!
    -----------------------------------

    ---------Team---------------
    soy_yuma - Game coder
    andrew - Engine coder
    rethen - Graphics and sounds
    ----------------------------

    ------Special thanks-------------------------------
    Laura - For all that coffee and the title screen!
    ---------------------------------------------------

    Hope you enjoy the game as much as we've enjoyed making it! (and hopefully without the stress!!)

    View soy_yuma's journal. | View all entries by soy_yuma

    Ratings

    #96Graphics(Jam)3.65
    #163Overall(Jam)3.00
    #182Mood(Jam)2.75
    #196Innovation(Jam)2.70
    #232Fun(Jam)2.50
    #264Theme(Jam)2.63
    #831Coolness41%

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Really cool art style :)

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    The Windows version that's linked to in this page is 404'ing me! The link on the webpage seems fine though. Fun game! Loved the look :)

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Nice art :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    Pretty good graphics but a bit repetitive.
    You also have no way of knowing when some enemies will attack so I don't a have a clue on when I'm supposed to defend myself.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    I figured that would be the twist when the second time the witch/demon/red guy appeared but did nothing to defend itself.

    zompi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Sadly I have an error at launch:
    Java Virtual Machine Launcher: Could not find the main class es.simicos.merlot.targets.Desktop_GL20. Program will exit.

    Is it something with game or with my java installation?

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    I like the color change when the battle begins.
    It take a while to understand the movement, but it is so simple.
    It's a good start point ;)

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Thanks for all the feedback! We run out of time with many bugs to fix. That's why it feels like the game needs another 72 of polishing...

    @zompi Which JRE are you using? It should be working with JRE7u10.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Nice art and simplistic gameplay!

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:38am

    Nice twist at the end there.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:48am

    A bit too repetitive, but I liked the changing tones and art

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    Very good game for a LD. Congratulations.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:06am

    The art design and graphics are great. I don't know why you provide a mini-map. It's too tempting to just look at that and then you don't spend as much time looking at your great graphics. The gameplay was solid enough for the length of the game.

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    Love the art style, loved it! A little repetitive at times though, but hell this is very impressive.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]