Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 13 hours, 31 minutes, 7 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Just Politics - brantkings - Jam Entry

    This is our entry to LD25! Villiany? That sound like politics! So politics it is! Oh and patience on the link, the game should appear in a minute. If you see yourself waiting TOO much, a F5 will probably do the trick.


    -- Instructions --
    WASD to move, MouseClick to suck money off those damn people!

    -- Common Troubleshooting --
    Chrome has been reported to cause some problems with the screen size. If you notice that, try using Mozilla Firefox!

    Team:
    Lucas Mattos
    Lucas Mello
    Joao Guilherme Brant

    View brantkings's journal. | View all entries by brantkings

    Ratings

    Coolness84%
    #20Humor(Jam)3.75
    #23Theme(Jam)4.05
    #23Fun(Jam)3.66
    #34Overall(Jam)3.73
    #41Audio(Jam)3.61
    #48Mood(Jam)3.49
    #63Innovation(Jam)3.41
    #105Graphics(Jam)3.57

    Comments

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48am

    sweet game! i love the graphics and the concept and theres just something satisfying above the money-absorbing vacuum

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Muito bom. Acertou em cheio o tema.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    Hey! In our game you vacuum money as well, haha. Those reporters are a pain in the ass indeed!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Nice!

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    Graphics are really great!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    What a game ! I'm impressed. A professional work with a perfect sens of the theme. And furthermore with politics. I adore :)

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00am

    Hi, The animations of the money-sucking is really nice, it felt very fluid and well animated. As dremelofdeath is saying, it feels really satisfying.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40am

    Fun game, I like the money vacuum! I think it would be good if you added an invincibility period after you are put in jail, since often you immediately get thrown in jail again with no chance to escape. Also, the reporters hang on to you while you are in jail!

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:54am

    Ain't that the truth, I really like this:)

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07am

    @CireNeikual you're completely right! Thanks.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Very nice graphics! With really unique gameplay!

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    BRILLIANT! Great use of the theme!
    The game is smooth and enjoyable.
    Humorist and fun, great critic!
    Awesome job guys! 5 Stars!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Wow, really good ! Very original take of the theme, you really are a villain in this game !
    Good job, guys !

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:26pm

    Great great great game. Way to think outside the box.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Fun game, very funny, though I don't know what it says about governments. :P There's no way to lose though, which kind of makes it feel like less of a challenge and more of a grind.

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    So creative. Like the theme. :)

    chambers says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:58am

    Very well executed. Most addictive game so far, played it until the end.

    I love the sucking animation and the music.

    The only thing that I would personally change is that the upgrades are always the same. It would be nice if there were some new onesin other levels - especially if they changed the gameplay a little bit.

    Oh, and the mayor's face when he gets a lot of money is hilarious.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:30am

    Played it on Newgrounds and came here to rate it officially.

    feili says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Really liked that one! good job!

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    This is one of the best games I've played so far. Great in so many ways, and a lot of fun to play!

    laaph says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:12am

    The music is awesome! The maniacal laughter image is cool. Awesome concept.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Great game. The controls play smoothly and the animations are well made. Music fits well. Getting caught continuously was a little annoying though.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Nicely polished entry, had lots of fun playing it.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:30am

    Awesome concept! And strangely addictive. I played through until the end and loved every second. It's a very simple idea but it's executed very well. The little touches make it great, like the way the pedestrians shake when the money comes out, and how the old ladies have different items. Great job all around!

    firestorm713 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    This game was freaking awesome. I enjoyed the hell out of it, and I can't wait to see if you take it further.

    AdricZero says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    Wanted to enjoy the graphics, but the instruction page was cut off on the right side and I could not start the game at this point. I was using Chrome on Windows 7.

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:28pm

    @AdricZero yeah that is known to happen. In Firefox it should use the correct screen size and work fine.

    brantkings says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:19pm

    @AdricZero It may be that you have zoomed out in your browser. Try pressing ctrl + or ctrl - to adjust the zoom.

    Deril says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Good work!

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:38pm

    Hahaha, cool game! Was totally fun. Reporters are a real PITA though. They can totally suck your reputation in a matter of seconds and if you are in jail you have no way to dodge them :/ Anyway, despite the flaws in a solid entry. Kudos!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]