Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 9 hours, 23 minutes, 29 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Brown Hat, Red Hat Cowboy POW! - Pixelbear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a fairly simple game, in which you have to kill the bartender! Hectic, brain-numbing fun ensues!

    Instructions in-game.

    WARNING: LOTS OF FLASHING LIGHTS AND SHAKING

    View Pixelbear's journal. | View all entries by Pixelbear

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #22Humor3.86
    #55Graphics4.03
    #120Mood3.30
    #136Fun3.34
    #142Overall3.42
    #205Innovation3.21
    #218Audio2.89
    #308Theme3.32

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    Fun enough

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    I like the basic idea and gameplay. Art is very stylish. Sound is alright! + for Humor. What the hell are the plants in the middle? :D

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Uh... take the fifth? :P
    Anyway, thanks! :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Nice graphics. Just shooting the big bottle was instant win?

    CAMERA SHAKE.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    Really nice graphics, fun gameplay, overall cool game!

    Mysterarts says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    I like the graphic style and this is a simple but effective gameplay!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    Thanks for the comments!
    @Dark Acre Jack - each bottle is exactly the same as the other. I think you just lucky with that one - or you've got mad skillz. ;D

    jujule says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Short but good !

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Very nice opening cut-scene and the graphics are great!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    What the.....?
    Weird game. And so hard. But it was fun. Weird, but fun. Yeah the best solution was to aim at the bottles. Sometimes I won, most times I lost.

    The graphics are awesome. Nice work on that.
    The game was totally fun and humorous, also the mood was spot on. Though the music was really annoying. But maybe it fit the whole weirdness nicely, I guess. Still gaaaaah. Also I could not see the theme in there, but overall a nicely done game. Good job

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    With a few more levels and varying battle mechanics this could become a great arcade game. I liked it.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    i really liked this game, it remembers me th game i made for LD 24 (look at my journal for it). Super nice graphics here

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    ahah awesome!!

    Good job!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    The opening sequence was good fun, I want to go into a place and say "Nothing but all of your money!" +1 Goat cameo was good. Shootout was a bit hectic!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Thanks for all of the feedback! :D
    @joekinley Thanks for the in depth comment, much appreciated. :) It fit in with the theme, since you're a badass, EVIL cowboy, robbing the saloon. :P Also, I agree on the music being annoying. I sort of wanted it to be like that, but I feel I may have made it a little too annoying.
    @SecondDimension Yeah, the shootout was hectic, but that's sort of what I was aiming for. One giant mass of complete and utter chaos. :D

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Fun game and nice graphics although the flashing/shaking was a but much and sometimes I had no idea what was going on. :)

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Nice one. Loved the graphics and died a lot.

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Thanks for playing. :) I agree cardboard, the flashing and shaking may be a bit much - I knew of the consequences of the flashing and shaking, but I felt it would detract from the theme if I removed them. :)

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    Great game, love the colors and art style in general!

    supermaximo93 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    Funny! Really like the art. I wish the 'epic funky shootout mode' had some crazy disco music in it though - It would make it pretty hilarious (and would fit more with the 'epic funkiness')

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    Haha, you speak words, supermaximo93! :P Totally agree. Wish I was good enough at creating music to do that, though. </3

    Tapestry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01am

    The camera shaking in the intro was hilarious. Music was weird, but I liked it. Really nice graphics effects.
    I found the gameplay to be easy, but it was really well done.
    I wish it was a bit longer/ had more levels :(

    playvue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Did I miss something? How do you duck?

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44am

    Short but fun. Love the graphics.

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

    @playvue Press the S key - it's in the instructions. :)

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    Haha, that was really funny. Like the idea of shooting the bottles too.

    FinalMirage says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    Nice work, I like the art style and the overall hectic feeling when the battle starts. It would be cool to go through stages where the enemies get tougher!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Thanks for the comments! :D @FinalMirage Hell yes it would. I'm wondering whether to do a post-compo version. If so, that'd totally be a feature. :)

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    ahahah, Epic indeed! I enjoyed the visuals,loved the short but fun dialogues , and found your idea simple,but entertaining . It was a bit confusing to understand what was happening during the shooting,maybe i`m not epic enough =/

    Also I would like to thank you for playing and enjoying my game, I`ll be fixing the intro so people can understand better how to get points . To answer your question , you get more points with the deaths with the more complex combinations, and you get penalties for repeating deaths, encouraging you to keep it original =]

    congratz on the game, i`m giving it lots of stars on the ratings

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Haha, your games suggests otherwise with how epic you are. ;D Thanks for the rating! :)

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Engage epic funky shootout mode !! That was really fun XD and i liked the colors in the game and that goat scared me the first time it appeared o.o great game !

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:25am

    Love the art style and effects. Game is too simple now, but would love to see a larger game with this style and in the cowboy theme. Seems like shooting bottles to fall on people is too easy/cheap a kill. Would love to see more. Music was, um, repetitive and grating :) I liked this overall, even though very short. Continue it!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Yeah, balancing could do some work. Thanks for the comments! :)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Funky, bro. Funky. Breakdown:

    Bad:
    -It's a bit short and basic.
    -Sometimes it's hard to see what's going on.
    Good:
    +That is one epic shootout, in that bizarre "that part of the internet" way.
    +It's very, very fun.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:57pm

    I love this! Great look and really fun! Make more of it pleaaaaaaaaase!!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]