Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 44 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 45 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Splatter - Tsuk13 - Jam Entry

    Didn't quite get as done as I had hoped but I graduated this weekend so thats mostly why.

    Object of game: To keep the green square frogs from hopping across the road.

    Controls: Click and drag the cars from the bottom and drop them into the lane you wish to use them in.

    Mechanics: The frogs will speed up in the time they spawn and the speed they hop as you kill more and more. Each car costs a specific amount. Your gold is to the side and a kill gives you 3 gold. The goals(not really lillypads cause I didn't get to do the water part)turn black when they have been achieved. If all five turn black you lose. There is no kill screen, it will just stop.

    View Tsuk13's journal. | View all entries by Tsuk13

    Ratings

    #186Theme(Jam)3.16
    #203Fun(Jam)2.63
    #246Overall(Jam)2.68
    #246Innovation(Jam)2.50
    #274Humor(Jam)1.85
    #292Mood(Jam)2.07
    #327Graphics(Jam)1.44
    #831Coolness41%

    Comments

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:24am

    Nice idea. Got quite allot of dead frogs! Sadly I ran out of gold ... I have an expensive taste ;)

    Deykoweec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42am

    It crashed for me after while of playing (linux, openjdk7)

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Not a bad game, but the game should be 1-2 wider, because killing frogs on the side is a piece of cake (drop car on frog). I liked it though; nice concept!

    Tsuk13 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    I didnt make it to the kill screen so the game just ends after you lose the last goal/lillypad. That could have been it, it was compiled with openjdk6 though but I dubt that would affect it.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    I can't run the game, it crashes when open it. I'm on mac os x.

    Tsuk13 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    ok sorry mac was the only packaging I wasnt able to test

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    I get a Pixel not accelerated error when I try to play this one. I'll try again on another computer later.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

    That was fun, although i'd agree that hitting the ones at the edge is way too easy

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    Before making my entry, I first thought of a frogger game too.
    To bad I ran out of money so soon. :D

    schnerble says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Nice idea. Could have some solid potential with a bit more time. It seemed to exit a bit early for me sometimes, though...

    angela says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Good game - It's like frogger, only you're the cars. Crashed on my a couple times after only one black box. But, overall it works well and it was engaging, i like it.

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:36am

    I liked the idea a lot - maybe the game started too slow but once it got fast I started to enjoy it! Some score count couldn't hurt. Good game you have there :)

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:33am

    I liked the idea, the feel of dropping cars was nice, but killing the frogs seemed way too easy. I also wish I could have achieved more of the Frogger feel of having lots of cars going at all times, so placing spawners maybe instead of just cars. Good work though, congrats on completing this!

    h.attila says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    I like the idea, but it lacks graphics and it's too easy.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]