Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 74 days, 0 hours, 40 minutes, 16 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Save the princess - GFM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The evil king kidnapped the princess!
    You, as a great knight, must save her!
    ...
    Or must you?
    Do you know what drove the evil king to kidnapp her?
    Perhaps this story isn't as simple as it seems...

    There are 6 possibles endings, depending on your actions (they are very simple, though....)

    Sorry, didn't have time for sounds/music... >_<

    Instructions on the game...
    Anyway:
    Move with the arrow keys.
    Attack with X and C.
    Switch weapons clicking on it's icon.

    If you aren't sure how to get all the endings, perhaps the "useless" staff has some use, afterall...

    View GFM's journal. | View all entries by GFM

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #211Graphics3.37
    #330Fun2.90
    #353Overall3.00
    #479Mood2.58
    #545Humor2.00
    #599Audio1.22
    #630Theme2.50
    #689Innovation2.11

    Comments

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

    Nice graphics!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:38pm

    I'm not entirely sure why the evil king would give directions to unlock the castle :p

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Hm... I like the looks, but the hit boxes feel unfair (i.e. it's too easy to get hit; especially while moving). Also, what makes you the villain? Is it in the story?

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:41pm

    Killed by Squasher. I am a sucker for any game of this style, good fun =)

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Fun game, I feel that the theme could have been incorporated in a better way though.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:47pm

    I'm not sure if I'm the villanous villain or the heroic villain or even the villanous hero D:

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    Nice work making so much in the time allowed. There's a couple of places where the text is misleading, but made it through to the end. I got the "failed to be evil, failed to be good" conclusion, which sounds about right.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    My thought is: you need more time to polish it. It's a really good foundation for a good game, but need another time.
    I know, it's hard build a good game in 48 hours, do you consider next time a Jam instead?

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    I really like the mood in this game, I feel like I'm alone in the world like in Zelda 1. Well done for making an epic feeling game in such a short time.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    Plenty of interesting content, but hard work getting to see any of it because the combat is so flaky - needs better feedback when you hit or get hit, feels very random. Shame 'cos I'd like to have found all the endings. Mechanics a bit weak, but clearly lots of hard work on the structure and narrative!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48am

    cool take on this classic genre, i agree with the comment about the hit detection being a bit unfair, you basically take a hit no matter what when you try to attack a monster. That aside, this is really well executed for only 48 hours.

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Nice game, found it a bit difficult though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    The combat is a bit clunky.

    michax says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:53am

    Enjoyed wandering around!
    It would be nice to get some sounds or blood when hited by enemies.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    lovely work! brings back those fine zelda game memories :)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    I like the art and the Zelda I style. Some audio would be good...

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    The game is really nice, you should take some time and polish it later :D

    bach says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    This was obviously quite ambitious. This is a great foundation, but unfortunately does feel a bit rushed. Keep it up!

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    Nice game, but it is pretty hard to attack enemy without hurting yourself.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    The gameplay is good enough for me. But the genre has been too corny.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:26pm

    Very cool! Nice RPG feel.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:20am

    I like the presentation style, but like others I found the hit detection frustrating.

    Also, having to use the mouse to change weapons feels wrong.

    lukeeckley says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:24am

    I really like the graphics.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]