Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 54 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 54 minutes, 8 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Like Insects - Eelfroth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Move: WASD
    Shoot: Mouse
    Press 'Space' while standing on a corpse to rip out it's skull!

    View Eelfroth's journal. | View all entries by Eelfroth

    Ratings

    #17Mood3.95
    #19Graphics4.32
    #63Audio3.43
    #96Fun3.45
    #115Overall3.50
    #210Theme3.55
    #238Innovation3.14
    #425Humor2.33
    #831Coolness41%

    Comments

    kivifreak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    Wow great game, and nice screen shaking :D

    Pope PAF says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    I really like this game!
    KILL KILL KILL and harvest skulls, add them to the collection!
    My current highscore is 36 :D
    I've tried thousands of strategies!
    Most of them ending with a huge bunch of corpses! xD

    Great Game!

    metadept says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    I absolutely LOVE the graphical style of this, and the shooting mechanics are very well polished and satisfying. Wish it were a little easier to harvest skulls (the jumping could use some work, or allow the player to harvest just by facing the corpse). Very well done overall, and I hope you continue working on this one!

    Also just a note, the game didn't exit cleanly for me on Win64, pressing ESC got me out of the window but didn't end the process.

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34pm

    metadept: Thanks, I'll look into that.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Love the effects, the controls are very fluid and the animations are well done, the only thing I didn't like much was sound, specially the fire animation.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    A little bit special but i liked it, it's always cool to shoot so quickly !

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    Love the art style and nice gameplay, although I was never able to rip skulls :)

    ix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Awesome graphics, tight mechanics, fits the mood well. Satisfying corpse piles.

    DST says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Have to give this tops in everything, except 3 in Innovation, the "killingfloor" genre have been done to death (pun intended), anyway, everything is so well made about this one.. Sound, graphics, fun, theme, and I might have weird humor.. But wow.. Nice. Game.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07pm

    That was an interesting game. So simple mechanics and idea, and yet so much potential ^^
    However, I was having serveral troubles with this game. First of all, the physics were very glitchy, and I often slided off the corpses.
    Secondly, the sound was fitting, but in my opinion, quite annoying. Furthermore, the game did not exit properly each time I started it.
    But most importantly, the controls felt very unconfortable for me. Pressing spacebar each time I wanted to rip a skull costed precious time, since I'm not quite used to that sort of key layout. I'd have preferred to have it on left shift or something - probably because I use the left hand for the mouse :) Still, nice idea!

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    DST: what's the killingfloor genre? I don't know many games like this.

    AyCe: I should keep in mind to allow different control schemes next time.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:30am

    Really keen on the look of this game. Seriously creepy. Couldn't really see how or where harvesting skulls came into it but was still a good tech piece.

    tcql says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Excellent little game :) The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of was the that you had to be kind of exactly on top of a body to get the skull... I ended up accidentally jumping over bodies, and therefore having a really hard time getting many skulls


    Graphics and audio are great !

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:12am

    I love the style of this game; the visuals and sound work together in complementing the mood.

    My main issues are with gameplay. Jumping is really tricky and enemies often land on top of you. Besides that, I really I wish you didn't force fullscreen. On my 2560x1440 monitor, it's *massively* pixelated.

    But anyway, with a bit of polish, there's a lot of potential here.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Absolutely love the VHS feeling. No idea how you can pull it off so well.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]