Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 15 hours, 32 minutes, 47 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Marriage Quest - DDRKirby(ISQ) - Jam Entry

    Well, here's our jam entry! We almost went insane as some points, but managed to scrape something together anyways.

    Marriage Quest is a satire on the RPG tradition of stealing random items from people's houses...it's a game where you steal and smash random items and trade them in for money...money for your WEDDING!

    All assets, including art, sound, and music, were produced within the 72-hour jam timeframe.

    Soundtrack is available for download at http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/marriage-quest-original-soundtrack

    Coding by DDRKirby(ISQ), angelinthe
    Art by xellaya, dingdingy
    Music by DDRKirby(ISQ)

    Tools used:
    IDE - Flashdevelop
    Framework - FlashPunk
    Source Control - git
    Music - FL Studio
    Sound effects - FL Studio, LabChirp
    Art - Paint Tool SAI, Photoshop, GIMP

    View DDRKirby(ISQ)'s journal. | View all entries by DDRKirby(ISQ)

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #16Audio(Jam)3.93
    #82Humor(Jam)3.13
    #93Mood(Jam)3.20
    #98Fun(Jam)3.14
    #113Overall(Jam)3.29
    #192Graphics(Jam)3.04
    #209Innovation(Jam)2.64
    #238Theme(Jam)2.88

    Comments

    Xgor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Really like this game. It's fun, uses the theme in a interesting way with an great ending and has a kickass song.

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    Awesome

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

    True story. ^^ good game

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    The writing is really excellent!

    I felt like the boys feet should move a bit more when he's walking.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44am

    More bats need that sound effect! Really liked the music. fun game!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    That game is just awesome. instantly bookmarked. the music is epic, and the take on the theme is really clever

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:35am

    Thx for this entry mate!

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Thanks for all the feedback, everyone! :) We had a lot of fun, glad to hear you guys are too.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:29pm

    Charming feel, and successful execution of ARPG loops that had me smash n grabbing like a boy in love. Energetic tune really helped carry it along, too.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Cute graphics and tunes. Well done!

    Clodial says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

    I liked the end of the game XD the music was also quite excellent, a cute little take on the theme in my opinion XD

    wally2069 says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:58am

    The theme felt a bit stretched to me but otherwise good entry.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:15am

    Nice twist in the end. Great music, I love it!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]