Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 11 hours, 6 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Demon Quest - Carduus - Jam Entry

    Demon Greg is about to get his demonic degree, but he has a last exam to pass...

    We hope you will like this Point'n Click.

    We still have some trouble with collision map, so click near your feets ;)

    Puzzles come from Thotor's twisted mind, then if you d'ont find solution or you are stuck, just take a look on the walktrough aviable from the top of the site.

    Known bugs:

    Stuck? Just click on a door to get unstuck ;)

    Credit

    Music: Mathieu Hallouin
    Code: Thotor
    Art: Carduus




    View Carduus's journal. | View all entries by Carduus

    Ratings

    Graphics(Jam)4.66
    Coolness64%
    #18Audio(Jam)3.90
    #50Overall(Jam)3.62
    #54Humor(Jam)3.30
    #76Mood(Jam)3.31
    #105Fun(Jam)3.10
    #132Theme(Jam)3.46
    #267Innovation(Jam)2.37

    Comments

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10am

    I didn't get very far, but I like what I see so far. A very nice job!

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:30am

    I'll be back to finish it, but I had to say, amazing art, very fun game so far and it's always awesome to see a new point'n'click !

    har_g says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    wow, she is hot :P

    23 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Beautiful art and perfectly suited music. Unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to get very far and then literally got stuck - buttons would still light up but clicking on stuff didn't do anything. I was standing to the right of the Groom's cart, I had the number, the lighter, and the pills.

    Thotor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    Hi guys, thanks for the comments !
    To avoid getting stuck after dialog, do not skip them (by clicking) or do other action at the same time.
    I will be releasing a fix for that soon.

    I will also post a walkthrough and fix the final scene script (it doesn't go to the ending right now)

    If you have collision/stuck issue, you can just use/walk to a door and you will get 'teleported'. Fixing the collision would require a lot of time

    LeReveur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    Good game here, as always. :)
    And Point'n Click are my favourites ones.

    "it doesn't go to the ending right now"
    - so for now, the last scene is in the dark room, or have I missed something ?

    KingSavate says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:47pm

    Reaaally good graphisms and music.
    I got stuck some times as well by the dialogs.

    And I couldn't really get so far. But i'll give another go.
    Good job :)

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    crashed...T_T

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Nice graphics but i can't finished it because it's freeze some time

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:20am

    So glad you fixed the version! Really fun game, great graphics and music... I'm impressed by the quantity of text and content, good job! :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Gorgeous!

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:02am

    Gorgeous art, excellent mood and music! What's not to like? :)

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Freezes and crashes has been fixed !
    Thanks for your comments, it's really moving :)

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    Really lovely presentation, and I liked the monkey island reference! Still yet to complete it but I love point and clicks and you obviously know how to set them up (unless I find that the solution is completely stupid! haha.)

    dray says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Really nice game, i didn't go very far, but really like the mood of it. And congratulation to Carduus for the art.

    PS : du coup je suis allé sur votre site pour voir et je vais me prendre Souls pour essayer du coup :)

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:41pm

    You have the walktrough on the DemonQuest website if yout got stuck :)
    Thanks anyway foor your attention on our game :)
    @Dray: Thanks mate have fun :)

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Gorgeous, and nice music.
    And thanks for the walkthrough, I suck at points-and-click's :)

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:16am

    Gorgeous but kind of buggy.

    dekart says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:44am

    Awesome game! Especially love the art & music

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:42am

    cool art, but doesn't really make sense

    pythong says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    presentation: awesome, though I didn't get very far (stuck on first try, reloaded, then wished for hotkeys for the actions :/ like L for 'look at' etc)
    I could imagine this on mobile though, in one of the app stores (in a bigger scale, of course, with this being the first level or so). did you know? you got a quick review on IndieGames.com http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/IndependentGaming/~3/KZdc8SK3ySU/browser_game_pick_demon_quest_.html

    Thotor says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:56pm

    Thanks for the feedback. It's really appreciated.

    @Radiatoryang : I agree. Some of the dialogs options I made are out of place (espacially one). Also the last scene is not what we had planned. It was made in the last 30 minute.
    We were clearly short on time. Many animations and interactions are missing

    We will try to make a post-compo version with everything we originally had in mind.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:44am

    Getting the phone number wasn't very obvious. But the rest was easy enough yo find.
    Awesome graphics, I especially loved the groom!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    I'm not a huge fan of point'n'clic adventures but there's a lot of good work here, graphics are amazing, controls are simple, the game was a bit difficult for me, but still really enjoyable, great job D:

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    The graphics and music are fantastic. Gameplay is pretty good, though the options to pick from are sometimes not intuitive, and in few cases they don't make any sense at all. UI and the engine could use a little more work, but maybe it's just a matter of preference (and I know it's not easy being constrained to one mouse button when developing adventure game engine). It's a great entry!

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    Its amazing how you managed to draw all this!

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:51am

    Great graphics, music and text and ideas! I think it misses sounds from the environment though. I have been also slightly annoyed at times by the frequent need to click on Use/Talk to/Pick up/... then the object in the environment. I think there is room for improvement here, in order for the game to be more pleasant to play.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    Very nice graphics. The movement is kinda slow, and the clicking is not very responsible, but I liked the script.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Beautiful, great music, cool dialogs...
    I'm amazed by this game! That's so great that you can put something like that out in 72 hours!
    Congratulations, one of the best entries I've played until now!

    goerp says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Gorgeous looking game. I like point and click as well.
    The music was very nice, but personally I didn't think it fitted the game. In game maybe soundeffects would have been better. But I'm nitpicking here.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]