Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 3 hours, 33 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mad Professor - AhNinniah - Jam Entry

    You play as a Mad Professor. After he made the discovery of his life, he turned into pure evil (because of paranoia) and stole all the materials. Help him to get rid of annoying scientists, who yearn to get the formula.

    Run up to the barrels to fill the bottle with poison (top left icon). Use it to destroy your enemies.

    Controls:
    Arrow keys
    Z - shoot downwards
    X - shoot forward
    Key 0 - mute

    Headphones recommended.

    Tools:
    Graphics & Animation: Inkscape, GIMP, Anime Studio Pro 9
    Sounds & Music: Guitar Pro, sfxr, Garage Band for iPad, Audacity
    Language: Monkey
    Framework: Flixel for Monkey http://devolonter.github.com/flixel-monkey/

    Art & animation - @AhNinniah
    Code & music - @devolonter

    View AhNinniah's journal. | View all entries by AhNinniah

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #62Audio(Jam)3.42
    #74Graphics(Jam)3.84
    #75Fun(Jam)3.25
    #89Overall(Jam)3.38
    #120Mood(Jam)3.02
    #132Theme(Jam)3.46
    #158Humor(Jam)2.63
    #190Innovation(Jam)2.71

    Comments

    Claite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

    Oof, that got hard fast! haha
    Loved the game! lots of different dynamics that made it pretty darn fun.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34am

    fun theme and art style. a little too slow-paced for me

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

    I wasn't clear how that I needed to reload by going to the barrels or that I could shoot down till I read the instructions on this page. You may want to consider conveying those in game somehow.

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:37am

    Very fun idea, with and enjoyed the music. Found it difficult though when the enemies speed up, but your character does not. Makes it slightly difficult to keep up. All in all a fun game :)

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

    Very nice and polished art

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:56am

    I like how polished the art and music is! It took me a second to figure out how to play though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23am

    This is the second game tonight that I've seen with a really neat soundtrack. Great job on that! I think the falling ceilings are a bit unfair since they fall too fast to dodge and don't seem to have much of a pattern that I could discern.

    It's funny though how fast the game goes from manageable to completely insane. :)

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44am

    I like the game. The page needs some info on the controls and what everything does, but with some experimentation, I figured out most of it I think.

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58am

    Wow, really enjoyed it! Slow start but after that gets better and varied enought to keep me playing. Great job!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Neat and polished! Good work :D

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Thanks for playing and comments to all of you! We've updated the game's page. Now it contain all information about the game (controls, elements). Also, we are planning to add some gameplay video.

    recursive frog, thanks for remark. I think we will fix the brick's speed in post-compo version, when we'll get to it.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:23am

    This reminded me of a game i've played on the atari, that u gotta throw pots on the spiders XD the music was really cool

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:25am

    Excellent game, my only complaint being that the score should be multiplied by ten thousand or so. Nevertheless, an excellent game.

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:05am

    Very good presentation. Good game too.

    ahnt says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    nice, but I couldn't reload, and firing down seamed to be buggy, but otherwise a lice game ... like the guys on the ladder graphic, and his beard

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    wow, this is so exciting!

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    We've added a Gameplay Video. Thanks for playing!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    Fun game! The game itself was a little longer than my browser screen, so there was a bit of scrolling up and down for me to see some stuff happening. It was a fun game though, I liked being having to keep the scientists away while avoiding my own doom. :) great work!

    someone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:57am

    That was nice, well polished and good fun.
    Reloading at the barrels wasn't immediately obvious.

    Zener says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    Good job, an overall good game. And excellent music.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:21pm

    Pretty sweet game! But will be probably better if it was a bit more nervous :)

    Per says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49pm

    Nice mechanics!
    Music and graphics was great.

    donmilham says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:29am

    Nice game. Score: 69. I liked the bonuses / penalties. The reload mechanic was a little annoying since you only have one shot at the beginning.

    tcql says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Nice entry! found it really enjoyable, and I felt like the variety in gameplay elements was very well done.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:49am

    Gets really difficult really fast when you get to the red powerups!

    My only irk was that you couldn't just stand on a barrel to keep reloading, but I guess that would've been overpowered.

    Great entry!

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:28am

    fantastic mood, it made me go to a dark place. Audio, graphics, mood get full marks. Gameplay was also fun

    Faust says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:15am

    I love the mad professor idea, and your graphic is really polished.

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Nice Game ... great audios and graphics.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    That was well done! I liked the concept and the music and art. I haven't heard of Flixel for Monkey, did you like it?

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    davidwparker, thank you! :) Flixel for Monkey it's our flixel port for Monkey (cross-platform language). We've added a site link in the description.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Cool concept. The music was cool. Pace was a little slow at the start. Loading time was longer than I'd expect - the page was blank for a good minute or so on both versions - I eventually got the html5 version to work. Wasn't sure at first what to do. Wasn't sure when I got hurt.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:45am

    One of the prettiest webpages in this LD.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:47am

    Cute game, a little bit repetitive. I adore the music ! A coder-guitarist.. just like me :p Well done !

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Simple concept but very effective.
    LOVED the music.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:30am

    "Classic" game-style, very well implemented. Was happy that it began to ramp up in difficulty without taking too long. Well done!

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:19pm

    Solid title! Like the music and the upgrades/pickup. Graphics are nice too :)

    jsmars says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Great game! Got to 67 on my first try.

    arhpositive says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:41am

    Good entry. Bricks were more of a trouble than the scientists for me. :) Enjoyed it. Simple and fun gameplay.

    The only addition I can think of is maybe a little variety in the pattern the scientists come through. Maybe a few fixed formations that happen once in a while.

    dark_hunter says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:06am

    Great graphics and the positive/negative bonuses is also interesting idea. It would be more fun if the enemies could come faster (took some time to get the game more challenging).

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    good game , nice graphics but i found it a little bit hard but that's ok

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:58am

    Nice guitar soundtrack, really fits the mad scientist theme! I like the art. I have to agree about reloading your ammo, the feedback and where to get them weren't obvious. Maybe some sort of arrow indicator on the barrels and bigger/brighter ammo icon.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]