Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 59 minutes, 44 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 59 minutes, 45 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Witching Game - kibertoad - Jam Entry

    A sandbox game about a homicidal witch, terrorizing a small village. You will start plagues or get burnt at the stake. You will look at an awesome scarecrow that does nothing and steal goats for the amazing magic power.


    Note: to steal a goat, cast "Steal" spell on it.

    Note: to cast plague, select a person or animal as a target.


    Native Windows build that doesn't require Java to be installed was added, it's a recommended version for windows users. Note that it includes some minor post-compo fixes (no new features). Native non-fixed compo version will be added shortly.

    View kibertoad's journal. | View all entries by kibertoad

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #35Mood(Jam)3.56
    #50Theme(Jam)3.86
    #52Audio(Jam)3.48
    #96Innovation(Jam)3.21
    #160Graphics(Jam)3.24
    #163Overall(Jam)3.00
    #186Humor(Jam)2.45
    #201Fun(Jam)2.64

    Comments

    ilo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26am

    Some nice ideas with the sandbox gameplay and variety of spells to cast, but there wasn't a lot of challenge - I wiped everything off the map - and it still said there were 64 villagers alive.

    lonely2012 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22am

    did you kill my goats? you monster.
    it's all about goats and finding them in time. also, plague looks cool.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Other ways of killing should work too. I'll look on non-plague kills not being counted for the post-compo release I'm working on.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Doublechecked, there is no non-plague kill issue that I could find. Also it's weird that you see "64 villagers" and not "32 villagers", you must have grabbed early posted version, it was replaced 10 mins before the deadline with "32 villagers" one.

    Please check if currently uploaded version works better for you (Windows JAR is compo version, Windows Native is post-compo with minor fixes and fixed art references (you can see that art was included in compo version but not used))

    lonely2012 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    why would anyone ever want to burn such a graceful creature as my goat? I know that plague wipes everything. In the end, everything dies. Doesn't mean you should torch something so beautiful to death just because it's there. just kill children instead.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:37pm

    I get this error on OSX when startin launch.sh from the terminal

    launch.sh
    0 [main] INFO transientlibs.preui.objects.general.Logs - Working directory: /Users/Jerre/Desktop/Witch
    5 [main] INFO transientlibs.preui.objects.general.Logs - Open: data/init/config.dat
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    Pretty fun and cool game, I really liked high production values for three days. And the voice acting was a nice touch. Pretty easy game though.

    Gjarble says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    OSX user here, same error as jerrre.

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    Really cool idea and great narration. Cudos for the great crossplatform support as well! The download seems a bit big tho.

    Graphics were really good and so was audio, even if it kept repeating the last page of the introduction a long time into the game for me.

    Gameplay wasn't intuitive enough tho. I managed to find enough goats, but by then there was basically no people or animals left to use the plague on. It said something in the tip to use it at the water supply or something, so I ended up spending my remaining days trying to find a well or something, but I couldn't. :(

    Also, movement costing time felt a bit odd in this type of game, especially with a map this big.

    Out of curiosity, how did you make a native Windows build that didn't require a JRE? That could be an interesting alternative to the Launch4J that I used.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:56am

    Thanks, Jiddo!

    Criticism is all valid, and yeah, plague tooltip could be more helpful - actually, you can only place it on people or animals.

    We've used Excelsior to make native builds - till the end of the year it is being sold for a symbolic amount of cash: http://www.excelsior-usa.com/jetcharity.html

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Fun enough that I kept playing until I won. I would have it go to the ending as soon as you clicked on the "learn plague spell" instead of making the player have to cast it on some unsuspecting peasant and then having to spend the rest of the day wandering around aimlessly.

    eerongal says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:52am

    The music in this game is totally rockin'.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:54am

    Interesting concept and loved the voice acting and story (Would have been helpful for it to continue onto the next text instead of just repeating itself). In would have also been nice to be able to revert back to the last night if you got caught instead of having to replay from the beginning (Although understandable since it's a jam game that that would take too much time). A bit more interaction between NPCs would have also been fun. Like if I cast rabies on a cow, they might infect others (This might have been in, but didn't notice anything).

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Thanks a lot for the link to Excelsior JET. It looks very interesting. I just got myself a license. Gonna try it out! :)

    PaulSB says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Hmm, seems I got caught very suddenly, didn't really see it coming. Some nice effort has gone into this with art and the extensive voiced intro, and it felt menacing creeping up on the village and picking out nasty spells.

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Bit on the easy side, but really enjoyed the audio and theme of this one! Felt quite unique.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    Superb Intro!

    I had trouble to understand the game at first, and the fact that I had to launch the game again after I lost wasn't really helpful. But I eventually got it and had some good fun. It is not very difficult, you just have to be careful, it lacks a bit of strategy to become really fun, but it's already a pretty impressive Ld entry!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]