Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 15 hours, 10 minutes, 52 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kill The Day! - NiceAlexanderAS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    History: You are a guy with no name, we only know that you are angry an you want to kill everything and a Demon helps you with that by giving you his Zombie army on the city! and your mission is to clear all the soldiers.

    Here is my 4rd game ive made on this awesome competition n.n .... And it was quite complicated to make because i need to do a hard work on logical operations on the AI, the map editor i've build took me 1 day :( and so i end up with just one level for the game because i'm out of time. But this Ludum Dare help me a lot on how to build games, we can also say that I've learned from my mistakes. Its not the best game in the world but at least i tried and im happy, btw all your games are awesome guys :D

    To play you need have XNA 4.0 . and not all the computers are supported idk why :\ ... Thanks for playing my game :) and sorry for the lac of content :( but hey I learned a lot :)

    View NiceAlexanderAS's journal. | View all entries by NiceAlexanderAS

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #367Fun2.84
    #381Audio2.38
    #397Overall2.92
    #412Theme3.12
    #439Graphics2.76
    #498Mood2.54
    #587Innovation2.40
    #592Humor1.91

    Comments

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Wow, what a great game, it's difficult, pretty fun and very playable. I like that you are supposed to rush pass enemies to find more bullet and "rescue" zombies before all of them dies. I keep bullet between restart, is it a bug ? Maybe it remove to the difficulty, and bullet become too easy to have. The color of the walls and of fire is maybe too similar, it has killed me often.

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:09am

    Nice game! A little story would be cool, but 48 hours is very little time to acomplish what you have done AND come up with storytelling. Good job ;)

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12am

    Very fun to play. I had great time trying to invade building with my zombie armie... Being on the spawner side really help to feel like you are the vilain :))
    I think the fire particules and light effect make the game readability difficult.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16am

    Nice, always like a zombie game:)

    someone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Wow, that actually ran. I usually avoid XNA games because they never run in Wine but this worked fine.
    The game is great fun. took a few tries to get the hang of having very limited ammo. Its unusual for a game like this.
    The red tiles seemed a bit misleading, I kept thinking they were walls.
    Also you don't seem to fire exactly where you aim which was irritating.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

    Very difficult game! Could have used some more of an easy introduction, I felt disheartened when I failed so many times on the first scene xD

    Also, I don't think having a download link on a site counts as a "web" link, that's more for games you can play with in a browser.

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:13am

    Great game!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:24am

    Good idea, but way too hard in my opinion. I think the enemies should be easier to kill, and they could give you some slack every so often to avoid getting pinned by a lot of guys at the same time (a few seconds of burst fire followed by a short pause - you could say they are reloading or something).

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:58am

    It is quite hard; the only thing that helped was that often the soldiers would try shooting through the wall at zombies and ignore me. But as soon as I'm against a soldier I can't get distracted, I'm toast.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Yes the difficulty is actually because since you are a human and the soldiers are humans too then it should be something equal.... yo can use the zombies to distract the soldiers that's why i made it so the soldiers first kill the closest zombie then you.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:10pm

    Can't play windows games :-(

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    I got confused with the Web link. Expected a playable version, not a blog post!

    myachin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    kruto!

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    It is a difficult game, because we are conditioned to think we are alone, in this type of game. But when you realise that he wrote "Use zombies as distraction." (I just realise that is in his homepage). May be you need to put that into the intro. After I realise this, the game becomes really enjoyable and unique.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    I found the "horde of zombies" mechanic very interesting - I was using the zombies as baits, so that I could take a clear shot at the soldiers from a distance without being shot.

    I think the game could use a clearer hud. It was hard to tell when my life was getting near zero with so much going on the screen.

    Also, it was hard to tell apart the zombies from the soldiers in the beginning.

    Thanks for the game!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Pretty fun game, complete and pretty polished, not as easy as it looks either! I felt the medpacks were a bit weak, and yeah, not shooting where you aim was a bit irritating at times. The AI also has a tendency to get stuck trying to kill zombies on the other side of a wall leaving you free to fire at will.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Like the idea to use zombies as cover ^^
    I wish we can control the zombies to make them a lot more usefull :)
    Good job anywway!

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:26pm

    Nice game! It is hard and also runned a little slow in my laptop, quite of strange as I think I played more graphically and logic demanding games :/ Anyway, difficult as hell when militars go after you, but nice idea of "helping2 the zombies in the way you put it together. Liked the sound and graphics are nice :)

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    Good entry with a lot of things to do in. :) I had a blast with it. :) Better AI for soldiers would've been good but the game is really cool considering it's a compo entry. :)

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    Nice game great fun. It's very difficult too. The first scene has too much action and sometimes confuses you. Well done!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Very fun

    barigorokarl says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    Feels somewhat polished. Nice!

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Wow, quite chaotic! Pretty hard on a laptop touchpad, however.

    Jack says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Could've done with rudimentary pathfinding to make the zombies actually able to stop you being killed, because the zombies running into walls eventually just made them good for distracting the soldiers while I shot them. Also, you die absurdly quickly. I'm guessing this is a case of dev difficulty but seriously :) despite this, though, it was a good, fun game

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:15pm

    Where is the Source Code?

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:37pm

    It's a good idea !

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    Pretty neat, a lot of good work for 48 hours.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:57pm

    haha nice work with the partical effects and world emersion! i felt like i was part of something great. I wish you had put something there for when i died. took me a couple of times before i realized i had health and that i was dead. :D

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Very good entry for a 48h compo ! A little bit too difficult.. to me :) Well done !!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:20am

    A bit too difficult and not very villainous.

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:14am

    Interesting game system! Would have been much improved if the zombies couldn't stand on top of one another! I almost beat it, had only 3 soldiers left to kill, but unfortunately my zombies stopped spawning for some reason. If you continue working on this, definitely make it easier to tell what is and isn't a wall! I kept taking cover behind things only to find out that they weren't solid!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:31am

    Not a good story and the gameplay is so confusig.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:12pm

    The game was fun to play and works. I would keep working on it! Here is my feedback:

    - Shooting down (to the screen's bottom) isn't that accurate. The bullets are a bit too much left, or not?
    - Sometimes soldiers stand there and shoot at a wall, because beyond it there is a zombie. So you should check if the soldier hits someone and if not, to move on.
    - Bars or other other visual representations with icons are better than numbers for displaying something like health or ammo, I think.

    For a game jam game, I wouldn't make a level editor or something like that. You could easily make a level in a graphics editor like GIMP and draw them as big textures on the screen. Then, just add collision information for the walls etc.. Not that efficient, but very fast to make :D

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    Really difficult at first, but once you get going and grab a bunch of ammo, things start to flow from there.
    I liked the spawning idea, pretty impressive to get that working in 48 hours.
    Good work.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:05am

    Found the game a bit too difficult. The game ended up being more about shooting soldiers than leading a zombie army. Still, a fairly impressive game.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Quite a complete game, really. Intro sequences are nice and the level is difficult until you learn how to make use of the bugs in the AI (get soldiers to shoot at zombies trapped behind a wall and then fire at will, soldiers will not change targets) Not at all something to be embarrassed about. Nice job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]