Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 5 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 5 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Internet Avenger - Nolan C - Jam Entry

    Play as supervillain Internet Explorer as you travel back in time to destroy the competition and take back the web! Featuring six epic boss battles and great music by __twc.

    Press F to go full screen and experience the MS Paint HD graphics!

    View Nolan C's journal. | View all entries by Nolan C

    Ratings

    Humor(Jam)4.53
    Coolness66%
    #11Theme(Jam)4.13
    #18Fun(Jam)3.78
    #36Overall(Jam)3.72
    #37Audio(Jam)3.62
    #44Mood(Jam)3.50
    #155Graphics(Jam)3.25
    #217Innovation(Jam)2.63

    Comments

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43am

    30 seconds in: Already 5 stars for humour

    hahaha Opera HQ

    Also 5 stars for theme because this is really what the theme category is about: Good interpretations of the theme. :D

    Even though the jumping on platforms stuff is fairly simple and not that fun by itself, I still really enjoyed this game, because of the music and humour

    scriptblocks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Really Liked it. Wanted space bar to be jump though

    doos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Was too impatient to beat opera, but really liked the different themes and cutscenes.

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:21am

    Silly, simple, and very funny.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

    cute story. as a fan of minimalism in game design this appeals to me

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31am

    Great stuff! 5 for humor!

    Team Tibbles says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31am

    As many other have said 5/5 for humor!

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36am

    Fun + hilarious = Awesome :-)
    Also, is it just me or was Opera hard to beat back in the day!!! Wow, don't know how many times it got me!
    p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    This is the funniest game i've played in this ludum dare, i started laughing before even playing the game XD that was awesome ! Blue screen of victory !

    TDRGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    WIN! Final score 26550 :)
    Starts out looking like a crappy game with like 2 levels but it just keeps going and the music is pretty sweet.
    Wait till you get to Firefox... hahahaha

    -1 for not using HTML5 :-D

    gregfagan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Thought is was very funny!

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20am

    Knew I'd be giving out lots of stars as soon as I saw "100% MSPaint HD Graphics"!

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

    This took being the villain to a whole new level. Lol

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44am

    omg that's hilarious :D also 5 stars on humor, great job :)

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46pm

    haha, so good. Love the HD art and the realism achieved! Great job :)

    caribou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    Funny game, simple mechanic and i still managed to suck. Chrome was mean :(

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    This game is awesome... I laugh so hard when i saw Safari xD

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    A great take on the theme! The MS Paint graphics make it easy to miss that there is actually a rock-solid game here.

    The platforming bit was a bit repetitive, but the boss battles were great and really had progressive difficulty (except Mozilla who was too easy). I would really have loved to see the ending but didn't have the patience to beat Chrome, who is just mean. I didn't really notice the music until I found my head bobbing in the rhythm. Oh, and did I mention it's hilarious? The intro, the safari hat and the opera mask cracked me up.

    Five out of five on everything but innovation (because at heart it's still a platformer!).

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40pm

    I like how this game, just like Zed's one, manage (thanks to their humor) to make me enjoy basic gameplays that are usually boring. I also like how you didn't even try to make it hard and let us players run through the game and have fun. This is a solid entry!

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41am

    ahahah
    great story, awesome endin!
    I don`t think safari should be in south america, It should have been in Africa, I guess...
    Also, when you respawn, monsters don`t respawn, so it just becomes a lonely walk to the point where you died.

    still very entertaining =]

    Biped says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    My fav game so far. Love the blue screen of victory.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:06am

    Hilarious, great interpretation of the theme :) The graphics might be misleading, cause this is actually a pretty solid-feeling platfomer.

    A suggestion to make it better is to invest some time in level design to create interesting challenges as you play through. The humor itself is worth it, but some variation on the levels would be great. Good job!

    nSun says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    The appearance and taste of the graphics are quite justified from the title screen (100% MS HD Graphics, Featuring Comic Sans...)

    Should we interprete in two ways : "platform game" !?

    (nice music)

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:16am

    Nice game I loved how every boss have unique pattern :)

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Creative, funny and unexpected villain. Good job!

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    This game is awesome :'D

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Good game!

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    This is great. Love the intro. Great choice of music.

    Gameplay and level-design could be tightened a bit though. Most platforms being near the top is bad, as is the player jumping out. THe projectile moving at the same rate as the player is peculiar, at least. I also didn't like the platforms and evemies being build so ou essentially blind-jump into it.

    Some diversity in level-design would be fun and easy too. Not every level has to have a "chasm", some could be flat.

    Still, awesome work!

    (also how did this get 50k plays? Is that normal for a flash-game on newgrounds? :P )

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    Nice parkour levels and the story line is great. Good job!

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    @matthias_zarzecki It got 50k plays because it was featured on the front page for about a week. Tom from Newgrounds really likes LD games, he'll feature all the decent submissions (flash or html5) right after the compo.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:04pm

    Simple, cute and funny.

    cappelnord says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    nice variety for the bosses. the levels itself were to repetitive. But cool lilâ game!

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    Nice treatment with the little safari-hat in the Safari stage. :)

    Also, nice easter egg when you click the "x" button on the score view!

    The fact that you're playing as one of the most reviled browsers in the history of the web really makes this much more thematically appropriate than I would have thought possible for such a simple game.

    Zed says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:44am

    Yes. Yes to all of this. SO yes. Amazing graphics, too.

    AyCe says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:51pm

    Very funny game, i especially liked the graphics and music. Chrome made me rage :( But I did it! TheFridolin showed me this btw

    bentog says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:08pm

    Brilliant! Simple, yet really fun. 5 stars for humor, loved the browser puns and the ending.

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:19am

    I had fun playing this, it was very humorous, but I did find restarting from the beginning very frustrating, along with the floaty jumping always screwing me up on the bosses. Other than that, great game.

    crashbanito says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:53am

    This game is fun. While conceptually very simple, you want to continue playing just to see what crazy setting the next HQ involves. Hilarious concept all around.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    haha!... good ol' fashion anti-microsoft fun!

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:59pm

    Hilarious! Although the platforming gameplay is quite simple, the boss battles and the funny story make this game brilliant!

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    Despite being totally STOOPID, I completely LOVED this game and smiled and laughed the whole way through it. Hell level would have been trippy if you could have animated the flames. Music soundtrack was kick-ass. I really liked this one. The "intentionally crappy" genre is so underrated.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:46pm

    Don't know whether to give five stars for graphics or 1 LOL
    Hilarious game with a rad soundtrack. The levels are very easy but the last 3 bosses can be a bit tough. Decent challenge and a great interpretation of the theme. Awesome ending!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]