Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 8 hours, 29 minutes, 10 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 9 hours, 17 minutes, 10 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Super Paper Monster Smasher - Jesse Freeman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Welcome to Super Paper Monster Smasher. Have the Super Paper Monster attack by pressing the left or right side of the screen with your mouse or finger (on touch screen devices). Make sure to smash all of your opponents. Avoid flying arrows and boulders while trying to eat goats to heal yourself.

    This game was built using ImpactJS and requires a modern browser capable of supporting Canvas and Audio such as IE 9+, Chrome, Firefox and Safari. Also optimized to run on mobile phones and tablets (without sound).

    View Jesse Freeman's journal. | View all entries by Jesse Freeman

    Ratings

    #120Graphics3.67
    #188Audio2.96
    #189Theme3.60
    #340Overall3.03
    #356Humor2.56
    #368Mood2.77
    #372Fun2.83
    #579Innovation2.41
    #831Coolness41%

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

    Nice art style and nice that's in the html.
    Suggestion: add more depth - something else for us to click on or think about besides 'left', 'right',...

    cdata says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37am

    I really liked your game. The art style is really cool. I loved the goats as well.

    A few feedback-y things I noted while playing: it wasn't immediately obvious to me that the big brown round thing was something that would hurt me. Also, it was difficult for me to tell which color in my health bar represented my health.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Love that I could play on my iPhone :)

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33am

    I liked squishing them heroes!

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Very very pretty!

    namuol says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:39am

    I loves them chunky pixels! Also, ImpactJS FTW. Our games have a lot in common! Great minds think alike. ;)

    BIG bonus points for being super-playable on iPhone/Android browsers! The simple controls really made that a no-brainer. Great job!

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    haha, I like so much the art =) congarts!

    Kill all the wariors!

    gnx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34pm

    Lovely cover art pumped the mood nicely.
    The game looks and sounds quite nice.

    Gameplay is a bit too shallow to be interesting.

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Thanks everyone for the comments. I am really happy with the art and style. I agree with all of you who brought up the shallow gameplay. I plan on turning this into a full game with enemy waves, challenges, different levels/monsters and possibly a sequel where you are one defending the location from the monster by sending in knights, archers, etc.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Liked the art and music. Need a little more depth to gameplay and maybe a longer level to progress vs just going left/right in a confined space. I felt like it was hard to really avoid damage. Good effort though and a nice base to build from. Simple is good. Just need a couple of gameplay decisions to make and you're gold.

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:56pm

    Fun! Really dig the art and sound effects!

    McFunkypants says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Fantastic work! Loved it! Works flawlessly on my android 2.3 htc desire z. Love the look. Suggestions: stop default doubleclick zoom event, scroll to exactly where the game is on mobile, no margins on html page so you don't have to horizontally scroll to get game in middle of screen. Keep up the awesome work!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    Looks and sounds nice, but the gameplay is pretty dull, 200 points later and I don't think the game is getting any harder, and there isn't much to do besides clicking left or right.

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    Fun! The big, green monster was almost cute. I felt bad killing of those knights. :P Cool graphics - I'm a sucker for simplistic stuff. Same goes for the music. That was nice and friendly. Very easy on the ears. :) Controls were a bit clunky, but I understand this was more designed for touch devices. :)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Nice Game, need some additional feature...good work

    D3zmodos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    So simple yet so fun!

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Good: Nice graphics and I liked that you used goats.
    Improve: gameplay, I found myself going left-right,-left-right... :)

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:36am

    looks and sounds great, but gets dull really fast.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:31pm

    looks funny , but lacks a little depth. Maybe adding some music and more challenges would be nice =]

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Nice music

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]