Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 55 minutes, 55 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Valkyrie - mikemacdee - Jam Entry

    VALKYRIE

    made by Mike MacDee (at yahoo dot com)

    A simple shooty game with heavy emphasis on story. The language is abrasive at times, so if that's not your thing, best skip this one.

    -UPDATE 3-
    HA! Collision problems fixed...I think...

    -UPDATE 2-
    Lan can change direction faster between shots -- she shouldn't get stuck facing the wrong direction now.
    Arrow indicators point to the exit on each map.

    -UPDATE-
    Alternate control scheme for crappy keyboards.
    Bullets don't go through enemies at point blank.

    ------------

    CONTROLS
    ARROWS = move
    Z = use weapon
    X = change weapon
    C = kick
    SPACE = advance text
    ENTER = skip scene
    F4 = screen mode
    ESC = quit


    ALT CONTROLS
    IJKL = move
    A = use weapon
    S = change weapon
    D = kick

    ------------

    YOUR MISSION

    Ragnarok terrorists sieze the Bifrost Media Center while Artemis Dane -- commander of the Valkyrie Guard and indirect ruler of the nation -- is giving a public address. You are Atalanta Regin (Lan for short), a former Amazon Force commando-turned-Valkyrie who is tasked with the Commander's rescue. Make your way to the broadcasting studio, kill the terrorist leader, and get Commander Dane out alive!

    The trouble is -- thanks largely to the resurgence of a long-forgotten childhood memory -- you're not so sure which side is the right one anymore.

    ------------

    View mikemacdee's journal. | View all entries by mikemacdee

    Ratings

    Coolness76%
    #12Mood(Jam)3.92
    #43Fun(Jam)3.49
    #61Overall(Jam)3.51
    #62Audio(Jam)3.42
    #111Graphics(Jam)3.51
    #190Innovation(Jam)2.71
    #198Theme(Jam)3.08
    #247Humor(Jam)2.03

    Comments

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13am

    Interesting idea. Difficult to aim though (damn tank controls). Also couldn't shoot while going diagonal, but that may be a limitation of the number of keys that can be pressed on a keyboard in a specific region.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35am

    i have similar problems on my keyboard with other games. dunno if Lan's strafing ability helps: when you start firing/kicking she locks facing in that direction.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

    controls seemed clunky at times, and the bullets pass through the enemies if you are standing next to them, kinda frustrating because theirs don't
    graphics and sounds came out nicely though

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

    I appreciated all the norse mythology. Couldn't really play it, though, because I kept getting stuck looking the wrong way or shooting through enemies. Other than that, very well executed.

    Elisée says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04am

    I enjoyed the narration, really built up my interest.

    The game gets much easier when you go around kicking with C rather than trying to shoot people.

    Like dalbinblue said, aiming is fairly hard but I found it kinda adds to the tension. I might have enjoyed it more if there had been more checkpoints, it became frustrating starting from scratch again several times.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05am

    lol i was just about to post "a friend tells me he just kicked everything and beat the game easily."

    apparently it rings true.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:06am

    i'm gonna try adding a second control scheme for people with cruddy keyboards (like me), and see if i can't fix that "bullets go through enemies at point blank" issue.

    Tyren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    Very well done! I like the controls. Aiming with the mouse may have helped some.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    Pretty cool for the time lapse given. However I feel that controls and the shoot direction could have been improved. Nice graphics, dialogues and atmosphere!

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    The game wont start for me. It tells me, that it failed to load and says, that files seem corrupted.

    I've extracted the folder inside the archive and launched the "valkyrie ld.exe". Do I need any frameworks or runtime-environments to play it?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Wow this is SOOO COOL MAN!!! I LOVE IT!!! but i don't know if is a bug that sometimes the controls don't seem to work well... but hey its awesome, i like the story too :D

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    @StMatn: That's weird, especially considering NiceAlexanderAS was able to download it. I tried the download myself and it worked. Try downloading again?

    @ NiceAlexanderAS: Is it the keyboard issue mentioned above? Try using the alt controls.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    by "download" i mean "play". christ, i should try sleeping once in a while.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:01am

    The fact that you shoot from the gun in the right hand (which I think is really cool, realism yay) you cannot effectively shoot around corners even if the gun is sticking out. Which would have been awesome and intuitive.

    Also, props for the DOOM door sounds, I forgot how much I loved those until this game.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:09am

    This was really well made.

    I'm not a fan of this genre, but I could tell it was a great game. Aiming was occasionally a little difficult - I guess that's a problem with wasd though.

    All in all, great.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    "Bottomless bag of dicks" is a quote I will always remember. The shotgun is wonderfully effective.

    schnerble says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    Very ambitious. A bit difficult to aim, and it seemed a bit of a "wander around and find things to do" kind of thing, but lots of nice features.

    PaulSB says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    This is really well done but the combat is very difficult! Hard to shoot in the direction you want to at times and the enemies harass you relentlessly. But looks and sounds great and I was intrigued by the story, a lot of effort on show.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:01am

    Challenging, and the mood was nice.

    someone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Aiming is really awkward, also sometimes I got stuck and couldn't turn to hit the enemy. The collision does seem a bit glitchy at times.
    Excellent job though, really good atmosphere.

    Deril says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:19pm

    Nice job! Liked it a lot... There did you get such a good top down sprites? I would like to use it for one of my prototypes...

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Really difficult to aim, but great intro and pretty fun! :)

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    I would love to know how the story unfolds, but I can't make it past the third level or so... It's too hard to hit enemies from a distance. Up close a kick works best, but by then you're already half dead.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    The game is really nice. Took me a few seconds to remember which game the door sound came from.

    aare says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Wow, really good story.

    aare says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    Very strong and deep story. Perfectly executed

    chocobyte says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Very fun game. But it crashed a few times for me, once I put a few mines on top of each other.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    The tons of shotgun wielding thugs killing me gave me flashbacks of Max Payne 1 which is both good and bad :) Looks like a fleshed out character development arc and story but don't know the end yet because of the aforementioned shotgun wielding thugs. Very nice.

    Entity2D says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:02am

    This game looks really cool, but it crashes on Windows 8, possibly due to Game Maker sound files sometimes crashing. :(

    mikemacdee says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:14am

    I've heard Windows 8 hates Game Maker games with a passion. Sorry 'bout that...

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]