Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 16 hours, 36 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 16 hours, 36 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Erfos - Patacorow - Jam Entry

    ERFOS - Evil Robots From Outer Space
    A 'mini-starcraft' game.
    Warning! This game has buggy pathfinding. You'll have to manually move units!! :(

    Coding: Yotam Frid
    Art: Mati & Itamar Ernst
    Music: Simonas Dargis

    Includes an instructions word file.

    View Patacorow's journal. | View all entries by Patacorow

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #46Audio(Jam)3.53
    #58Mood(Jam)3.41
    #61Overall(Jam)3.51
    #81Graphics(Jam)3.76
    #88Fun(Jam)3.18
    #102Humor(Jam)2.97
    #165Innovation(Jam)2.85
    #198Theme(Jam)3.08

    Comments

    Danvil says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    I like the graphics, especially the intro. The gameplay mechanics are a bit unbalanced.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:22am

    What a great climate this game has!, it is like a time machine, going back to the 8bit computers, Bravo!!

    shinD says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36pm

    Doing my Starcraft-thing and just building a ton of miners I quickly found they tend to get bunched up together and stuck, which is a bit of a bother. Otherwise alright, ye.

    wally2069 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    A decent real time strategy game, looks like a lot of hard work and polish was put into it. Good job guys.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:06am

    The graphics in this game are stellar! And though the gameplay is a bit on the unbalanced side I'm glad that you made an rts. Really impressive work!

    galman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    Awesome game! One of the bests so far :D I really liked it, everyting: graphics, gameplay, old style awesome polish. Well done!

    myachin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    RTS on LD!!!! GREAT!!!!

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Wow. Wow.

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Looks absolutely gorgeous! Gameplay is a little unbalanced but still pretty awesome.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Congrats on making an RTS, but the game is pretty buggy.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    One of the best game i have played on this LD. Good work.

    wlad says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    Good work! For me also one of the best games played so far. I liked how cool you included the goat here :-)

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:01am

    Everyone thank you so much!!! The positivity and encouragement in these comments are endless! <3 you all

    aare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:40am

    Even for 72 hours the ammount of stuff done here is really, really impresive.

    JoeCool17 says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

    I love it! The graphics are great and it's reasonable balanced for 48 hrs (ie not very, but good job attaining even a little bit- that's hard with a game this complex!)

    Jeremias says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    Without the bugs (getting stuck) and the balancing problems, this would be a very nice game. Was fun to play anyway. Some tooltips with further details about the buildings were nice too.

    Impressive work for 72 hours!

    Mago says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    WOW really amazing job with creating a whole and complex RTS game in LD. Great pixel graphics and very climate music.

    Teejay5 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:51pm

    Yes, I noticed that goat >:D really great game, though seemed a bit hard to me.

    strong99 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:52pm

    Nice RTS :D Though I didn't feel like the villain, just someone fighting for survival :p

    goerp says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:56pm

    Haha, those pixels are HUGE at fullscreen. I'm always impressed if people make a RTS in 48/72 hours. This one has good graphics as well.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:43pm

    A real time strategy game with Game Maker in 72 hours is a pretty great accomplishment. I suck at these kinds of games, so I got slaughtered every time, but it's pretty fun. Lots of content, a great soundtrack, and good visuals. Nice job!

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:20pm

    Pretty ambitious project indeed. The problem is - aside from I don't what is doing what - that the harvesters are stuck at the base frequently so I don't get the minerals. Also pop-up texts are partly out of the screen so it renders it unreadable.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:45am

    A bit buggy, but extremely impressive. Music and graphics were spot on! Very lovely.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]